Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

UT Arlington architecture faculty, students earn drawing honors

Friday, November 22, 2013

Media Contact: Herb Booth, Office: 817-272-7075, Cell: 214-546-1082,

News Topics: alumni, architecture, art, faculty, visual arts

See All News Topics

Five University of Texas at Arlington faculty members and students have been honored for their architectural drawings in the 2013 Ken Roberts Delineation Competition, which is considered the most senior architectural drawing competition in the world.

KRob 2013 award winners

The Ken Roberts Delineation Competition, also known as KRob, drew more than 400 entries this year. The annual competition is organized by the Dallas chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

Don Gatzke, dean of the School of Architecture, said the honors signal widespread recognition of excellence of the UT Arlington programs.

“In the almost 40 years of its existence, the KROB has risen to be one of a small group of prestigious international drawing competitions and I believe that the number of UTA faculty, students and alumni who receive prizes year after year is a vivid indicator of the design and graphic culture of the School of Architecture,” Gatzke said.

Architecture lecturer Dustin Wheat and Steve Quevedo, an associate professor of architecture, won awards for best in professional hand and physical submission categories, respectively. John Maruszczak, also an associate professor of architecture, was named a finalist in the professional digital/mixed category.

Architecture student Eduardo Casteneda won best in category for his student digital/mixed media submission. Alexei Dukov was named a finalist in the same.

To view images of the winning entries, please visit

The competition is named for Ken Roberts, a Dallas architect known in the 1960s and early 1970s for his immaculate ink perspective drawings of small residential and commercial projects. Roberts created the first Dallas AIA delineation competition in 1973, but died suddenly at age 34 the following year. The competition was renamed in his honor.


The University of Texas at Arlington is an Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action employer.