Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

UT Arlington professor honored by fellow physicists

Monday, November 3, 2014

Media Contact: Traci Peterson

News Topics: awards, innovation, physics, research

See All News Topics

University of Texas at Arlington Physics Professor Suresh Sharma has been awarded the 2014 Distinguished Service Award by the Texas Section of the American Physical Society.

Suresh Sharma

Suresh Sharma

The award, given at the Texas group’s October meeting at Texas A&M University, College Station, honors “individuals that have made a significant contribution to the programs of the Texas Section and/or the Texas Physics community.” The Distinguished Service Award has been given since 2009. The American Physical Society is a non-profit group working to advance knowledge of physics, with 50,000 members worldwide.

“Professor Sharma has played an active role in guiding the activities of the APS in Texas for many years and this recognition honors his commitment to physics education and research,” said Alex Weiss, chair of the UT Arlington Department of Physics. “Besides fostering links between UT Arlington and other institutions, his work for APS also strengthened physics and the College of Science at UTA by bringing major meetings with top researchers to our campus."

Sharma began working in the UT Arlington College of Science in 1976. His current research focuses on using laser spectroscopy to study the optical and electronic properties of advanced materials. He is the author of about 120 research papers and 200 conference presentations, holds several U.S. patents and has supervised 31 Ph.D. and master’s students in Physics and Materials Science and Engineering.

He was elected to serve on the executive committee of the American Physical Society Texas Section from 2007-2011 in variety of roles, including chairman. He has been serving as APS Council Observer since 2011, and was appointed by the APS President to serve for a three-year term on the APS committee on meetings in 2013

In 1996 and 2006, Sharma organized conferences at UT Arlington that included members of the Texas sections of the American Physical Society, American Association of Physics Teachers, Society of Physics Students, Forum on Industrial and Applied Physics, National Society of Hispanic Physicists and National Society of Black Physicists.

The TAmerican Physical Society Texas Section has about 1,600 members. Its objective is “advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of physics in the Texas area.”

Sharma said he’s proud that his time on the executive committee contributed to strengthening of the Texas Section’s connections with the national arm of the American Physical Society. He said APS activities at the state, national and international levels are a great way to promote new ideas in physics and improve teaching to inspire the next generation of physicists, engineers, teachers and entrepreneurs.

“It’s rewarding to be part of what I think is the best section of the American Physical Society,” said Sharma. Of the Distinguished Service Award, he added: “It’s a privilege and an honor for your name to be mentioned among dedicated individuals who have made the Texas Section of the American Physical Society what it is today, an excellent section!”

About The University of Texas at Arlington

The University of Texas at Arlington is a comprehensive research institution and the second largest institution in The University of Texas System. The Chronicle of Higher Education ranked UT Arlington as the seventh fastest-growing public research university in 2013. U.S. News & World Report ranks UT Arlington fifth in the nation for undergraduate diversity. Visit to learn more. Follow #UTAdna on Twitter. 


The University of Texas at Arlington is an Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action employer.