Skip to content

The University of Texas at ArlingtonThe University of Texas at Arlington

College of Science

Biology Faculty

Esther Betran

Esther Betran

Professor

Areas: Molecular evolution; Evolutionary genomics

Email: betran@uta.edu

Lab website: https://wweb.uta.edu/faculty/betran/

Joseph Boll

Joseph Boll

Assistant Professor

Areas: Microbiology

Email: joseph.boll@uta.edu

Lab website: https://bolllab.org/

Cara Boutte

Cara Boutte

Assistant Professor

Areas: Microbiology

Email: cara.boutte@uta.edu

Lab website: https://www.bouttelab.org/

Jonathan Campbell

Jonathan Campbell

Professor

Areas: Herpetology

Email: campbell@uta.edu

Todd Castoe

Todd Castoe

Assistant Professor

Areas: Comparative genomics

Email: todd.castoe@uta.edu

Lab website: http://www.snakegenomics.org/CastoeLab/Castoe_Lab_Home.html

Woo-Suk Chang

Woo-Suk Chang

Associate Professor

Areas: Environmental microbiology; Plant-microbe interactions

Email: wschang@uta.edu

Shawn Christensen

Shawn Christensen

Associate Professor

Areas: Mobile DNA; Molecular biology & biochemistry

Email: shawnc@uta.edu

Lab website: https://www.thechristensenlab.info/

Clay Clark

Clay Clark

Chair and Professor

Areas: Evolutionary biology; Biochemistry

Email: clay.clark@uta.edu

Lab website: https://biochemprof.com/

Jeffery Demuth

Jeffery Demuth

Associate Professor

Areas: Speciation genetics; Genomics

Email: jpdemuth@uta.edu

Lab website: http://www.uta.edu/faculty/demuth/

Luke Frishkoff

Luke Frishkoff

Assistant Professor

Areas: Ecology; Evolution

Email: luke.frishkoff@uta.edu

Lab website: https://frishkofflab.com/

Matthew Fujita

Matthew Fujita

Assistant Professor

Areas: Evolutionary genomics; Molecular evolution

Email: mkfujita@exchange.uta.edu

Lab website: http://www.uta.edu/faculty/mkfujita/

James Grover, Ph.D.

James Grover, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies

Professor of Biology

Areas: Aquatic ecology

Email: grover@uta.edu

Laura Mydlarz

Laura Mydlarz

Associate Professor

Areas: Cell biology; Cellular defenses of marine organisms

Email: mydlarz@exchange.uta.edu

Lab website: http://www.themydlarzlab.com/

Sophia Passy

Sophia Passy

Associate Professor

Areas: Macroecology

Email: sophia.passy@uta.edu

Lab website: https://www.uta.edu/biology/passy/lab/home.html

Mark Pellegrino

Mark Pellegrino

Assistant Professor

Areas: Cell biology; Mitochondria; Stress response

Email: mark.pellegrino@uta.edu

Lab website: https://uta-biology-pellegrinolab.org/

Michael Roner

Michael Roner

Associate Professor

Areas: Virology

Email: roner@uta.edu

Lab website: http://www.texasroners.com/RonerLab/index.html

Eric Smith

Eric Smith

Associate Professor

Areas: Systematics; Biogeography; Herpetology

Email: e.smith@uta.edu

Matthew Walsh

Matthew Walsh

Assistant Professor

Areas: Evolutionary ecology

Email: matthew.walsh@uta.edu

Lab website: https://walshlab.weebly.com/

Sen Xu

Sen Xu

Assistant Professor

Areas: Evolutionary and environmental genomics

Email: sen.xu@uta.edu

Lab website: https://blog.uta.edu/xus/