Skip to content

The University of Texas at ArlingtonThe University of Texas at Arlington

College of Science

College of Science News

Science students earn awards at 2011 ACES symposium

The Annual Celebration of Excellence by Students (ACES), a university-wide symposium showcasing the best of UT Arlington undergraduate and graduate students' research and creativity, presented its 2011 awards on March 24, and the College of Science was well-represented among the winners. A reception and awards ceremony wrapped up the event after a full day of judging entrants' oral and poster presentations. Judges were comprised of faculty, alumni and area professionals.

Science educator, engineer, comedian, inventor and TV show host Bill Nye “the Science Guy” delivered the 2011 ACES keynote address during his appearance at Texas Hall on March 23. He encouraged students to follow their passion and help tackle some of the urgent problems of our time, including global warming and the rapidly increasing population. He encouraged the audience to use science to change the world.

"Our College of Science students routinely do high-quality research and this was demonstrated again at this year’s ACES," Dean of Science Pamela Jansma said. "ACES is a wonderful way for our students’ hard work to receive recognition, and we are very proud of all those who entered the event and presented their research."

Winners with ties to the College of Science include:

Undergraduate Sustainability Award ($200)- Ruben U. Tovar (Biology)

Title: Chemosensory prey preference in Neotropical gastropod-eating snakes (Colubridae: Dipsadinae: Dipsadini).

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Eric Smith (Biology)

Undergraduate Poster Presentation

President's Poster Award ($200)- Ricardo Avina (Biology)

Title: Turning up the heat: Elevated temperatures putting stress on the symbioses between coral and algae

Faculty Mentor:Dr. Laura Mydlarz (Biology)

Provost's Poster Award ($100)- Scott Alford (Biology)

Title: Behavioral modification of body shape in the Texas Horned Lizard (Phrynosoma cornutum) enhances thermoregulatory efficiency

Faculty Mentor:Dr. Charles Watson (Biology)

Graduate Dean's Poster Award ($50) -Maria Guarneri-White (Psychology)

Title:All You Need is Love?: Victimized Children, Health, and the Role of Social Support.

Faculty Mentor:Dr. Lauri Jensen-Campbell (Psychology)

Graduate Poster Presentation

Provost's Poster Award ($100) -Ajal Patel (Industrial/Organizational Psychology)

Title:Improving the Orientation Process for Colleges and Universities

Faculty Mentor:Dr. Shannon Scielzo

Graduate Morning Oral Presentation

Provost's Award ($200) -Samuel Yang (Chemistry)

Title:Continuous Flow - Extractive Desorption Electrospray Ionization - Mass Spectrometry for Charge State Manipulation of Proteins

Faculty Mentor:Dr. Kevin Schug (Chemistry & Biochemistry)

Graduate Dean's Award ($100) -Briony Foster (Biology)

Title: A new defined medium of the axenic culture of a mixotrophic flagellate from the genus Ochromonas.

Faculty Mentor:Dr. Thomas Chrzanowski

For a full list of award winners, see the ACES website here.