Skip to content

The University of Texas at ArlingtonThe University of Texas at Arlington

College of Science

College of Science News

COS honors achievements with annual awards ceremony

Faculty members, family and friends gathered to honor College of Science students for outstanding achievement in academics and research at the annual College of Science Awards Ceremony on April 19 at the Lone Star Auditorium of the Maverick Activities Center.

Dean of Science Pamela Jansma said that while UT Arlington has made great strides in teaching and research, the best indicator of the University’s increasing national prominence can be attributed to the students who strive for excellence in their work in the classroom and the laboratory.

“The true measure of success is the accomplishments of our students,” Jansma said. “We are very proud of you and your high levels of achievement.”

The College presented 83 awards to students, with department chairs making the presentations. For the first time, awards were made to students in the University’s new UTeach Arlington program, which equips science and education majors to become science and math teachers. One faculty award was presented, the Research Excellence Award, to mathematics professor Jianzhong Su, for his work in computational neuroscience.

Award recipients by department:


Bimal Bhattarai William L. & Martha Hughes Scholarship

Emily Deese Allied Health Award

Connie Deo William L. & Martha Hughes Scholarship

Jonathan Lam Undergraduate Research Award

Hung Le William L. & Martha Hughes Scholarship

Bao Nguyen William L. & Martha Hughes Scholarship

Kyle Nguyen William L. & Martha Hughes Scholarship

Manish Parihar William L. & Martha Hughes Scholarship

Matthew Steffenson T.E. Kennerly Award

Jeffrey Streicher Graduate Research Award

Ruben Tovar Minority Scholarship

Jacobo Velasco William F. Pyburn Fellowship

Derick Vollmer William L. & Martha Hughes Scholarship

Kacy Vu William L. & Martha Hughes Scholarship

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Joe Aslan Charles K. Baker Character Fellowship

Pinaki Bose Dennis S. Marynick Scholarship

Catrina Campbell John T. Murchison Scholarship

Doug Carlton Charles K. Baker Character Fellowship

Yongjing "Lillian" Chen Graduate Research Award

Beatriz Garcia-Barboza R. L. Hoyle Award for Outstanding Junior

Cynthia Griffith Undergraduate Teaching Award

Victor Ngo Robert F. Francis Award for Outstanding Sophomore

Tijani Osumah John T. Murchison Scholarship

Chris Parikh Chemistry and Biochemistry Society Outstanding

Member Award

Steven Poteet Undergraduate Research Award

Robert Rayford CRC Handbook Award for Outstanding Freshman

Andy Seal Outstanding Chemistry Clinic Tutor Award

Charles Phillip Shelor Graduate Teaching Award

Duncan Sloan John T. Murchison Award for Outstanding Senior

Lauren Tedmon ACS 2010 Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry

Nam Tran Daniel and Linda Armstrong Award

Michael Wey American Chemical Society Award for Outstanding

Chemistry/Biochemistry Major

Jonathan Yang Sharon and Donald Jernigan Scholarship

Earth & Environmental Sciences

Zain Abdi Field Camp Scholarship

William J. Bailey Field Camp Scholarship

Rebekah Ball Field Camp Scholarship

Brandi Lynn Clark Field Camp Scholarship

Erika Crespo Field Camp Scholarship

Erin Crouch Mineralogy Award

Erin Crouch Field Camp Scholarship

Gary Howard Field Camp Scholarship

Jantiya Isanapong Outstanding Doctoral Student

Jim Martin Field Camp Scholarship

David Matthew Boon Award for Outstanding Senior

Krystin McAfee Fort Worth Geologic Society Scholarship

Katharine J. Miller Field Camp Scholarship

Shannel L. Philp Field Camp Scholarship

Andrew W. Smart Field Camp Scholarship

Michelle Taylor Field Camp Scholarship

Mark T. Washuleski Field Camp Scholarship


Jesse Baum Bernice Livers Sonricker Endowed Scholarship in


Kristen Beck Outstanding Graduate Student

Richard Chandler Outstanding Math Clinic Tutor

Hyung Wook Chun Outstanding Senior

Jimmy Corbin Outstanding Senior

Rim Gouia Outstanding Graduate Reasearch

Christopher Mitchell John A. Gardner Scholarship

Vi Nguyen H.A.D. Dunsworth Scholarship

Jared Painter Outstanding Graduate Teaching

Steven (Chengzhong) Teng Stephen R. Bernfeld Memorial Scholarship

Wilber Ventura R. Kannan Memorial Scholarship

Andrew Whaley John A. Gardner Scholarship

Andrew Whaley Outstanding Senior

Daniel Wood Outstanding Junior


Jayant Bhalerao R. Jack Marquis Scholarship

Nelson Cardenas Keith W. Tompkins Scholarship

Haoliang Chen Scharff Award Scholarship

Ximena Cid Scharff Award Scholarship

Sophia Cockrell Bonnie Cecil and Jo Thompson Award

Jimmy Corbin Outstanding Physics Major

Miguel Gomez Ramirez Scharff Award Scholarship

Bethany Hiller James L. Horwitz Scholarhip

Yanshi Huang Outstanding Physics Major

Prasad Joglekar John D. McNutt Memorial Scholarship

Robert Lord R. Jack Marquis Scholarship

Paul Pryor Bonnie Cecil and Jo Thompson Award

Sunil Sahi John D. McNutt Memorial Scholarship


Zafina Ahsan Distinguished Senior in Psychology

Emily Farris Distinguished Graduate Teaching Award

Farah Khraishi Outstanding Senior in Psychology

Athula Pudhiyidath The James Kopp Memorial Award

Tiffany Savage Distinguished Senior in Psychology

Shannon Bates The James Baerwaldt Memorial Service Award

Rowena Theodore The Andy Baum Memorial Award

Megan Uhelski The Verne Cox Outstanding Graduate Research Award

UTeach Arlington

Tyler Harrison Outstanding Science Student

Anne Marie Russell Outstanding Math Student

College of Science

Jianzhong Su Research Excellence Award