Skip to content

The University of Texas at ArlingtonThe University of Texas at Arlington

College of Science

College of Science News

University honors faculty members at annual ceremony

The University presented a variety of awards to faculty members during the annual Spring Meeting of the Faculty and Associates May 2 in the Rio Grande Room of the E.H. Hereford University Center, and the College of Science was well-represented among the honorees.

College of Science award recipients include:

Asok Ray, professor of physics, received the Distinguished Record of Research or Creative Activity award, which recognizes faculty members for achieving a distinguished record of research and scholarship or creative activity over an extended period of time.

Nilakshi Veerabathina, lecturer in physics, received the UT Arlington Service Learning Award, which honors an outstanding faculty member for innovations in engaged scholarship that integrates service learning into the curriculum.

Martha Mann, associate professor of psychology, was one of three faculty members inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Teachers, an honor which recognizes tenured faculty for a sustained record of outstanding teaching, personal commitment to students and the learning process, and the ability to motivate and inspire students.

Jianzhong Su, professor of mathematics, received the Outstanding Academic Advisor Award, Graduate level, for his work in guiding graduate students and making sure they are on the right track in their degree plans.

Ten College of Science faculty members received Faculty Mentoring Program awards, which recognize those who served as mentors for junior faculty in the University-wide program during the 2010-11 academic year. They include:Tuncay Aktosun, professor of mathematics; Benito Chen, professor of mathematics; Perry Fuchs, associate professor of psychology; Laura Gough, associate professor of biology; Qing Lin, professor of psychology; Chaoqun Liu, professor of mathematics; Carl Lovely, professor of chemistry and biochemistry; Krishnan Rajeshwar, associate dean of science and professor of chemistry and biochemistry; Jae Yu, associate professor of physics; and Jianping Zhu, Mathematics Department chair.

Four faculty members were honored as McNair Scholars Program Faculty Mentors for serving as mentors for undergraduate students in the McNair Scholars Program during summer 2010. They include: Shawn Christensen, associate professor of biology; Frank Foss, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry; Lauri Jensen-Campbell, associate professor of psychology; and Linda Perrotti, assistant professor of psychology.

Laura Gough, associate professor of biology, received a Faculty Development Leave for the 2011-12 academic year.

Three faculty members received Research Enhancement Program Grants for 2011-12. They include: Muhammad Huda, assistant professor of physics, for his project, “Theoretical Study of Thermoelectric Materials for Efficient Harvesting of Energy from Waste Heat”; Kayunta Johnson-Winters, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry, for her project, “Kinetic Characterizations of F420 Cofactor Dependent Glucose-6-Phosphate Dehydrogenase”; and Pablo Mora, assistant professor of psychology, for his project, “Understanding Ethnic Disparities in the Reporting of Depressive Symptoms”.

For a complete list of award recipients, click here.