The University of Texas at Arlington
College of Science
May 2019
College, UTA mourn passing of physics professor emeritus Cecil Thompson, 83
Cecil Thompson
Bonnie Cecil Thompson, a UTA professor emeritus in physics who helped create the university’s astronomy program and was a pillar of the Department of Physics during his 35-year career, died on May 29 at the age of 83. Dr. Thompson was co-founder the university’s first planetarium and championed the building of UTA’s current planetarium. Read the story here.
Mydlarz collaborating on NSF-funded study of coral disease in Virgin Islands

Laura Mydlarz

UTA is one of five institutions collaborating on how to address the outbreak of a disease which is devastating coral reef communities in the U.S. Virgin Islands. Laura Mydlarz, UTA professor of biology, is a co-investigator for the project, which is funded by a $200,000 grant from the National Science Foundation’s Division of Ocean Sciences. Read the story here.
Newest graduates honored during COS Spring 2019 commencement ceremony

College of Science Spring 2019 graduates during the commencement ceremony.

The College of Science recognized the accomplishments of its newest class of graduates during the Spring 2019 Commencement ceremony on May 10 in College Park Center. The ceremony, which also included the College of Education, was a celebration of students’ hard-earned academic achievements, which culminated in the awarding of doctoral, master’s and bachelor’s degrees. Read the story here.
Math students attain new perspective from statistics service-learning projects
Student teams presented their findings on April 30 and May 1.
The UTA Department of Mathematics debuted a new program this spring designed to enhance student learning and illustrate how math can be applied in a non-academic environment. The department’s freshman-level statistics course incorporated group projects for the first time, with one section designated as a service-learning section. Read the story here.
College of Science student excellence recognized with awards, scholarships
Department of Mathematics students were among those receiving awards.
College of Science students were recently honored by their respective departments for their superior achievements in academics and research with awards and scholarships for the 2018-19 academic year. Read the story here.
COS faculty, staff receive accolades for teaching, research, and mentoring
Recipients included Shannon Layman, assistant professor of instruction in psychology, with Assistant Dean Greg Hale, left, and Dean Morteza Khaledi, right.
College of Science faculty and staff members were recently honored for their excellence in teaching, research, mentoring and service with awards and recognition at the College and University levels. Read the story here.
Siemens receives Boeing grant to find solutions to evolving learning needs
George Siemens
George Siemens, UTA professor of psychology, has received a grant from The Boeing Company to construct an integrated data infrastructure that will centralize digital learning and engagement tools. The goal is to enable a better understanding of both learning in digital environments and the personalized learning constructs needed by workers. Read the story here.
Department of Physics hosts workshops on neutrino projects, DUNE detector
Participants in the Workshop on New Opportunities at the Next Generation Neutrino Experiments held at UTA April 12-13.
The UTA Department of Physics recently hosted a pair of workshops. The Workshop on New Opportunities at the Next Generation Neutrino Experiments (April 12-13) focused on dark matter searches at neutrino experiments, and physics beyond the Standard Model with neutrinos. The U.S. DUNE Near Detector Effort Workshop (April 18-19) focused on fleshing out U.S. group roles in the near detector projects. The workshops were organized by Jae Yu and Jonathan Asaadi. Read more about the workshops here and here.
Johnson-Winters among recipients of Arlington Sunrise Rotary’s UTA awards
Kayunta Johnson-Winters, second from left, was among the UTA honorees.
Kayunta Johnson-Winters, associate professor of chemistry & biochemistry, was among the recipients of the Arlington Sunrise Rotary Club’s 2019 UTA Professors of the Year Awards. The awards are given to faculty members who embody the club’s motto, “service above self.” See the full list of UTA recipients here.
Cuntz discusses role of UV radiation in Forbes story about thawing exomoons
Manfred Cuntz
Manfred Cuntz, professor of physics, was quoted in a story by Forbes on May 6 about a recent paper which studies the possibility of thawing exomoons having remotely detectable surface life. Cuntz discusses the differences in strong or weaker UV radiation and how gentler UV exposure to prebiotic matter may be a key ingredient for the initiation of life. Read the article here.
Instagram Logo Twitter Logo Facebook Logo Facebook Logo