Skip to content

The University of Texas at ArlingtonThe University of Texas at Arlington

College of Science

Pass/Fail Policy

Due to the transition from face-to-face classes to online learning and the hardships associated with the changes in learning environment caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, the University has made changes to the Pass/Fail Policy and extended Drop Dates for the spring 2020 semester. The university-wide policy can be found here: https://www.uta.edu/announcements/coronavirus/pass-fail-grade-faq,

The decision on which classes are eligible for the Pass/Fail option was be made by each college/school’s curriculum committee. The implementation of the policy will be handled by the Registrar’s Office.

Detailed below are details for the new policies for spring 2020 semester in the College of Science:

  • The drop date has been extended to April 28th for all courses.
  • Students have until May 22nd to elect a course or courses to be graded Pass/Fail.
  • Grades for the spring semester will post on May 20th and students will have two days after grades post to elect to change their grades from letter grade to Pass/Fail for eligible courses.
  • If a student does not want a course to be graded Pass/Fail, they do not have to take action; the current grading scheme will apply to the course.

UNDERGRADUATE COURSES:

  • At the undergraduate level, courses with grades of A, B, C, and D are eligible for a Pass grade.
  • A Pass grade would not have an impact on a student’s grade point average while a Fail (F) grade would.
  • Courses that are pre-requisites for upper-division classes and require a C or better for progression in the program will need to be retaken by the student at a future time, and a letter grade earned, if the Pass/Fail option is elected in spring 2020.
  • Each Department has identified courses that are eligible for the Pass/Fail option. They are listed below:
    1. Biology – All undergraduate courses eligible for Pass/Fail
    2. Chemistry – All undergraduate courses eligible for Pass/Fail
    3. Earth and Environmental science – All undergraduate courses eligible for Pass/Fail
    4. Mathematics and Data Science – All undergraduate courses eligible for Pass/Fail except MATH 3300
    5. Physics - All undergraduate courses eligible for Pass/Fail
    6. Psychology - All undergraduate courses eligible for Pass/Fail
    7. UTeach – All course except Student Teaching and Student Teaching seminars
  • Students will have to consult with their instructor and academic advisor before they make a decision to either drop a course or choose the Pass/Fail option. They are also encouraged to discuss their decision with the Office of Financial Aid to determine if there are any financial implications with their decision.
    1. Biology Alex Ferracuti aferracuti@uta.edu 
    2. Chemistry– Laura Wolf laura_wolf@uta.edu
    3. Earth and Environmental Sciences Eraneisha Gibson gibson@uta.edu
    4. Mathematics and Data Science-  Elizabeth Carroll advising@uta.edu
    5. Physics-Eraneisha Gibson gibson@uta.edu
    6. Psychology- Megan Juel mjuel@uta.edu, 
    7. UTEACH – Erin Gonzales egonzales@uta.edu

GRADUATE COURSES

  • The Graduate Assembly has authorized Graduate Studies Committees to allow Pass/Fail grading in selected courses. The policy for graduate courses is parallel to that for undergraduate courses with the following exceptions:
    1. A Pass grade would not have an impact on a student’s grade point average while a D or a Fail (F) grade would.
    2. Courses that are pre-requisites and require a B or better for progression in the program will need to be retaken by the student at a future time, and a letter grade earned, if the Pass/Fail option is elected in spring 2020.
    3. Courses with grades of A, B, and C are eligible for a Pass grade.
  • The College of Science does not have a blanket plan for opting into Pass/Fail for graduate courses, and in fact many graduate courses are not allowing students to choose Pass/Fail.
  • Students are encouraged to discuss any issues they may have with finishing or succeeding in a graduate course with their instructor and academic advisor as well as with Financial Aid to determine if there are any financial implications.
    1. Biology Masters Paul Chippindale Paulc@uta.edu; PhD Matt Walsh walsh@uta.edu
    2. Chemistry– Frank Foss ffoss@uta.edu and Stephanie Henry henry@uta.edu
    3. Earth and Environmental Sciences PhD and MS EVSE Max Hu  maxhu@uta.edu and MS GEOL Merlynd Nestell nestell@uta.edu
    4. Mathematics-  Masters James Alvarez alvarez@uta.edu; PhD Hristo Kojouharov hristo@uta.edu 
    5. Physics-Qiming Zhang zhang@uta.edu and Muhammad Huda Huda@uta.edu
    6. Psychology- Health/Neuroscience Yuan Bo Peng ypeng@uta.edu, Psychological Sciences Jared Kenworthy, kenworthy@uta.edu, Industrial/Organization Psychology Paul Paulus, paulus@uta.edu