Skip to main content

News & Events

Professor Emeritus Receives Prestigious Award for Innovative Research and Social Work Practice

Dr. Wayne Duehn
Dr. Wayne Duehn

The University of Texas at Arlington’s School of Social Work proudly congratulates Dr. Wayne Duehn on his recent honor for service and innovative research in social work.

Dr. Wayne Duehn, professor emeritus in UTA’s School of Social Work, was recently honored with the 2015 NASW Social Work Pioneers Award. The award is presented by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) Foundation to honor social workers who have explored new territories and made significant contributions to social work research and practice.

 Dr. Duehn is among many prestigious NASW honorees who have paved the way for social workers in making contributions for the betterment of the human condition. His research is nationally and internationally recognized and focuses on sexuality, evidence-based practice, and trauma-informed care. Dr. Duehn’s renowned research also includes sexual safety innovations in adoption and foster care systems, as well as providing treatment options for victims of child abuse and establishing assessments for offenders.

As a social work professor, Dr. Duehn made signature contributions that have been groundbreaking. His contributions to social work were established in his early teaching career, where he spearheaded several research projects and built social work curricula in human sexuality. Dr. Duehn’s innovative research and teaching methods helped to set out novel paths for social workers and provided new knowledge through numerous publications and research.

Dr. Duehn has evolved into a global leader and innovator of programs for addressing child sexual abuse and safety in adoption and foster care settings, as well as establishing quality care standards for victims, offender assessments and treatment.

The School of Social Work is extremely proud of Dr. Duehn and the contributions he has made to UTA and the field of social work.

News Topics: Faculty, Awards