Skip to main content

News & Events

Graduates, student leaders honored at fall celebration

More than 150 Social Work students earned thousands of dollars in scholarships and other recognitions during a school-wide celebration in November.

Both undergraduate and graduate students were honored during “Celebration of Excellence” held Nov.19, in the Rio Grande Ballroom of the E.H. Hereford University Center. The event highlighted students’ outstanding academic performance, field work, research and leadership.

“This event is one of the most important events we hold each year, because it allows us to celebrate the tremendous achievements of social work students,” said Diane Mitschke, director of graduate programs in the School of Social Work.

“It gives us an opportunity to meet and recognize their families for the support that they provide to students in reaching these milestones.”

The academic celebration was held amidst a formal dinner and featured messages to students, their families and close friends from School of Social Work Dean Scott Ryan and Senior Associate Dean Debra Woody.

The November event is the first time Celebration of Excellence was held during the fall semester. Previously, the school’s academic honors celebration was held during the spring semester; however, School officials said, some students who completed their studies in December were unable to return to the School in May to receive their honors and recognitions.

To improve attendance and broaden participation, school officials hosted the November Celebration of Excellence event. More than 150 students, their guests and faculty and staff members attended the event.

Nearly 100 graduating undergraduate and graduate students earned recognition for achieving a cumulative 4.0 grade point average in their respective courses of study.

About 30 students earned scholarships ranging in value from $500 to $1,000 to continue their education within the school. One student, Abigail Hardwick, earned two scholarships, the Roy and Betty Dulak Endowed Scholarship and the Peter G. Gaupp Endowed Award.

Meanwhile, 24 leaders of student organizations received inscribed university medals and certificates for their community service and efforts to learn and practice their skills in the profession.

For a complete listing of students who were recognized during Celebration of Excellence, click on the link below:

SSW Celebration of Excellence Program  

News Topics: Students, General