Texas's longest-running Native Student college group

Application Call: Ida V. Hall and George Kohfeldt Endowed Scholarship in Southwestern Studies

The Ida V. Hall and George Kohfeldt Endowed Scholarship to Southwestern Studies is intended to assist students whose studies focus on the Native American Southwest. The $500 scholarship is intended to help qualified students defray their expenses at UTA. Eligible students will be in Southwestern Studies and/or the numerous related disciplines, including, but not limited to, history, anthropology, political science, art, music, geography, Spanish, English, art history, and the history of cartography.
For more information about this scholarship, please contact the Center at Box 19497, UTA, Arlington, 76019-0497, (817) 272-3997, or email: swcenter@uta.edu.

The Honors College Native American Scholarship Fund

The Native American Student Association at the University of Texas at Arlington is considered Texas’s longest-running Native college group. A critical part of our mission is ensuring academic success for both Native and Native-supporting students who attend or will be attending the University on a full or part-time basis.

Deadline: Completed application materials must be submitted in Scholarshop by May 15, 2017.

The Application

Applicants must submit their application in Mav Scholarshop. (This link goes outside UT Arlington)

Eligibility Requirements

To be considered for this scholarship, an applicant must be attending UT Arlington at least half time (6 hours for undergraduate, 3 hours for graduate per full semester) with a GPA of at least 2.5. The applicant must demonstrate a measurable commitment to a Native American community through volunteerism, philanthropy or other involvement. Please note that American Indian descent is NOT necessary to be considered for the scholarship. Entering admitted high school and transfer students as well as current UTA students may apply. All recipients must maintain a cumulative 2.5 GPA each long semester to continue the scholarship as well as a commitment to UTA’s NASA.

Materials Needed for Application:

  • Please submit a statement that addresses the following points: Indication of accomplishments, organizations, past involvement with Native American community(ies); Explain how you would benefit from this scholarship. (Specifically, how would it advance your academic, career, and/or personal goals?); What specific contributions will you bring to UTA’s Native American Student Association? Please include the names and email addresses of the two letters of recommendation in separate lines after your statement.
  • Two letters of recommendation:
    • A letter of support from a member of the Native Community
    • A letter of support from a teacher (For graduating high school applicants, this would be a high school teacher; for college students a college faculty member.)
  • Upload an official transcript: high school for graduating high school students; college for college students.

Previous Scholarship Recipients

2012-2013 Robert Caldwell
2011-2012 Robert Caldwell
2010-2011 Micah Johnson
2009-2010 Jenny Blankenship and Maggie Lunday
2008-2009 Jenny Blankenship and Elijah Wahkinney
2007-2008 Michael D. Twidal and Elijah Wahkinney
2006-2007 Elijah Wahkinney and Keisha Newton
2005-2006 Venetta Lynn Davis
2005-S&F Phyllis Behrens
2004-2005 Nalita Sandoval
2003-2004 John Ihnfeld
2002-2003 Chad Lovett. He is a biology major who works with American Indians in a federal correctional institution.
2001-2002 Melissa Hassell. That year the scholarship increased to $750!
2000-2001 Jesse James. He is a NASA member who plays in the UTA band.
1999-2000 Davanna Whitehead Keller
1998-1999 Barbara Payton


For all inquiries, including media, please email us at powwow@uta.edu