News Center

Today is Friday, October 20, 2017

Rwandan Delegation to Visit UT Arlington

News Release — 8 April 2009


Media contact: media relations contact, (817) 272-3317,

ARLINGTON - The University of Texas at Arlington will host the Rwanda Delegation on Science and Technology on Thursday, April 16. The delegation is led by Dr. Romain Murenzi, minister in the President's Office in Charge of Science, Technology, Scientific Research, and Information Communication Technologies.
While at UT Arlington, the delegation will tour the School of Nursing's Smart Hospital and Genomics Translational Research Laboratory, the NanoFab Lab and the colleges of science and engineering.  Dr. Jennifer Gray, associate dean for the doctoral program in the School of Nursing, is coordinating the visit.

Gray, who currently leads the North Texas Africa Health Initiative (NTAHI) Uganda team, met President Paul Kagame and Dr. Murenzi in June 2008 during a visit to Rwanda.  One of the priorities of this team is to establish the East Africa Center for Nursing Excellence to support initial and continuing nursing education in East Africa. Former UT System Regent Bob Rowling also traveled to Rwanda last year and developed a plan to bring a Rwandan delegation to visit UT system schools.

"The Rwanda government is investing heavily in science and technology. One of their goals is to be the information technology hub for East Africa and they have recognized that this goal cannot be reached without international collaboration and the preparation of their best students at strong universities," Gray said.

Dr. Ron Elsenbaumer, executive vice president for research, will give the delegation an overview of research at UT Arlington. The delegation's visit will conclude with a discussion of resources for international student graduate study with  Joe Jackson, associate dean of the graduate school, Satu Birch from the international office and Dr. Alusine Jalloh, director of the Africa Program.

Other members of the Rwandan delegation are Minister of Education Dr. Daphrose Gahakwa, Secretary General in the Ministry of Health Dr. Agnes Binagwaho and Professor Herbert Nsanze, Dean of Faculty of Medicine, National University of Rwanda. Also, Dr. Desire Ndushabandi, rector of the Kigali Health Institute, Professor Abraham Ogwu, Rector of Kigali Institute of Science and Technology and Professor Silas Lwakabamba, Rector of the National University of Rwanda.


This is the full version of this document. Click here for the printer-friendly version.

The University of Texas at Arlington is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action employer.