News Center

Today is Sunday, October 22, 2017

UT Arlington announces first Honors Distinction Scholars

News Release — 9 April 2009


Media contact: Sue Stevens, Senior Media Relations Officer, 817-272-3317,

ARLINGTON - University of Texas at Arlington Provost Donald R. Bobbitt and Karl Petruso, dean of the Honors College, have announced the winners of the newly established Honors Distinction Scholarship, the most generous scholarship awarded to the University's undergraduates. Winners receive $20,000 a year for up to four consecutive years of full-time study, beginning this fall. The scholarship will cover all tuition, mandatory fees, room and board and also may be used for books and supplies.

The scholars, all first-time, first-semester freshmen, have been admitted to membership in UT Arlington's Honors College, an academic unit for high-achieving students. They will live in residence halls in order to take full advantage of campus life. The awardees were chosen following a rigorous application process and on-campus interviews.

They are:

  • Tara Alavi, Colleyville, a senior at Colleyville High School; intended major, psychology
  • Jordan Benson, Willow Park, senior at Trinity Christian Academy; intended major, biochemistry
  • Theodore de Freitas, Flower Mound, senior at Willow Bend Academy; intended major, business
  • Zachariah Hughes, Crowley, home-schooled; intended major, electrical engineering
  • Holly Lane, Strawn, senior at Breckenridge High School; intended major, engineering

Contact the Honors College, 817-272-7215, for more information.

This is the full version of this document. Click here for the printer-friendly version.

The University of Texas at Arlington is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action employer.