News Center

Today is Thursday, October 19, 2017

Student Employee of the Year award winners honored at Thursday reception

News Release — 14 April 2009


Media contact: Teresa Newton, (817) 272-7078,

ARLINGTON - Jorge "Leo" Barrientos will be honored as The University of Texas at Arlington's Student Employee of the Year at a reception at 2 p.m. Thursday, April 16, in the Rio Grande Ballroom of the E.H. Hereford University Center, 300 W. First St. The awards reception also will honor 17 other student employees from around campus.

Barrientos, a criminology and criminal justice major, works in the electric shop of Facilities Management. His award includes a $500 scholarship.

Joseph Sherwin, an administrative assistant in Facilities Management, nominated Barrientos. He wrote that the student had no knowledge of electrical systems, components or inventory, but quickly learned and volunteers to assist electricians so he can learn more. Barrientos' work on a project cleaning, testing and organizing used circuit breakers resulted in a savings to the University of more than $100,000 in materials, Sherwin wrote.

Distinguished student employees are Rachel Adams, who works in Information Resources for the University Library, and Stephen Keene, an employee of the Environmental Health and Safety department. They will receive $300 scholarships.

Outstanding student employees are Monique Fletcher, an employee in Financial Aid and Scholarships, and Analiz Herrera, who works in SOAR Student Support Services. They will receive $200 scholarships.

Awards of excellence will be presented to Fahed Abdelaty, Science Education and the Career Center; Abigail Aguilar, School of Social Work; Calen Barnum, Art and Art History; Hannah Davis, Honors College; Daniel Evilsizor, University Communications; Stephen Maggart, Criminology and Criminal Justice; Abhilash Markkassery, Upward Bound; Gabriel Morales, Mav Express; Meredith Selman, Mav Express; Ty Smathers, Campus Recreation; Eric Strein, College of Engineering; Manikandan Thangaraju, Library; and Shannon Washington, Chemistry and Biochemistry.

The annual awards to recognize student employees in campus departments are sponsored by UT Arlington's Career Services and are funded by the Student Service Allocations Committee.



This is the full version of this document. Click here for the printer-friendly version.

The University of Texas at Arlington is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action employer.