News Center

Today is Monday, November 20, 2017

New UT Arlington School of Social Work dean named

News Release — 17 June 2009


Media contact: Herb Booth, Donna Pope, (817) 272-2761, (817) 272-0924,,

ARLINGTON - Dr. Scott Ryan has been named dean of The University of Texas at Arlington School of Social Work.

Dr. Scott RyanDr. Ryan is currently the Jeanene M. Janes Endowed Professor in Child Welfare at Florida State University. He is a prodigious scholar and honored teacher; he also serves as associate dean for research in the College of Social Work at FSU.

Dr. Donald R. Bobbitt, UT Arlington provost and vice president for academic affairs, said Dr. Ryan will begin Sept. 1.

"This position was filled after an extensive national search. Many exceptional candidates were identified and interviewed through this process and we are indeed fortunate to welcome such an outstanding individual to the School of Social Work and to our university," Dr. Bobbitt said.

Dr. Ryan said UT Arlington is a highly ranked school of social work.

"What attracted me was the faculty's work in helping marginalized people and those who are struggling," Dr. Ryan said. "The faculty members are leaders in studying how to help those impacted by domestic violence, child abuse, poverty and a number of other areas. Their work makes a difference. I share these values and thought this would be a great place to go."

Dr. Ryan also directs the Institute for Social Work Research, is a senior research fellow at the Evan B. Donaldson Adoption Institute in New York City and editor of the journal, Adoption Quarterly.

Dr. Bobbitt said he wanted to especially thank Interim Dean Phil Popple "for the exceptional job he did in guiding the school over the past year."

The School of Social Work has 30 tenure or tenure-track faculty members, about 350 undergraduate majors, approximately 450 graduate majors and 50 doctoral students.


This is the full version of this document. Click here for the printer-friendly version.

The University of Texas at Arlington is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action employer.