Skip to content

Distinguished Veterans Named to Hall of Honor

Stan Thompson, Susan Tillotson, and Martin Woodruff are the 2014 inductees into the Military Science Hall of Honor.

Thompson graduated from UT Arlington in 1974 with an electrical engineering degree. After serving in the Army’s 24th Infantry Division, he began as an electrical engineer at Multi-Amp Corp. (now Megger). He is the company’s product manager for relay test equipment and helped pioneer the use of GPS satellites to synchronize real-time testing of distance relay protection schemes of power transmission lines.

Tillotson earned a political science degree in 1977 and was the University’s first female Corps of Cadets commander. Her military career included serving as the maintenance material officer for a maintenance battalion in the 2nd Armored Division. She has more than 30 years experience in training, leadership development, program management, and instruction and has received numerous military and civilian honors.

Woodruff graduated in 1970 with a mathematics degree. He served in the Army from 1970-79, achieving the rank of captain. He was an infantry platoon leader and an adviser to a Vietnamese unit. After his military career, he worked for Poco Graphite, a manufacturer of carbon graphite and silicon carbide materials, before becoming a management consultant. Woodruff is the mayor of Decatur, Texas.


Back to top

Other Articles


A trip from North Texas to San Antonio requires buying pricey airline tickets or spending five hours in your


Senior middle blocker Charmaine Whitmore led the nation in blocks per set last season


comments powered by Disqus