Skip to content

Former Standouts Join Athletics Hall of Honor

Two-time World Series champion outfielder Hunter Pence of the San Francisco Giants is among the inductees in the 2015 UT Arlington Athletics Hall of Honor class.

Joining Pence are sprinter Elston Cawley, volleyball player Valeria Whitfield Crawford, football player Mike Stamps, and the 1996-2000 men’s track and field teams.

A three-time Major League Baseball All-Star, Pence was a standout for the Mavericks in 2003 and 2004. The Houston Astros selected him in the second round of the 2004 draft. He has a career .284 batting average with 185 home runs and 689 RBIs.

Cawley was a six-time track and field All-American who represented Jamaica at the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta. Named UTA’s Athlete of the Year in 1997, he helped the Mavericks win Southland Conference championships in 1997 and 2000.

A member of the volleyball team from 1990-92, Crawford was 1990 SLC Newcomer of the Year and Player of the Year. She was a first-team all-conference selection all three years and most valuable player in the 1992 SLC tournament.

Stamps made 29 starts at defensive back from 1966-70, intercepting nine passes and recovering four fumbles. In 1968 he was named first-team all-SLC, honorable mention All-American, and honorable mention All-Texas. He also received the Ex-Letterman’s Award for outstanding contributions to UTA football.

From 1996-2000 the men’s track and field teams won five SLC championships and produced 10 All-Americans. The Mavericks won outdoor titles in 1996 and 1997 and indoor titles in 1997, 1999, and 2000.


Back to top

Other Articles


Enjoy a mini exhibit of works by talented alumni, faculty, and students


Examine UT Arlington’s growing impact in communities near and far


comments powered by Disqus