Skip to content

World-renowned researchers join faculty

Kenneth Reifsnider, an internationally recognized expert in high temperature energy systems and composite materials, has joined the UTA faculty to lead a new Institute for Predictive Performance of Advanced Materials and Structures.

A member of the prestigious National Academy of Engineering, Dr. Reifsnider is one of the world’s pre-eminent fuel cell materials researchers. He becomes the third member of a national academy to join the University in recent years.

Nai Yuen Chen, a Distinguished Research Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, is also a member of the National Academy of Engineering. David Nygren, an acclaimed physicist and member of the National Academy of Sciences, joined the University last fall as Presidential Distinguished Professor.

“UTA is rapidly accelerating its research program and attracting world-renowned experts to lead the way,” President Vistasp Karbhari says. “Dr. Reifsnider will elevate our work in the fundamental areas of strength-life relationships in composite materials and structures.”

Marco Brotto, Paul Fadel, and Mark Haykowsky have joined the College of Nursing and Health Innovation’s faculty. An expert in muscle and bone physiology, Dr. Brotto is the George W. and Hazel M. Jay Professor.

Dr. Fadel, an authority in neural cardiovascular control in health and disease, is a professor of kinesiology and director of clinical translational science.

An accomplished researcher in exercise physiology and rehabilitation medicine, Dr. Haykowsky was named the Moritz Chair of Geriatric Nursing Research.


Back to top

Other Articles

From UTA to Anywhere

From UTA to Anywhere Lessons learned while studying abroad leave a lasting impact By Amber Scott • COLLAGE by


Maverick athletes excel in the classroom and on the playing field


comments powered by Disqus