Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Staff Member

Frank Lewis, Ph.D.

Frank Lewis, Ph.D.

Professor, Moncrief-O'Donnell Endowed Chair

Group: Affiliated Faculty / Electrical Engineering Department



Dr. Lewis was born in Warzburg, Germany, subsequently studying in Chile and Gordonstoun School in Scotland. He obtained the Bachelor's Degree in Physics/Electrical Engineering and the Master's of Electrical Engineering Degree at Rice University in 1971. He spent six years in the U.S. Navy, serving as Navigator aboard the frigate USS Trippe (FF-1075), and Executive Officer and Acting Commanding Officer aboard USS Salinan (ATF-161). In 1977 he received the Master's of Science in Aeronautical Engineering from the University of West Florida. In 1981 he obtained the Ph.D. degree at The Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, where he was employed as a professor from 1981 to 1990. He is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at The University of Texas at Arlington, where he was awarded the Moncrief-O'Donnell Endowed Chair in 1990 at the Automation & Robotics Research Institute. Fellow of the IEEE, Fellow of IFAC, Fellow of the U.K. Institute of Measurement & Control, Member of the New York Academy of Sciences. Registered Professional Engineer in the State of Texas and Chartered Engineer, U.K. Engineering Council. Charter Member (2004) of the UTA Academy of Distinguished Scholars and Senior Research Fellow of the Automation & Robotics Research Institute. Founding Member of the Board of Governors of the Mediterranean Control Association. Has served as Visiting Professor at Democritus University in Greece, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Chinese University of Hong Kong, City University of Hong Kong, National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University Singapore. Elected Guest Consulting Professor at Shanghai Jiao Tong University and South China University of Technology.

Current interests include intelligent control, distributed control on graphs, neural and fuzzy systems, wireless sensor networks, nonlinear systems, robotics, condition-based maintenance, micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) control, and manufacturing process control. Author of 6 U.S. patents, 235 journal papers, 47 chapters and encyclopedia articles, 350 refereed conference papers, and 15 books including Optimal Control, Optimal Estimation, Applied Optimal Control and Estimation, Aircraft Control and Simulation, Control of Robot Manipulators, Neural Network Control, High-Level Feedback Control with Neural Networks and the IEEE reprint volume Robot Control. Editor of Taylor & Francis Book Series on Automation & Control Engineering. Served/serves on many Editorial Boards including International Journal of Control, Neural Computing and Applications, Optimal Control & Methods, and Int. J. Intelligent Control Systems. Served as Editor for the flagship journal Automatica. Recipient of NSF Research Initiation Grant and continuously funded by NSF since 1982. Since 1991 he has received $7 million in funding from NSF, ARO, AFOSR and other government agencies, including significant DoD SBIR and industry funding. Continuously funded by NSF since 1982. His SBIR program was instrumental in ARRI's receipt of the US SBA Tibbets Award in 1996. Received Fulbright Research Award 1988, American Society of Engineering Education F.E. Terman Award 1989, Int. Neural Network Soc. Gabor Award 2009, U.K. Inst Measurement & Control Honeywell Field Engineering Medal 2009, three Sigma Xi Research Awards, UTA Halliburton Engineering Research Award, UTA Distinguished Research Award, ARRI Patent Awards, various Best Paper Awards, IEEE Control Systems Society Best Chapter Award (as Founding Chairman of DFW Chapter), and National Sigma Xi Award for Outstanding Chapter (as President of UTA Chapter). Received Outstanding Service Award from the Dallas IEEE Section and selected as Engineer of the year by Ft. Worth IEEE Section. Listed in Ft. Worth Business Press Top 200 Leaders in Manufacturing. Appointed to NAE Committee on Space Station in 1995 and IEEE Control Systems Society Board of Governors in 1996. Selected in 1998 as an IEEE Control Systems Society Distinguished Lecturer. Received the 2010 IEEE Region 5 Outstanding Engineering Educator Award and the 2010 UTA Graduate Dean's Excellence in Doctoral Mentoring Award.

Read More About Frank Lewis