Skip to content

Quick News 

graphic of accolades
On April 14, the College Dean recognized several English students for outstanding accomplishments during 2015-16: Allison Piercy (ACES winner & COLA Scholar); Mikayla Hixon (ACES winner & COLA Scholar); Stephanie Peebles Tavera (Graduate Research Travel Award & COLA Scholar); Abraham Salinas (COLA Scholar); Esther Kentish (COLA Scholar); Hope McCarthy (COLA Scholar); Sarah Shelton (COLA Scholar); Meagan Solomon (Junior Woman's Club of Fort Worth Endowed Scholarship).

Shaffer in Shorthorn

In the continuing acknowledgment of Bethany Shaffer's award as Advisor of the Year, a Shorthorn reporter interviewed Bethany.

Richardson Receives Faculty Senate Travel Award

The Faculty Senate Travel Award Committee announced that Dr. Tim Richardson has been awarded a $500 travel grant.

Student to pursue Masters degree at U of Edinburgh 

Trevor Beers has been accepted into an intensive one year masters programme in which he will delve into the structure of the English language’s phonology, syntax and semantics, and the language's modern and historical development. This program in the Linguistics department at the University of Edinburgh is ranked third in the world.

Writing Center's new Office Assistant

Kelly Warren has been selected as the full-time Office Assistant for the Writing Center, and she will begin working in the Writing Center on 2 May.

English Department Shines at Facult Awards Ceremony

On behalf of the everyone at UTA, Dr. Nakia Pope recognized numerous employees of the English Department at the Faculty Awards ceremony in the Rio Grande Ballroom on 28 April: Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching (Kathryn Warren); Doctoral Student Mentoring Award (Stacy Alaimo); Academic Faculty Advising Award (Bethany Shaffer); McNair Scholars Program Faculty Mentors (James Warren & Barbara Chiarello); Faculty Developmentn Leave (Penelope Ingram).

Incoming Director of First Year Writing to Speak on Monday 

image of Lerberg flyer about talk Dr. Justin Lerberg, incoming Director of the FYW Program, will talk about his vison for the FYW program.

graphic image of hands at a keyboard

Dr. Kathryn Warren Wins Provost's Teaching Award 

photo of Dr. K. WarrenInterim Provost Dr. Linda Johnsrud informed Dr. Kathryn Warren that she is this year's recipient of the Provost's Teaching Award. "This honor is a clear indication of your devoted, enthusiastic and long-standing commitment to students and the teaching mission of the University," wrote Johnsrud.

Winners of UT Arlington’s 2016 teaching honors will be recognized at an event on Thursday, April 28th at 4:00 in the Rio Grande Ballroom of the Hereford University Center.

Winning Hand for English Students with ACES

photo of award winners at ACES

The Annual Celebration of Excellence by Students (ACES) took place on March 23, with Mikayla Hixon and Allison Piercy taking home awards.

Mikayla Hixson's essay, "Beauty and the Beast: A Tale Before Its Time" took the Dean's Award. Allison Piercy's research project "Gender and Unity in 'Tintern Abbey'" received the President's Award. All award winners are pictured at left.

Bethany Shaffer Wins Award for Advisor of the Year

photo of Shaffer UTA has named Bethany Shaffer Advisor of the Year for 2016. The award is the result of recognition from peers and students. Ms. Shaffer will be honored on April 12th at a special luncheon on campus. The Interim Provost will present her with the award at that time. 

McNair Scholars / English Majors

photo of Hedlestonphoto of SalinasTwo McNair Scholars have been working with English faculty these past months. Peter Hedleston's project (Hedleston on right), mentored by Dr. James Warren, is entitled "Sophist(icated) Pragmatism: Towards a Unified Theory of Language and Politics in Rhetorical Studies." Abraham Salinas (pictured on left), mentored by Dr. Barbara Chiarello, worked on "(Mis)Representations of Latino-American Masculinities in La Mission and Junot Diaz's The Brief Life of Oscar Wao."

photo of Cardwellphoto of KentishThe newest English Major / McNair Scholar is Tristen Cardwell (pictured at left). At a recent orientation, another undergraduate English student, Esther Kentish (photo on right), gave a moving speech welcoming new scholars and shared her experiences with the McNair program.

Two Honors for Dr. Estee Beck 

Dr. Estee Beck has been invited to serve a three-year term on a national committee, CCCC Committee on Computers in Composition and Communication for the Conference of College Composition and Communication/National Council of the Teachers of English.

graphic of Kairos cover and Estee Beck photoThe second success is her publication of an article in the well-known rhetoric journal Kairos. "I’m particularly delighted and honored by this invited publication, because it arose from networking with scholars in rhetoric & composition who’ve historically written about surveillance, privacy, and net neutrality. The wanted me to deliver a 'town hall' conference presentation at the 2015 Computers & Writing conference in May. The editor of Kairos, who was in attendance, invited all the speakers to publish in the 20th anniversary issue."

Dr. Stacy Alaimo Receives Mentoring Award 

photo of Dr. Alaimo Dr. Stacy Alaimo has been named the recipient of this year’s Office of Graduate Studies Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring Award. The Selection Committee noted Dr. Alaimo's consistent record of excellence in promoting the professional, personal, and academic development of doctoral students at the University of Texas at Arlington.The award will be given to Dr. Alaimo at the Spring Faculty Awards Ceremony, which is scheduled for April 28, 2016.

Dr. Rambsy to Co-direct NEH Summer Seminar

photo of Dr. Kenton Rambsy The National Endowment of the Humanities will provide funding to Dr. Kenton Rambsy for a year-long collaborative project on Digital Humanities and African American literary studies. As part of the project, Dr. Rambsy will serve as co-director of an NEH summer institute on digital pedagogy at Howard University.

In related news, Tim Ciesco from NBC 5 Arlington visited Dr. Rambsy’s class on February 12. The reporter was interested in the course Dr. Rambsy is teaching on Jay Z. The course has been drawing a lot of attention among students on campus as well as social networking, and the news item was aired the evening of February 12. Listen to the KERA story.

Sarah Shelton Awarded Cohen/McMillan Fellowship

photo of Sarah Shelton Sarah Shelton, who has been awarded the inaugural Philip Cohen and Elaina McMillan Graduate Fellowship in English. Sarah is currently the Assistant Director of the First Year Writing Program. Philip Cohen, former Graduate Dean and member of the department, and Elaina McMillan gave the generous fellowship to the department shortly after Cohen's retirement in 2013. The fellowship is a permanent endowment. Recipients must maintain a GPA of 3.5 and be a full-time graduate who holds an assistantship.

Dr. Alaimo Invited to be Visiting Professor at George Washington

Members of the English Deparptment at George Washington University have invited Dr. Stacy Alaimo to be the Wang Distinguished Professor-in-Residence for 2016-17. The residency consists of several-days stay on campus, interaction with undergraduates, graduate students, and faculty members. In past years, GWU has hosted Michael Bérubé, J. Jack Halberstam, Sara Ahmed, Rosemarie Garland-Thomson, Simon Gikandi, and José Munoz -- all part of the Visiting Professorship. graphic of George Washington U logo

Opportunity for Summer Study in Greece 

photo of parthenon

As part of the department's informal relationship with the University of Kingston in London, UTA students interested in Creative Writing have the opportunity to study in Greece this summer.

Kingston's International School of Creative Writing is supported by the British Council, and the summer session begins in late May.