For UTA students  •  View in a web browser


Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Maverick Stampede launches fall semester with welcome events

  Maverick Stampede  

Celebrate the start of the academic year with the MavsMeet Convocation at 4 p.m. today, Tuesday, Aug. 22, at College Park Center. Radio personality and alumnus Rock T will give the keynote address. Stick around for live music, games, and fun at the AfterParty. See the Maverick Stampede schedule.

New parking garage open today; parking permits available now


Half of the West Campus Parking Garage will open to students today, Tuesday, Aug. 22. The remaining half will open in December. There is no overnight parking in the new garage. All vehicles must leave by 12:30 a.m. during the garage's remaining construction.

Parking permits for 2017-18 are available online. Go to and log in to MavPark to obtain a permit.

Groups can participate in Maverick Cookout, Activity Fair Day

Student organizations are encouraged to host an information table at the Maverick Cookout Featuring the Activity Fair Day on Wednesday, Aug. 30, on the University Center mall. Register online.

Important Dates

  • Thursday, Aug. 24—First day of classes
  • Thursday-Wednesday, Aug. 24-30—Late registration
  • Monday, Sept. 4—Labor Day holiday; no classes; UTA closed
  • Monday, Sept. 11—Census date

Coming Up

  coming up  

See more on the UTA events calendar.

TrailBlazer, UTA’s e-newsletter for students, is published by University Communications on Tuesdays during the fall and spring semesters and every other Tuesday during summer terms, except for holidays.

Submit items for publication to

TrailBlazer welcomes subscriptions from non-students of UTA as well.

The University of Texas at Arlington does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, age, gender, sexual orientation, disabilities, genetic information, and/or veteran status in its educational programs or activities it operates. For more information, visit For information regarding Title IX, visit

The University of Texas at Arlington

© 2017 The University of Texas at Arlington