Skip to content

Mav Roundup

Travel Innovators

Students earn national recognition


Ten UTA students have been identified as some of the nation’s brightest minds in transportation. As recipients of coveted Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowships, they will push for innovative change in areas such as highway construction, aviation, transportation policy, and more.

The recipients are Ana Maria Coca, Sachini Madanayake, Muhasina Dola, Nyoka Amy Florius, Kate Nguyen, Christian Libebele, and Taryn DiLorenzo, all engineering; Nicholas Allen, political science; and Vivian Fung and Marvelous Echeng from the College of Architecture, Planning, and Public Affairs.

“This is a very prestigious program, and our students’ success in earning these fellowships speaks to the breadth of excellent research being done in this area at UTA,” says Laureano Hoyos, professor of civil engineering.

The mission of the Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program is to advance transportation workforce development and retain top talent in the U.S. transportation industry. Fellowships are merit-based, and 150-200 are distributed nationwide each year.

“We are proud that this group has earned these prestigious fellowships,” says Jim Grover, interim vice president for research. “It speaks volumes of the quality of our research enterprise and the value of UTA’s contributions to education, research, and innovation.”

You might also like