Federal Grant Awarded

Katherine Sanchez


The School of Social Work is proud to announce that Assistant Professor Dr. Katherine Sanchez was awarded a two-year federal grant from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Hispanic Health Services’ Research Grant Program. The grant is available to encourage researchers of health services to pursue studies related to health care delivery issues that affect Hispanic-American communities. This includes issues of access to health care, health outcomes, quality of services, and racial health disparities. The $200,000 grant will fund Dr. Sanchez’s research project, which is entitled DESEO: Depression Screening and Education: Options to Reduce Barriers to Treatment.  The purpose of the project is to increase disease literacy, dispel myths about depression and its treatment among Hispanic patients, as well as reduce the stigma associated with receiving mental health care.  Dr. Sanchez hopes that her research project will reduce barriers and engage more Hispanics in treatment for depression. The project will be conducted at One Community Health Center in Fort Worth, Texas whose patient population is majority Hispanic.

MSW and PhD Students

MSW and PhD Students

MSW and PhD Students Visit Scholar

MSW and Ph D. students recently visited with Dr. Michael Ungar at Texas Christian University in Fort Worth, Texas. Dr. Ungar is the Killam Professor of Social Work at Dalhousie University in Halifax Nova Scotia where he directs the Resilience Research Center. Dr. Ungar is an international scholar and researcher in the area of resilience. His global work is focused on resilience among children, youth and families and how they together survive adversity in culturally diverse ways.

Ima Hogg Foundation

Emily Wilson

Ima Hogg Foundation Scholarship Winners Announced

The Hogg Foundation announced this year’s recipients of the Ima Hogg Scholarship award, an annual scholarship of $5,000 to support graduate social work students in Texas.  Emily Wilson along with nine other social work graduates are recipients of this award.  Emily Wilson is a masters student in the University of Texas at Arlington’s (UTA’s) School of Social Work and is studying mental health practice.


The Ima Hogg Scholarships were awarded to second year graduate students who demonstrate a strong commitment to providing mental health services after graduation in Texas.  Award recipients must attend one of 12 Texas graduate schools of social work that are accredited or pending accreditation by the National Council on Social Work Education.  The Ima Hogg Scholarship was established in 1956 to address the need for more trained social workers in hope of providing quality mental health services for Texas residents.