No place like home
Meet the new Alumni Association director and learn how she's making increasing membership a top priority.

Three former cadets join Military
Science Hall of Honor
Read about this year's Military Science Hall of Honor inductees.

University receives highest Carnegie classification
The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching has placed UTA in the Doctoral/ Research Extensive category in its latest classification of American higher education.

Enrollment surges past 20,000
Enrollment reached a four-year high in the fall, topping 20,000 for the first time since 1996.


Donor Recognition Dinner

Each year, the Office of Development hosts a dinner to recognize individuals who have contributed $500 or more to the University. The photographs below are from the 2000 Donor Dinner held in November at the E.H. Hereford University Center.

Gene Schrickel Jr. first came to North Texas Agricultural College (now UTA) in 1944. After a brief break for service in World War II, he re-enrolled in 1946, returning to classes and basketball stardom.

He later completed his bachelor's degree at Texas A&M University, where he served as captain of the basketball team during his senior year. He was inducted into the UTA Athletic Hall of Honor in 1993.

Gene's wife, Helen, attended Arlington State College (now UTA) from 1951 to 1953, and she too developed a great devotion to the school. Over the years, they both have become increasingly fond of the Music Department's Jazz Studies Program.

So, when they decided to make a gift to the University in 1996, it was natural that they should support basketball and music by establishing the Helen and Gene Schrickel Jr. Basketball Scholarship Fund and the Helen and Gene Schrickel Jr. Enrichment Fund for Jazz Studies.

"We just love music,"Helen said. "And we're big fans of (Jazz Studies Director) Bill Snodgrass." The couple also contributed to the previously established William L. and Martha Hughes Scholarship for the study of biology, created to honor Helen's parents, who first came to NTAC in the 1920s.

William Hughes taught biology and later served as head of the department. Martha taught chemistry, but nepotism laws forced her to leave NTAC after the couple married. She spent the remainder of her career teaching in area public schools.

"We loved the school when we were there,"Helen said, "and we want to help support it."

Helen and Gene Schrickel Jr.

Rowena Taliaferro established the Lloyd Carr Taliaferro Memorial Scholarship in memory of her husband, a longtime UTA music professor who died in 1999.

From 1957 until his retirement 30 years later, Dr. Taliaferro played a leading role in the development of UTA's undergraduate music degree. He was particularly involved in the areas of music theory and composition.

"We could think of no better way to honor him than to provide UTA students with a scholarship in his name— one that is specifically in his field of music theory and composition,"Rowena said. "This scholarship is the first one at UTA given in these areas."

During his three-decade tenure at UTA, Dr. Taliaferro, the first faculty member with a Ph.D. hired by the Music Department, composed more than 100 works.

"I was, of course, present for many concerts through those years," Rowena said. "Therefore my heart and support will always be with this institution, and my desire is for the Department of Music to continue to expand and improve, especially as it starts its new graduate degree and looks forward to a new recital hall and other facilities."

Rowena, who taught choral music in the Arlington public schools from 1957 to 1987, added, "As a musician myself, I am always interested in furthering the cause of great music."

Rowena Taliaferro


Attorney Andrew Sommerman wants to give current students the same opportunities for quality education that he had, so he established three endowments— two named for influential professors and one in memory of his mother. All are awarded through the UTA Honors College.

The Luther Wayne Odom Scholarship and the Charles R. Knerr Memorial Scholarship honor professors who played significant roles in Sommerman's undergraduate education.

"When I was a sophomore, Dr. Knerr and Dr. Odom talked me out of taking a high-paying, manual labor job and into continuing my education. But for their involvement, I would not be able to fund these scholarships."

Sommerman, who earned his bachelor's degree in political science from UTA in 1983, now practices law with the firm of Sommerman, Moore and Mitchell, L.L.P., in Dallas.

He established the Nancy C. Sommerman Memorial Scholarship in honor of his mother.

"I created multiple endowments at UTA to help students who participate in extracurricular activities across multidisciplinary subjects and who need financial assistance to get through school,"he explained.

He placed all three awards in the care of Dean Carolyn Barros and the Honors College. "The Honors College works with students from all disciplines,"he said. "Moreover, Dean Barros and her staff are excellent administrators who handle these scholarships with skill and dignity."

Andrew Sommerman


Fred and Kim Carney are members of the Carlisle Society, which recognizes alumni and friends who have made UTA a part of their estate plans.


Distinguished Alumni Gala
Each year, the Alumni Association hosts a gala to recognize outstanding graduates from each of UTA's colleges and schools as well as from the departments of athletics and military science. The photographs below are from the 2000 Distinguished Alumni Gala held in October at the E.H. Hereford University Center.

From left: Honorees H. Lea Barbato Gaydos (School of Nursing), Robert Howard (School of Education) and Arlene Byrd Shorter (School of Social Work).


Distinguished alumnus Jerry W. Thomas (College of Business Administration), left, with business Dean Daniel Himarios.

Honorees Frank W. Hill (College of Liberal Arts), left, and Robert K. Utley III (Athletics).





Nursing Dean Elizabeth Poster, left, accepts a painting from Distinguished Alumna H. Lea Barbato Gaydos.

From left: Honorees Rex H. Latham (Military Science), George C. Campbell (School of Urban and Public Affairs), Randall C. Gideon (School of Architecture) and Walter Sonneborn (College of Engineering).


Distinguished alumnus Dean Astumian (College of Science), right, with science Dean Neal Smatresk.



shim shim shim shim shim shim shim