Skip to content

Admissions

Graduate

All applications are completed online through the Office of Admissions

Curriculum and Instruction

Certification-Only Admission Requirements

Individuals applying to a non-degree seeking program must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 in the last 60 hours of undergraduate coursework and a 3.0 average in all graduate coursework.

Candidates seeking initial teacher certification in the Mid-Level, Secondary, or All-Level grades must have completed 24 undergraduate hours in the content area. A completed Content Declaration form must be on file in the advising office before a student will be permitted to enroll in Education coursework. See the Teacher Certification page for more information.

Individuals applying to a Master's degree program must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 in the last 60 hours of undergraduate coursework and a 3.0 average in all graduate coursework.

For more information, please visit Graduate advising.

Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

M.Ed. in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Admission to the Master of Education in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies is competitive and some qualified students may not be admitted if demand exceeds the program’s capacity to serve all applicants. Applicant’s undergraduate GPA, GRE scores, and recommendation materials will be used to determine admission.

For more information please visit the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies.

Ph.D. in Educational Leadership

Admission to the Educational Leadership Ph.D. program requires admission to both the graduate school and the department.

For more information regarding the Ph.D. program admission requirements, please visit the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies.


Criminal History Acknowledgement:

As required by Texas HB1508, applicants need to be aware of the following.

  1. In order to receive a teacher certification in Texas, you must pass a criminal history background check.
  2. If you have been convicted of an offense that is considered not appropriate for an educator, you could be ineligible to earn this certification from the state of Texas.
  3. You have a right to request a preliminary criminal history evaluation letter from the Texas Education Agency prior to admission into this program. The Texas Education Agency currently charges a $50 fee for this criminal history evaluation.

For more information on Preliminary Criminal History Evaluation:
https://tea.texas.gov/Texas_Educators/Investigations/Preliminary_Criminal_History_Evaluation-FAQs/