The University of Texas at Arlington

Southwest Regional Speaker Exchange Program

professor

Armstrong, Daniel    817-272-3805    danarm@uta.edu
"Ionic Liquids and Their Use in Chemical Analysis"
"Recent Advances in the Development and Use of Chiral Selectors in Separation Science"
"Separations-Based High Efficiency Microbial Analysis"

Dasgupta, Purnendu (Sandy)    817-272-3171    dasgupta@uta.edu
"A Green Analyzer for Arsenic"
"Perchlorate : Where now?"

Dias, Rasika    817-272-3813    dias@uta.edu
"Teflon Coated Pyrazolates and Scorpionates"
"Light Emitting Chains, Rings and Other Types of Aggregates Containing Copper, Silver and Gold Atoms"

Foss, Frank    817-272-5245    ffoss@uta.edu
"Phospholipid Metabolism and Signaling: Developing Non-Natural Sphingosine-1-Phosphate Analogues as Biological Tools"
"Artificial Enzymes: Mimicking Nature to Develop Non-Natural Catalysts"
"Molecular Electronics: Structure-Function Relationships in Electron Transport through Aromatic and Anti-Aromatic Molecules"
"The "Weaker Forces": An Introduction to Intermolecular Forces and Self-Assembly in Nature and Nanoscale Materials"

Heo, Jongyun    817-272-1076    jheo@uta.edu
"Anticancer Therapeutic Potentials and Redox Regulation Mechanisms of Ras, Rho and Ran GTPases"

Kroll, Peter    817-272-3814    pkroll@uta.edu
"Computational High-Pressure Chemistry of Nitride Compounds"
"Order in Disordered Materials: Modeling and Computation of Nano-domains in Glasses and Amorphous Ceramics"
"Amorphous Ceramics, Interfaces, and Nanostructures: Atomistic Modeling and ab-initio Computations"
"Computational Solid State Chemistry: Glasses, Nanostructures, and High-Pressure Science"

Lovely, Carl    817-272-5446    lovely@uta.edu
"New Methods for Imidazole Functionalization -- Application to the Total Synthesis of Marine Alkaloids"
"New Methods of Transition Metal-Mediated and -Catalyzed Synthesis"

MacDonnell, Frederick    817-272-2972    macdonn@uta.edu
"Hypoxia Selective DNA Cleavage Using DNA Binding Metal Complexes"
"Photodriven Sequential and Concerted Multi-Electron Reduction of Ruthenium Complexes: Potential Towards Hydrogen Production"

Mandal, Subhra     817-272-3808    smandal@uta.edu
"Mixed Lineage Leukemia Histone Methylases in Gene Expression, Hormone Signaling and Cancer"
"Mixed Lineage Leukemias Bridge Between Estrogen Signaling and Blood Cholesterol"
"Screening Small Molecules: Metallo-Salens Are Potential Novel Anti-Tumor Agents"

Perera, Roshan    817-272-9067    perera@uta.edu
"Proteins Containing Unnatural Amino Acids"
"Genetically Engineered Protein Mimics"

Pierce, Brad    817-272-9066    bspierce@uta.edu
"Pre-Steady State and Spectroscopic Characterization of Substrate-Gated Reduction of Stearoyl-ACP delta-9-Desaturase by [2Fe-2S] Ferredoxin"
"Characterization of the Nitrosyl Adduct of Substrate-Bound Mouse Cysteine Dioxygenase by Electron Paramagnetic Resonance: Electronic Structure of the Active Site and Mechanistic Implications"

Rajeshwar, Krishnan    817-272-3511    rajeshwar@uta.edu
"Combining Photochemistry with Electrochemistry: The Sun is the Limit"
"Solar Hydrogen Generation: Toward a Renewable Energy Economy"

Schug, Kevin     817-272-3541    kschug@uta.edu
"The Caveats of Studying Solution Phase Small Molecule Molecular Recognition by Electrospray Ionization Mass Spectrometry"
"Chiral Recognition and Enantiodiscrimination by Mass Spectrometry: Ready for Industry or Purely Academic?"

Timmons, Richard    817-272-3801    timmons@uta.edu
"Variable Duty Cycle Pulsed Plasma Polymerizations: A Convenient Route to Molecularly Tailored Surfaces"

UT Arlington will pick up cost of travel for smaller Institutions within a 150-mile radius, through the Southwest Speaker Exchange

The following seminars from our faculty are available to participating institutions. If your department wishes to take advantage of any such presentation, please contact the faculty member directly.

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

The University of Texas at Arlington · Arlington, Texas 76019-0065 USA

Phone: 817-272-3171 | Fax: 817-272-3808

© 2014 The University of Texas at Arlington

All rights reserved