The University of Texas at Arlington

DFW Young Investigator's Symposium
ACS-DFW January Meeting

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The University of Texas at Arlington

Room 114, W. A. Baker Chemistry Research Building (CRB), Arlington, Texas

Saturday, January 25, 2014
8:30 A.M. to 2:00 P.M.




Meet DFW's New Young Investigators and learn about exciting research in the DFW Section. 

This is also an excellent opportunity to network in the local section, meet local academic and industry leaders, and evelop collaborative research projects.



Organized by:


Rasika Dias (UT Arlington)

Patty Wisian-Neilson (Southern Methodist University)

Frank Foss (UT Arlington)




  • Coffee and Welcome: 8:30 A.M. to 9:00 A.M.
  • Speakers: 9:00 A.M to 12:00 P.M. (includes mid-morning coffee break)
  • Lunch and Postdoctoral Posters: 12:00 P.M. to 2 P.M.
  • Pizza Lunch will be provided




9:00                                     Welcome - Rasika Dias (UT Arlington)


9:10-9:30                            Junha Jeon (UT Arlington)

Ligand-controlled, Selective Rhodium-Catalyzed Intramolecular Hydrosilylation


9:30-9:50                            Brian Zoltowski (Southern Methodist University)

Chemistry of the Clock


9:50-10:10                           Benjamin Janesko (Texas Christian University)

Simulating Chemistry on Surfaces


10:10-10:30                          Gomika Udugamasooriya (UT-Southwestern Medical Center)

Peptoid-Combinatorial Strategies for Cancer Therapy-Diagnostic Tool Developments


10:30-10:45                          Coffee break


10:45-11:05                          Kayla Green (Texas Christian University)    

Elucidating the Electronic Nature of Pyridol Derived N-heterocyclic Amine Ligands


11:05-11:25                          Nicolay Tsarevsky (Southern Methodist University)

Functional Branched Polymers: From Synthesis to Applications


11:25-11:45                          Kayunta Johnson-Winters (UT Arlington)

Investigation of Two F420-Cofactor Dependent Enzymes: A Kinetic Prelude


11:45-12:30                          Lunch





POSTER SESSION (12:30-2:00)


Posters should fit within a 5 x 3 foot (width x height) space


Newest Assistant Professors


Alejandro Bugarin (UTA – Organic Methodology and Catalysis)

Saiful Chowdhury (UTA – Analytical Method Development)

Jeremiah Gassensmith (UTD – Organic Chemistry and Biopolymer Materials)

Alexander Lippert (SMU – Organic Chemistry and Imaging Techniques)

Peng Tao (SMU - Computational Methodology and Enzymology)


Current Research Associates


Suchismita Acharya, Ph.D. 

Shengjie Bian, Ph.D.

 Animesh Das, Ph.D.

Weixiong Huang, Ph.D.

Ebenezer Joseph, Ph.D.

Naveen Kulkarni, Ph.D.

Min Zhang, Ph.D.



UTA Logo                                              ACS Logo

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

The University of Texas at Arlington · Arlington, Texas 76019-0065 USA

Phone: 817-272-3171 | Fax: 817-272-3808

© 2018 The University of Texas at Arlington

All rights reserved