Monday, Apr 15, 2024

The University of Texas at Arlington is working with National Taiwan University (NTU) to establish a student exchange program and collaborate on faculty research, offering the UTA community more academic options.

The agreement is a product of the strong connection among the faculty at both research institutions and the efforts of Ming-Han Li, dean of the College of Architecture, Planning and Public Affairs (CAPPA), who is an NTU graduate.

“Being able to facilitate the agreement, find UTA faculty who are NTU alums and catalyze future collaborations between the two great universities is an immense honor as dean of CAPPA,” Li said.

“It is my great honor to be here to strengthen collaborations between NTU and UTA,” said Yu-Pin Lin, dean of the College of Bioresources and Agriculture at NTU.

The agreement will allow UTA and NTU to partner on various research projects across multiple disciplines. The universities also will look to organize other opportunities for collaboration, such as conferences, symposiums and guest teaching.

“These sorts of opportunities are exactly why I am excited to lead here,” said Tamara L. Brown, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs. “We’re reaching across the waters to partner with universities.”

With NTU, UTA students will have destination for studying abroad as well. Students who study abroad learn to interact effectively with different cultures and populations, adapt to new situations and circumstances and gain a competitive edge in employment and further academic studies.

“This agreement provides a unique opportunity for UTA students to study at a premier institution abroad, gaining invaluable skills in their field while developing a global perspective,” said Jay Horn, executive director of the Office of International Education.

Hongtei Eric Tseng, who is joining the University as a distinguished university professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering, is an alumnus of NTU. Tseng, who is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and has decades of experience in the automotive industry, is UTA’s first hire under its Recruiting Innovative Scholars for Excellence initiative. Other NTU alumni teaching at UTA include:

  • Shih-Ho Chao, professor of civil engineering
  • Li-Chin Jennifer Ho, professor of accounting
  • Chyng-Yang Jang, associate professor of communication
  • Wei-Jen Lee, interim chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering

Written by Brian Lopez, UTA Media Relations