Faculty Fellows Program

The Faculty Fellows Program 

The Faculty Fellows program is a semester-long program for faculty interested in integrating service learning into their courses. In a series of monthly seminars, conducted both on campus and at area nonprofit agencies, faculty examine the academic and institutional origins of service learning, pedagogical best practices, and possibilities of combining service learning and research.

Collegiality is one of the highlights of the Faculty Fellows experience. Faculty meet, discuss, and share in small group settings to nurture their growth in service to their community and knowledge of the process, within a mentoring environment. Through this interaction, Faculty Fellows form sustainable partnerships and supportive networks, and have opportunities to engage in collaborative, community-based research and scholarship.

Learn more about the faculty fellows program and its requirements 

Faculty Fellows Commitments for Fall 2023

Aug. 26
Kickoff Seminar at Trinity Hall | 9:00am - 3:00pm
Sep. 13
Monthly Seminar at the Community Partner Location | 2:30pm - 5:00pm
Oct. 18
Monthly Seminar at the Community Partner Location | 2:30pm - 5:00pm
Nov. 15
Monthly Seminar at the Community Partner Location | 2:30pm - 5:00pm
Apr. 18
♦ CRTLE Showcase at Trinity Hall | 4:00pm - 6:30pm ♦
May 2
Luncheon at Trinity Hall | 11:30am - 2:00pm

Fall 2023 Service Learning Faculty Fellows Program Application

a student working on a service learning project by filming another student who's on a desktop working on an assignment

More about service learning

Faculty Views on Service Learning

Learn more about service learning and discover how a few faculty have incorporated it in their courses.

Service Learning Faculty Fellows

  • Geoff Campbell, Communication

  •  Emily Nwakpuda, Public Affairs & Planning

  •  Benjamin Wagley, Art & Art History

  •  Vin, Civil Engineering

  •  Kelli Rogers, Social Work


  • Maxine Adegbola, Nursing

  •  Kimberly Carraway, Political Science

  •  Sonja Ezell, Early Childhood - 6th Grade

  •  Sophia Fantus, Social Work

  •  Jason Hogue, English

  •  Erick Jones, Jr., Industrial Materials Science Engineering

  •  Bryan Maldonado, New Student Courses

  •  Cheryl Mitchell, Museum Studies

  •  Correy Retzloff, Management, Goolsby Leadership Academy


  • Mari TietzeNursing/Informatics

  • Rosa TellezModern Languages

  • Lauren BrewerMarketing

  • Monica de la Fuentes, Modern Languages

  • Andy Milson, History

  • Josh Wilson, Art & Art History

  • Eli Shupe, Philosophy

  • Tim Ponce, English

  • Fernando Melero-García, Modern Languages

  • Melissa Walsh, Biology

  • Julia Lindgren, Architecture

  • Mia Kirby, Social Work

  • Jamar Jones, Music

  • Chyng-yang Jang, Communication

  • Aida Allen, Mathematics

  • Barbara Berthold, Modern Languages

  • Godfred Boateng, Kinesiology/Public Health

  • Dianna Jones, Social Work

  • Lauren Krznarich, Division of Student Success

  • Tiffany Kindratt, Kinesiology/Public Health

  • Grace Brannon, Communication

  • Shawn Gieser, Computer Engineering

  • Dennis Chiessa, Architecture

  • Kathleen Smits, Civil Engineering

  • Saltanat Childress, Social Work

  • Laura Phipps, Kinesiology/Public Health

  • Jiwon Suh, Public Affairs

  • Nali Kim, Linguistics & TESOL

  • Shanna Banda, Mathematics

  • LeeAnn Burke, UTeach

  • Steven Gellman, Science

  • Brandie Green, Kinesiology/Public Health

  • Danielle Klein, Division of Student Success

  • Cheryl Donaldson, Architecture

  • Stephanie Cole, History

  • Joyce Myers, Education

  • Tracy Orwig, Social Work

  • Kyrah Brown, Public Health

  • Jaime Cantu, Industrial Materials Science Engineering

  • Ly-Huong Barrett, Social Work

  • Beverly George, Business Management

  • Zerita Hall, Criminology & Criminal Justice

  • Justyn Jaworski, Bioengineering

  • Alice Lubbe, Mathematics

  • Atefe Makhmalbaf, Architecture

  • Subhra Mandal, Chemistry & Biochemistry

  • Taner Ozdil, Landscape Architecture

  • Monica Zhan, Communication

  • Jennifer Little, Public Relations

  • Jerry Hubbard, Goolsby Leadership Academy/Business

  • Kathryn Hamilton Warren, English

  • Adrian Rodriguez, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

  • Cornelia Winguth, Earth and Environmental Sciences

  • Becky Garner, Kinesiology/Public Health

  • Kiva Harper, Social Work

  • Stephanie Peebles Tavera, English 

  • David Hopman, Landscape Architecture

  • Shaun House, Philosophy

  • Michael Magnus, Advertising

  • Ericka Robinson-Freeman, Social Work

  • Loretta Pequeno-Griffin, Education/Leadership Center

  • Peggy Semingson, Education

  • Donna Davis-Livingston, Nursing

  • Erin Carlson, Kinesiology/Public Health

  • LaDonna Aiken, Communication

  • Ivonne Audirac, Planning & Landscape Architecture

  • Amy Austin, Modern Languages (Spanish)

  • LaShaunn Bold, Social Work

  • Denise Cauble, Nursing

  • Karishma Chatterjee, Communication

  • Thomas Dombrowsky, Nursing

  • Sergio Espinosa, Music

  • Ana Gregoria Cano, Modern Languages (Spanish)

  • James Langford, Social Work

  • Shannon Layman, Psychology

  • Alicia Soueid, Modern Languages (French)

  • Amy Speier, Anthropology

  • Adam Stein, Linguistics/English Language Institute

  • Jiyoon Yoon, Curriculum and Instruction

Please contact the Center for Service Learning office at servicelearning@uta.edu for more information.