Faculty in Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Stathis Meletis, Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Efstathios "Stathis" I. Meletis,
Professor and Chair

Efstathios "Stathis" I. Meletis Faculty profile
meletis@uta.edu | 817-272-2559
Lab: 817-272-0656
Surface engineering, plasma processes, thin films and coatings, nanomaterials, nanotribology, biomaterials, corrosion

Pranesh Aswath, Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Dr. Pranesh Aswath,
Provost Ad Interim and Vice President for Academic Affairs, and Professor

Pranesh Aswath Faculty profile
aswath@uta.edu | 817-272-0308
Ceramics, titanium composites, bioactive materials, tribology, civil structures

Ye Cao, Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Ye Cao,
Assistant Professor

Ye Cao Faculty Profile
ye.cao@uta.edu | 817-272-1858
Combined phase-field modeling and scanning probe characterization of ferroelectric thin films, multiscale modeling of energy materials, electrochemical coupling, electrical and transport phenomena in nanoscale functional oxides.

Yaowu Hao, Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Yaowu Hao,
Professor

Yaowu Hao Faculty profile
yhao@uta.edu | 817-272-0752 (Lab: 817-272-0303)
Metal and Magnetic Nanostructures

Jiechao Jiang

Dr. Jiechao C. Jiang,
Research Professor and CCMB Facility Manager

Jiechao C. Jiang Faculty profile
jiang@uta.edu | 817-272-0841
Materials characterization, thin films and coatings, nanomaterials

Choong-un Kim, Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Choong-Un Kim,
Professor

Choong-Un Kim Faculty profile
choongun@uta.edu | 817-272-5497
Thin-film metallurgy, phase transformation, reliability physics of microelectronics

Wiley Kirk

Dr. Wiley Kirk,
Research Professor

Wiley Kirk Faculty Profile
kirk@uta.edu | 972-742-8856
Growth and design of heterostructure materials for photovoltaic and nanoscale devices, physics of charge transport and magneto-conduction mechanisms in materials

Seong Jin Koh, Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Seong Jin Koh,
Professor and Graduate Advisor

Seong Jin Koh Faculty profile
skoh@uta.edu | 817-272-1223
Nano-electronic devices, sensor for molecular level detection, surface science

Erika La Plante

Dr. Erika La Plante,
Assistant Professor

erika.laplante@uta.edu | 817-272-7718
Cementitious materials, low-temperature geochemistry, mineral-fluid interfaces, surface structures and reactions

Constantin Politis

Dr. Constantin Politis,
Distinguished Research Professor

politis@uta.edu

Wolfram Schommers

Dr. Wolfram Schommers,
Distinguished Research Professor

schommers@uta.edu

Surendra Shah, Ph.D., NAE, Civil Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Surendra P. Shah,
Presidential Distinguished Professor, Member of National Academy of Engineering, Director, Center for Advanced Construction Materials

surendra.shah@uta.edu

Harry Tibbals

Dr. Harry F. Tibbals,
Research Professor

Harry F. Tibbals Faculty Profile
HFTibbals@uta.edu

Kyungsuk Yum, Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering>

Dr. Kyungsuk Yum,
Associate Professor

Kyungsuk Yum Faculty Profile
kyum@uta.edu | 817-272-9546
Biologically-inspired materials and systems, nanomaterials, nanobiotechnology

Kendra Wallis

Dr. Kendra L Wallis,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Kendra L Wallis Faculty Profile

Affiliated Faculty

In addition to the MSE core faculty, a number of professors from other departments in the College of Engineering and the College of Science at UTA participate in the Materials Science and Engineering Program. They collaborate in research projects with the faculty and mentor Materials Science and Engineering students.

Bioengineering

Kytai Nguyen, Ph.D., Bioengineering 

DR. KYTAI NGUYEN
Professor, Track Advisor

Dr. Nguyen Faculty profile
knguyen@uta.edu | 817-272-2540
Drug Delivery; Tissue Engineering; Nano-Medicine/Nano-Technology

Yi Hong, Ph.D., Bioengineering 

DR. YI HONG
Associate Professor

Dr. Hong Faculty profile
yihong@uta.edu | 817-272-0562
Biomaterials; Tissue Engineering; Medical Devices; Drug Delivery

Chemistry in the College of Science

DR. FRANK FOSS

DR. FRANK FOSS
Associate Professor

ffoss@uta.edu | 817-272-5245
Bioinspired Organocatalysis, Anti-Infective Small Molecule Development

DR. ROBIN MACALUSO

DR. ROBIN MACALUSO
Associate Professor

Dr. Macaluso Faculty Profile
robin.macaluso@uta.edu | 817-272-1762
Crystal growth of inetermetalics, Synthesis of novel oxynitrides

DR. KRISHNAN RAJESHWAR

DR. KRISHNAN RAJESHWAR
Distinguished University Professor

Dr. Rajeshwar Faculty profile
rajeshwar@uta.edu | 817-272-1283
Semiconductor Electrochemistry and Photocatalysis

Civil Engineering

Maria Konsta-Gdoutos, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

DR. MARIA S. KONSTA-GDOUTOS
Professor, Associate Director of the Center for Advanced Construction Materials

Faculty profile
maria.konsta@uta.edu | 817-272-2704
Member of International Academy of Engineering Structures and Materials

Electrical Engineering

Robert Magnusson, Ph.D., Electrical Engineering 

DR. ROBERT MAGNUSSON
IEEE Fellow, Texas Instruments Distinguished University Chair in Nanoelectronics

Dr. Magnusson Faculty profile
magnusson@uta.edu | 817-272-2552
Nanophotonics, Nanoelectronics, Nanoplasmonics, Nanolasers, Optical Bio- and Chemical Sensors

Michael Vasilyev, Ph.D., Electrical Engineering 

DR. MICHAEL VASILYEV
Professor

Dr. Vasilyev Faculty profile
vasilyev@uta.edu | 817-272-1224
Nonlinear and Quantum Optics, Optical Communication Systems and Devices, Nanophotonics.

Weidong Zhou, Ph.D., Electrical Engineering 

DR. WEIDONG ZHOU
SPIE Fellow, OSA Fellow, Distinguished University Professor

Dr. Zhou Faculty profile
wzhou@uta.edu | 817-272-1227
Optoelectronic Materials and Devices; Photonic Crystal Semiconductor Lasers, Integrated Nanophotonics.

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Amir Ameri, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace
            Engineering 

DR. AMIR AMERI
Assistant Professor

Dr. Ameri Faculty profile
amir.ameri@uta.edu | 817-272-11286
Product design and optimization, additive manufacturing, mechanics of materials, failure analysis, surface treatments, coatings, corrosion, advanced materials, biodegradable composites, medical implants, and finite element analysis.

Michael Bozlar, Ph.D., Department of Mechanical and
            Aerospace Engineering 

DR. MICHAEL BOZLAR
Assistant Professor

Dr. Bozlar Faculty profile
bozlar@uta.edu | 817-272-9424
Nano materials, synthesis and characterization; polymer composites; additive manufacturing; energy storage; CO2 capture and chemical conversion; water treatment and harvesting; bio engineering.

Haiying Huang, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

DR. HAIYING HUANG
Professor

Dr. Huang Faculty profile
huang@uta.edu | 817-272-0563
Health monitoring of structures and human, wireless microwave sensors, optical fiber sensors, ultrasound, non-destructive evaluation, solid mechanics, fatigue and fracture.

Physics in the College of Science

DR. J. PING LIU,

DR. J. PING LIU,
Distinguished Professor

Faculty profile
pliu@uta.edu | 817-272-2815
Nanostructured Magnetic Materials

JOSEPH NGAI

Dr. JOSEPH NGAI
Associate Professor

Dr. Ngai Faculty profile
jngai@uta.edu | 817-272-2032
Fundamental and Applied Research of Oxide Materials

Alex Weiss, PhD

Dr. Alex Weiss
Distinguished Professor

Dr. Weiss Faculty profile
weiss@uta.edu | 817-272-2459
Condensed Matter Physics

Qiming Zhang

Dr. Qiming Zhang
Professor

Dr. Zhang Faculty profile
zhang@uta.edu | 817-272-2020
Condensed Matter Theory

Kinesiology in the College of Nursing and Health Innovations

Dr. Venu Gopal Varanasi

Dr. Venu Gopal Varanasi
Associate Professor

Faculty profile
Venu.varanasi@uta.edu | Dr. Varanasi Research Lab
In situ bioprinting, semiconductor biomaterials, antioxidant biomaterials, craniofacial and orthopaedic surgery.

Administration

Dr. Efstathios "Stathis" Meletis
Department Chair
817-272-2559
meletis@uta.edu

Graduate Applicants