Faculty in Civil Engineering

Ali Abolmaali, Ph.D., Civil Engineering

Dr. Ali Abolmaali, P.E.,
Dr. Tseng Huang Endowed Professor and Department Chair

Dr. Abolmaali Faculty Profile
abolmaali@uta.edu
817-272-5055
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
Office: NH 423

James Williams, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. James C. Williams, P.E,
Professor, Associate Chair

Dr. Williams Faculty Profile
jimwilliams@uta.edu
817-272-2894
Transportation Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Office: NH 435

Habib Ahmari, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Habib Ahmari, P.E.,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Ahmari Faculty Profile
habib.ahmari@uta.edu
817-272-6588
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D., Queen's University
Office: NH 248C

Warda Ashraf 

Dr. Warda Ashraf,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Ashraf Faculty Profile
warda.ashraf@uta.edu
817-272-3408
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Purdue University
Office: NH 405

Raad Azzawi 

Dr. Raad Azzawi, P.E.,
Associate Professor of Instruction

Dr. Azzawi Faculty Profile
azzawi@uta.edu
817-272-1770
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Baghdad University
Office: ERB 122

Arpita Bhatt 

Dr. Arpita Bhatt,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Bhatt Faculty Profile
arpita.bhatt@uta.edu
817-272-6259

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: ERB 454

Recep Birgul 

Dr. Recep Birgul,
Associate Professor of Instruction

Dr. Birgul Faculty Profile
recep.birgul@uta.edu
817-272-3414

Office: ERB 454

Simon Chao, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Shih-Ho Chao, P.E.,
Professor

Dr. Chao Faculty Profile
shchao@uta.edu
817-272-2550
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Office: NH 407

Hyeok Choi, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Hyeok Choi,
Associate Professor and Area Coordinator

Dr. Choi Faculty Profile
hchoi@uta.edu
817-272-5116
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Office: NH 437

Ernest Crosby 

Dr. Ernest Crosby,
Graduate Advising

Dr. Crosby Faculty Profile
ecrosby@uta.edu
817-272-3500
Undergraduate Advisor Architectural Engineering
Graduate Advisor Master of Construction Management
Ph.D., University of Tennessee
Office: NH 417

Guatam Eapi 

Dr. Guatam Eapi, P.E.,
Graduate Advising

Dr. Eapi Faculty Profile
gautam.eapi@uta.edu
817-272-3760
Undergraduate Transfer Advising
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: NH 417

Jessica Eisma, Civil Engineering 

Dr. Jessica Eisma
Assistant Professor

Michael Fairchild 

Michael Fairchild, AIA,
Professor of Practice

Mr. Fairchild Faculty Profile
michaelf@uta.edu
817-272-0650
Undergraduate Advisor, B.S. in Construction Management
Master of Architecture, The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: NH 340

Nick Fang, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Nick Z. Fang, P.E.,
Associate Professor

Dr. Fang Faculty Profile
nickfang@uta.edu
817-272-5334
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D., Rice University
Office: NH 431

Mostafa Ghandehari 

Dr. Mostafa Ghandehari, P.E.,
Distinguished Senior Lecturer

Dr. Ghandehari Faculty Profile
ghandeha@uta.edu
817-272-5688
General Civil Engineering
Ph.D., University of California at Davis
Office: ERB 312

Suyun Ham, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Suyun Ham,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Ham Faculty Profile
suyun.ham@uta.edu| 817-272-5217
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Office: NH 433

Md. Sahadat Hossain, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Sahadat Hossain, P.E.,
Professor and Area Coordinator

Dr. Hossain Faculty Profile
hossain@uta.edu
817-272-3577
Geotechnical Engineering, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., North Carolina State University
Office: NH 404

Laureano Hoyos, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Laureano Hoyos, P.E.,
Professor

Dr. Hoyos Faculty Profile
lhoyos@uta.edu
817-272-3879
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Office: NH 441

Michelle Hummel, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Michelle Hummel,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Hummel Faculty Profile
michelle.hummel@uta.edu
817-272-6485
Water Infrastructure
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Office: NH 430

Kate Hyun, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Kyung Kate Hyun,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Hyun Faculty Profile
kate.hyun@uta.edu \\ 817-272-9748
Transportation Engineering, Smart Cities
Ph.D., University of California Irvine
Office: NH 432

 Himan Jalali, Ph.D., Civil Engineering

Dr. Himan Hojat Jalali,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Jalali Faculty Profile
himan.jalali@uta.edu
817-272-6898
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Sharif University of Technology
Office: ERB 453

Vistasp Karbari 

Dr. Vistasp M. Karbhari,
Professor

Dr. Vistasp M. Karbhari Faculty Profile
vkarbhari@uta.edu
817-272-5903
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., University of Delaware

Vinayak Kaushal, Civil Engineering 

Dr. Vinayak Kaushal, PACP
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Kaushal Faculty Profile
vinayak.kaushal@uta.edu
817-272-5055
Construction Engineering and Management, Pipelines Trenchless Technology
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: NH 419

Sharareh Kermanshachi, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Sharareh Kermanshachi,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Kermanshachi Faculty Profile
sharareh.kermanshachi@uta.edu
817-272-6704
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D., Texas A&M University
Office: NH 438

Maria Konsta-Gdoutos, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Maria S. Konsta-Gdoutos,
Professor and Associate Director, Center for Advanced Construction Materials

Dr. Konsta-Gdoutos Faculty Profile
maria.konsta@uta.edu
817-272-2704
Member of International Academy of Engineering
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
Office: ELB 334

Andrew Kruzic, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Andrew Kruzic, P.E.,
Associate Professor

Dr. Kruzic Faculty Profile
kruzic@uta.edu
817-272-3822
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., University of California at Davis
Office: NH 403

Pengfei "Taylor" Li, Civil Engineering 

Dr. Pengfei (Taylor) Li,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Li Faculty Profile
pengfei.li@uta.edu
817-272-3416

Transportation Engineering
Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Office: ERB 352

Steven Mattingly, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Stephen P. Mattingly,
Professor and Area Coordinator

Dr. Mattingly Faculty Profile
mattingly@uta.edu
817-272-2859
Transportation Engineering, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., University of California at Irvine
Office: NH 434

Mohammad Najafi, Ph.D., CIvil Engineering 

Dr. Mohammad Najafi, P.E.,
Associate Professor

Dr. Najafi Faculty Profile
najafi@uta.edu
817-272-0507
Pipelines Trenchless Technology: New Installations, Renewal and Asset Mgmt.
Coordinator of Construction Engineering and Management Graduate Program Ph.D., Louisiana Tech University
Office: NH 428

June Young Park, Civil Engineering 

Dr. June Young Park
Assistant Professor

Nillofar Parsaeifard, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Niloofar Parsaeifard
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Parsaeifard Faculty Profile

Srinivas Prabakar  

Dr. Srinivas Prabakar,
Associate Professor of Instruction

Dr. Prabakar Faculty Profile
prabakar@uta.edu
817-272-7590
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: NH 401

Stefan Romanoschi, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Stefan A. Romanoschi, P.E.,
Professor and Area Coordinator

Dr. Romanoschi Faculty Profile
romanoschi@uta.edu
817-272-0340
Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., Louisana State University
Office: NH 408

Kyeong Rok Ryu, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Kyeong Rok Ryu,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Ryu Faculty Profile
kyeongrok.ryu@uta.edu
817-272-9378
Ph.D., Texas A&M University
Office: ERB 346

Samantha Sabatino, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Samantha Sabatino,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Sabatino Faculty Profile
samantha.sabatino@uta.edu| 817-272-9747
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Lehigh University
Office: NH 402

Melanie Sattler, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Melanie L. Sattler, P.E.,
Professor, Syed Qasim Endowed Professor

Dr. Sattler Faculty Profile
msattler@uta.edu
817-272-5410
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Office: NH 406

DJ Seo, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Dong-Jun (DJ) Seo,
Robert S. Gooch Professor of Water Resources Engineering, Professor and Area Coordinator

Dr. Seo Faculty Profile
djseo@uta.edu
817-272-5063
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D., Utah State University
Office: NH 248B

Surendra Shah, Ph.D., NAE, Civil Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering 

Dr. Surendra P. Shah, Member of National Academy of Engineering,
Director, Center for Advanced Construction Materials

Dr. Shah Faculty Profile
surendra.shah@uta.edu
817-272-5055
Presidential Distinguished Professor of Civil Engineering
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Cornell University
Office: ELB 335

Mohsen Shahandashti, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Mohsen Shahandashti, P.E.,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Shahandashti Faculty Profile
mohsen@uta.edu
817-272-0440
Construction Engineering and Management, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Office: NH 436

Bijan Shapoorian 

Bijan Shapoorian,
Coordinator and Advisor

Mr. Shapoorian Faculty Profile
bijan.shapoorian@uta.edu
817-272-9750
Bachelor of Construction Management
Master of Architecture, University of Oklahoma
Master of City Planning, University of Oklahoma
Office: NH 426

Kathleen Smits, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Kathleen Smits,
Associate Professor

Dr. Smits Faculty Profile
kathleen.smits@uta.edu
817-272-6486
Water Research Engineering

Ph.D., Colorado School of Mines
Office: ERB 329

Razieh Tavakoli 

Dr. Razieh Tavakoli,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Tavakoli Faculty Profile
razieh.tavakoli@mavs.uta.edu
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: ERB 123

Nilo Tsung 

Dr. Nilo Tsung, P.E.,
Associate Professor of Instruction

Dr. Tsung Faculty Profile
nilo.tsung@uta.edu
817-272-6899
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D., The University of Colorado at Boulder
Office: ERB 123

Nur Yazdani, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Nur Yazdani, P.E.,
Professor

Dr. Yazdani Faculty Profile
yazdani@uta.edu
817-272-0676
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., University of Maryland at College Park
Office: NH 439

Xinbao Yu, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Xinbao Yu, P.E.,
Associate Professor

Dr. Yu Faculty Profile
xinbao@uta.edu
817-272-1243
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University
Office: NH 429

Michael Zaretsky, Civil Engineering 

Michael Zaretsky,
Associate Professor

Mr. Zaretsky Faculty Profile
michael.zaretsky@uta.edu
817-272-6487
Director of Architectural Engineering Program
Masters of Architecture
Office: NH 440

Yu Zhang, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Yu Zhang,
Associate Professor

Dr. Zhang Faculty Profile
yu.zhang@uta.edu
817-272-1874
Hydrology and Water Resources
Ph.D. Princeton University
Office: ERB 427

Administration

Dr. Ali Abolmaali, P.E.
Dr. Tseng Huang Endowed Professor and Department Chair
NH 423 | 817-272-5055
abolmaali@uta.edu

Dr. James C. Williams, P.E.
Professor and Associate Chair
NH 435 | 817-272-2894
jimwilliams@uta.edu

Undergraduate Applicants

Graduate Applicants