Faculty in Civil Engineering

Ali Abolmaali, Ph.D., Civil Engineering

Dr. Ali Abolmaali, P.E.,
Dr. Tseng Huang Endowed Professor and Department Chair

Dr. Ali Abolmaali Faculty Profile
abolmaali@uta.edu | 817-272-5055
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
Office: NH 423

James Williams, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. James C. Williams, P.E,
Professor, Associate Chair

Dr. James C. Williams Faculty Profile
jimwilliams@uta.edu | 817-272-2894
Transportation Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Office: NH 435

Habib Ahmari, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Habib Ahmari, P.E.,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Habib Ahmari Faculty Profile
habib.ahmari@uta.edu | 817-272-6588
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D., Queen's University
Office: NH 248C

Warda Ashraf 

Dr. Warda Ashraf,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Warda Ashraf Faculty Profile
warda.ashraf@uta.edu | 817-272-3408
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Purdue University
Office: NH 405

Raad Azzawi 

Dr. Raad Azzawi, P.E.,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Raad Azzawi Faculty Profile
azzawi@uta.edu | 817-272-1770
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Baghdad University
Office: ERB 122

Arpita Bhatt 

Dr. Arpita Bhatt,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Arpita Bhatt Faculty Profile
arpita.bhatt@uta.edu | 817-272-6259
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: ERB 454

Recep Birgul 

Dr. Recep Birgul,
Associate Professor of Instruction

Dr. Recep Birgul Faculty Profile
recep.birgul@uta.edu | 817-272-3414
Office: ERB 454

Simon Chao, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Shih-Ho Chao, P.E.,
Professor

Dr. Shih-Ho Chao Faculty Profile
shchao@uta.edu | 817-272-2550
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Office: NH 407

Hyeok Choi, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Hyeok Choi,
Associate Professor and Area Coordinator

Dr. Hyeok Choi Faculty Profile
hchoi@uta.edu | 817-272-5116
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Office: NH 437

Ernest Crosby 

Dr. Ernest Crosby,
Graduate Advising

Dr. Ernest Crosby Faculty Profile
ecrosby@uta.edu | 817-272-3500
Undergraduate Advisor Architectural Engineering
Graduate Advisor Master of Construction Management
Ph.D., University of Tennessee
Office: NH 417

Guatam Eapi 

Dr. Guatam Eapi, P.E.,
Graduate Advising

Dr. Guatam Eapi Faculty Profile
gautam.eapi@uta.edu | 817-272-3760
Undergraduate Transfer Advising
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: NH 417

Michael Fairchild 

Michael Fairchild, AIA,
Associate Professor of Practice

Michael Fairchild Faculty Profile
michaelf@uta.edu | 817-272-0650
Undergraduate Advisor, B.S. in Construction Management
Master of Architecture, The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: NH 340

Nick Fang, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Nick Z. Fang, P.E.,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Nick Z. Fang Faculty Profile
nickfang@uta.edu | 817-272-5334
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D., Rice University
Office: NH 431

Mostafa Ghandehari 

Dr. Mostafa Ghandehari, P.E.,
Distinguished Senior Lecturer

Dr. Mostafa Ghandehari Faculty Profile
ghandeha@uta.edu | 817-272-5688
General Civil Engineering
Ph.D., University of California at Davis
Office: ERB 312

Suyun Ham, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Suyun Ham,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Suyun Ham Faculty Profile
suyun.ham@uta.edu| 817-272-5217
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Office: NH 433

Md. Sahadat Hossain, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Sahadat Hossain, P.E.,
Professor and Area Coordinator

Dr. Sahadat Hossain Faculty Profile
hossain@uta.edu | 817-272-3577
Geotechnical Engineering, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., North Carolina State University
Office: NH 404

Laureano Hoyos, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Laureano Hoyos, P.E.,
Professor

Dr. Laureano Hoyos Faculty Profile
lhoyos@uta.edu | 817-272-3879
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Office: NH 441

Michelle Hummel, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Michelle Hummel,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Michelle Hummel Faculty Profile
michelle.hummel@uta.edu | 817-272-6485
Water Infrastructure
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Office: NH 430

Kate Hyun, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Kyung Kate Hyun,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Kyung Kate Hyun Faculty Profile
kate.hyun@uta.edu \\ 817-272-9748
Transportation Engineering, Smart Cities
Ph.D., University of California Irvine
Office: NH 432

 Himan Jalali, Ph.D., Civil Engineering

Dr. Himan Hojat Jalali,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Himan Hojat Jalali Faculty Profile
himan.jalali@uta.edu | 817-272-6898
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Sharif University of Technology
Office: ERB 453

Vistasp Karbari 

Dr. Vistasp M. Karbhari,
Professor

Dr. Vistasp M. Karbhari Faculty Profile
vkarbhari@uta.edu | 817-272-5903
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., University of Delaware

Sharareh Kermanshachi, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Sharareh Kermanshachi,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Sharareh Kermanshachi Faculty Profile
sharareh.kermanshachi@uta.edu | 817-272-6704
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D., Texas A&M University
Office: NH 438

Maria Konsta-Gdoutos, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Maria S. Konsta-Gdoutos,
Professor and Associate Director, Center for Advanced Construction Materials

Dr. Maria S. Konsta-Gdoutos Faculty Profile
maria.konsta@uta.edu | 817-272-2704
Member of International Academy of Engineering
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
Office: ELB 334

Andrew Kruzic, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Andrew Kruzic, P.E.,
Associate Professor

Dr. Andrew Kruzic Faculty Profile
kruzic@uta.edu | 817-272-3822
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., University of California at Davis
Office: NH 403

Pengfei "Taylor" Li, Civil Engineering 

Dr. Pengfei (Taylor) Li,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Pengfei (Taylor) Li Faculty Profile
pengfei.li@uta.edu | 817-272-3416
Transportation Engineering
Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Office: ERB 352

Steven Mattingly, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Stephen P. Mattingly,
Professor and Area Coordinator

Dr. Stephen P. Mattingly Faculty Profile
mattingly@uta.edu | 817-272-2859
Transportation Engineering, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., University of California at Irvine
Office: NH 434

Mohammad Najafi, Ph.D., CIvil Engineering 

Dr. Mohammad Najafi, P.E.,
Professor-in-Practice and Coordinator of Construction Engineering and Management Master's Program

Dr. Mohammad Najafi Faculty Profile
najafi@uta.edu | 817-272-0507
Pipelines Trenchless Technology: New Installations Asset Mgmt.
Ph.D., Louisiana Tech University
Office: NH 428

Srinivas Prabakar  

Dr. Srinivas Prabakar,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Srinivas Prabakar Faculty Profile
prabakar@uta.edu | 817-272-7590
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: NH 401

Stefan Romanoschi, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Stefan A. Romanoschi, P.E.,
Professor and Area Coordinator

Dr. Stefan A. Romanoschi Faculty Profile
romanoschi@uta.edu | 817-272-0340
Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., Louisana State University
Office: NH 408

Kyeong Rok Ryu, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Kyeong Rok (Chris) Ryu,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Kyeong Rok (Chris) Ryu Faculty Profile
kyeongrok.ryu@uta.edu | 817-272-9378
Ph.D., Texas A&M University
Office: ERB 346

Samantha Sabatino, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Samantha Sabatino,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Samantha Sabatino Faculty Profile
samantha.sabatino@uta.edu| 817-272-9747
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Lehigh University
Office: NH 402

Melanie Sattler, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Melanie L. Sattler, P.E.,
Professor, Syed Qasim Endowed Professor

Dr. Melanie L. Sattler Faculty Profile
msattler@uta.edu | 817-272-5410
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Office: NH 406

DJ Seo, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Dong-Jun (DJ) Seo,
Robert S. Gooch Professor of Water Resources Engineering, Professor and Area Coordinator

Dr. Dong-Jun (DJ) Seo Faculty Profile
djseo@uta.edu | 817-272-5063
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D., Utah State University
Office: NH 248B

Surendra Shah, Ph.D., NAE, Civil Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering 

Dr. Surendra P. Shah, Member of National Academy of Engineering,
Director, Center for Advanced Construction Materials

Dr. Surendra P. Shah Faculty Profile
surendra.shah@uta.edu | 817-272-5055
Presidential Distinguished Professor of Civil Engineering
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Cornell University
Office: ELB 335

Mohsen Shahandashti, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Mohsen Shahandashti, P.E.,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Mohsen Shahandashti Faculty Profile
mohsen@uta.edu | 817-272-0440
Construction Engineering and Management, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Office: NH 436

Bijan Shapoorian 

Bijan Shapoorian,
Coordinator and Advisor

Bijan Shapoorian Faculty Profile
bijan.shapoorian@uta.edu | 817-272-9750
Bachelor of Construction Management
Master of Architecture, University of Oklahoma
Master of City Planning, University of Oklahoma
Office: NH 426

Kathleen Smits, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Kathleen Smits,
Associate Professor

Dr. Kathleen Smits Faculty Profile
kathleen.smits@uta.edu | 817-272-6486
Water Research Engineering

Ph.D., Colorado School of Mines
Office: ERB 329

Razieh Tavakoli 

Dr. Razieh Tavakoli,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Razieh Tavakoli Faculty Profile
razieh.tavakoli@mavs.uta.edu | PHONE
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: ERB 123

Nilo Tsung 

Dr. Nilo Tsung, P.E.,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Nilo Tsung Faculty Profile
nilo.tsung@uta.edu | 817-272-6899
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D., The University of Colorado at Boulder
Office: ERB 123

Nur Yazdani, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Nur Yazdani, P.E.,
Professor

Dr. Nur Yazdani Faculty Profile
yazdani@uta.edu | 817-272-0676
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., University of Maryland at College Park
Office: NH 439

Xinbao Yu, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Xinbao Yu, P.E.,
Associate Professor

Dr. Xinbao Yu Faculty Profile
xinbao@uta.edu | 817-272-1243
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University
Office: NH 429

Michael Zaretsky, Civil Engineering 

Michael Zaretsky,
Associate Professor

Michael Zaretsky Faculty Profile
michael.zaretsky@uta.edu | 817-272-6487
Director of Architectural Engineering Program
Masters of Architecture
Office: NH 440

Yu Zhang, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Yu Zhang,
Associate Professor

Dr. Yu Zhang Faculty Profile
yu.zhang@uta.edu | 817-272-1874
Hydrology and Water Resources
Ph.D. Princeton University
Office: ERB 427

Administration

Dr. Ali Abolmaali, P.E.
Dr. Tseng Huang Endowed Professor and Department Chair
NH 423 | 817-272-5055
abolmaali@uta.edu

Dr. James C. Williams, P.E.
Professor and Associate Chair
NH 435 | 817-272-2894
jimwilliams@uta.edu

Undergraduate Applicants

Graduate Applicants