Faculty in Civil Engineering

Melanie Sattler, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Melanie L. Sattler, P.E.,
Syed Qasim Endowed Professor, Interim Chair

Dr. Sattler Faculty Profile
msattler@uta.edu
817-272-5410
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Office: NH 422

Habib Ahmari, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Habib Ahmari, P.E.,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Ahmari Faculty Profile
habib.ahmari@uta.edu
817-272-6588
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D., Queen's University
Office: NH 406

Abeer Omar Kamel Almughrabi 

Dr. Abeer Omar Kamel Almughrabi,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Almughrabi Profile
abeer.almughrabi@uta.edu
817-272-1873
Urban Planning
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: NH 330

Warda Ashraf 

Dr. Warda Ashraf,
Associate Professor

Dr. Ashraf Faculty Profile
warda.ashraf@uta.edu
817-272-3408
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., Purdue University
Office: NH 405

Raad Azzawi, Civil Engineering 

Dr. Raad Azzawi, P.E.,
Associate Professor of Instruction

Dr. Azzawi Faculty Profile, MBA,P.E.
azzawi@uta.edu
817-272-1770
Structures and Applied Mechanics
Ph.D., Baghdad University
Office: NH 337

Juan Antonio Balderrama 

Dr. Juan Antonio Balderrama,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Juan Antonio Balderrama Profile
juan.balderrama@uta.edu
817-272-3761

Architectural Engineering
Ph.D., University of Florida
Office: NH 333

Arpita Bhatt 

Dr. Arpita Bhatt,
Associate Professor of Instruction

Dr. Bhatt Faculty Profile
arpita.bhatt@uta.edu
817-272-6259
General Civil, Environmental
Ph.D., UTA
Office: NH 336

Simon Chao, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Shih-Ho Chao, P.E.,
ACPA Tom Wheelan Endowed Professor and Area Coordinator

Dr. Chao Faculty Profile
shchao@uta.edu
817-272-2550
Structures and Applied Mechanics
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Structures
Office: NH 407

Hyeok Choi, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Hyeok Choi,
Associate Professor and Area Coordinator - Enviornmental

Dr. Choi Faculty Profile
hchoi@uta.edu
817-272-5116
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Environmental
Office: NH 437

Ernest Crosby 

Dr. Ernest Crosby,
Adjunct Professor

Dr. Crosby Faculty Profile
ecrosby@uta.edu
817-272-3500
Ph.D., University of Tennessee
Office: NH 420

Guatam Eapi 

Dr. Gautam Eapi, P.E.,
Associate Professor of Instruction

Dr. Eapi Faculty Profile
gautam.eapi@uta.edu
817-272-3760
Graduate Advising
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: NH 419

Jessica Eisma, Civil Engineering 

Dr. Jessica Eisma
Assistant Professor

Dr. Eisma Faculty Profile
jessica.eisma@uta.edu
Water Resources
817-272-7122
Ph.D., Purdue University
Office: NH 401

Photo Unavailable 

Dr. Tamer Eljufout
Assistant Professor of Instruction

tamer.eljufout@uta.edu
817-272-6836
Ph.D., Western Michigan University
Office: NH 313         

Michael Fairchild 

Michael Fairchild, AIA,
Professor of Practice

Mr. Fairchild Faculty Profile
michaelf@uta.edu
817-272-0650
B.S. in Construction Management
Master of Architecture, UTA
Office: NH 426

Nick Fang, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Nick Z. Fang, P.E.,
Associate Professor, Robert S. Gooch Endowed Faculty Fellow

Dr. Fang Faculty Profile
nickfang@uta.edu
817-272-5334
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D., Rice University
Office: NH 431

Dr. Nelson Gomez-Torres, Civil Engineering

Dr. Nelson Gomez-Torres,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Nelson Gomez-Torres Faculty Profile
nrgomez@uta.edu
817-272-3736
Transportation
Ph.D., University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez
Office: NH 331

Suyun Ham, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Suyun Ham,
Associate Professor

Dr. Ham Faculty Profile
suyun.ham@uta.edu
817-272-5217
Structures and Applied Mechanics
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Office: NH 433

Md. Sahadat Hossain, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Sahadat Hossain, P.E.,
Professor and Area Coordinator - Geotechnical

Dr. Hossain Faculty Profile
hossain@uta.edu
817-272-3577
Geotechnical Engineering, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., North Carolina State University
Office: NH 404

Laureano Hoyos, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Laureano Hoyos, P.E.,
Professor

Dr. Hoyos Faculty Profile
lhoyos@uta.edu
817-272-3879
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Office: NH 441

Michelle Hummel, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Michelle Hummel,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Hummel Faculty Profile
michelle.hummel@uta.edu
817-272-6485
Water Infrastructure
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Office: NH 430

Kate Hyun, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Kyung Kate Hyun,
Associate Professor

Dr. Hyun Faculty Profile
kate.hyun@uta.edu
817-272-9748
Transportation Engineering, Smart Cities
Ph.D., University of California Irvine
Office: NH 432

 Dr. Md. Azijul Islam, Civil Engineering

Dr. Azijul Islam,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Islam's Faculty Profile
817-272-2203
mdazijul.islam@uta.edu
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office: NH 222

 Himan Jalali, Ph.D., Civil Engineering

Dr. Himan Hojat Jalali,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Jalali Faculty Profile
himan.jalali@uta.edu
817-272-6898
Structures and Applied Mechanics
Ph.D., Sharif University of Technology
Office: NH 338

Vistasp Karbari 

Dr. Vistasp M. Karbhari,
Professor

Dr. Vistasp M. Karbhari Faculty Profile
vkarbhari@uta.edu
817-272-5903
Structures and Materials
Ph.D., University of Delaware
Office: NH 440

Vinayak Kaushal, Civil Engineering 

Dr. Vinayak Kaushal, PACP
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Kaushal Faculty Profile
vinayak.kaushal@uta.edu
817-272-5055
Construction Engineering and Management, Pipelines Trenchless Technology
Ph.D., UTA
Office: NH 335

Sharareh Kermanshachi, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Sharareh Kermanshachi,
Associate Professor

Dr. Kermanshachi Faculty Profile
sharareh.kermanshachi@uta.edu
817-272-6704
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D., Texas A&M University
Office: NH 438

Maria Konsta-Gdoutos, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Maria S. Konsta-Gdoutos,
Professor and Associate Director, Center for Advanced Construction Materials; Area Coordinator

Dr. Konsta-Gdoutos Faculty Profile
maria.konsta@uta.edu
817-272-2704
Member of International Academy of Engineering
Materials and Structures
Ph.D., Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
Office: ELB 334

Pengfei "Taylor" Li, Civil Engineering 

Dr. Pengfei (Taylor) Li,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Li Faculty Profile
pengfei.li@uta.edu
817-272-3416

Transportation Engineering
Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Office: ERB 403

Dr. Karthikeyan Loganathan

Dr. Karthikeyan Loganathan,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Loganathan Faculty Profile
karthikeyan.loganathan@uta.edu
817-272-2201
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
NH 419

Steven Mattingly, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Stephen P. Mattingly,
Professor and Area Coordinator - Transportation

Dr. Mattingly Faculty Profile
mattingly@uta.edu
817-272-2859
Transportation Engineering, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., University of California at Irvine
Office: NH 434

Mohammad Najafi, Ph.D., CIvil Engineering 

Dr. Mohammad Najafi, P.E.,
Associate Professor and Coordinator of Masters of Construction Management.

Dr. Najafi Faculty Profile
najafi@uta.edu
817-272-0507
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D., Louisiana Tech University
Office: NH 428

June Young Park, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. June Young Park
Assistant Professor

Dr. Park Faculty Profile
june.park@uta.edu
817-272-5029
Architectural Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Office: NH 332

Nillofar Parsaeifard, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Niloofar Parsaeifard
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Parsaeifard Faculty Profile
nilofar.parsaeifard@uta.edu
General Civil
Ph.D., The Univeristy of Texas at Arlington
Office: NH339

Srinivas Prabakar  

Dr. Srinivas Prabakar,
Associate Professor of Instruction

Dr. Prabakar Faculty Profile
prabakar@uta.edu
817-272-7590
Associate Professor of Instruction
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., UTA
Office: NH 401

Stefan Romanoschi, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Stefan A. Romanoschi, P.E.,
Professor and Area Coordinator - Infrastructure

Dr. Romanoschi Faculty Profile
romanoschi@uta.edu
817-272-0340
Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., Louisana State University
Office: NH 408

Kyeong Rok Ryu, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Kyeong Rok Ryu,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Ryu Faculty Profile
kyeongrok.ryu@uta.edu
817-272-9378
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D., Texas A&M University
Office: NH 334

Surendra Shah, Ph.D., NAE, Civil Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering 

Dr. Surendra P. Shah, Member of National Academy of Engineering,
Director, Center for Advanced Construction Materials

Dr. Shah Faculty Profile
surendra.shah@uta.edu
817-272-5055
Presidential Distinguished Professor of Civil Engineering
Materials and Structures
Ph.D., Cornell University

Mohsen Shahandashti, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Mohsen Shahandashti, P.E.,
Associate Professor, Coordinator of Masters of Construction Engineering and Management

Dr. Shahandashti Faculty Profile
mohsen@uta.edu
817-272-0440
Construction Engineering and Management, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Office: NH 436

Bijan Shapoorian

Bijan Shapoorian,
Coordinator and Advisor, Bachelors of Construction Management

Mr. Shapoorian Faculty Profile
bijan.shapoorian@uta.edu
817-272-9750
Bachelors of Construction Management, Construction Engineering and Management
Office: Virtual

Nilo Tsung

Dr. Nilo Tsung, P.E.,
Associate Professor of Instruction

Dr. Tsung Faculty Profile
nilo.tsung@uta.edu
817-272-6899
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D., The University of Colorado at Boulder
Office: NH 340

Nur Yazdani, Ph.D., Civil Engineering

Dr. Nur Yazdani, P.E.,
Professor

Dr. Yazdani Faculty Profile
yazdani@uta.edu
817-272-0676
Structures and Applied Mechanics
Ph.D., University of Maryland at College Park
Office: NH 439

Dr. Zhe Yin, P.E., Department of Civil Engineering

Dr. Zhe Yin, P.E.,
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Zhe Yin's Faculty Profile
zhe.yin@uta.edu
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D.,The University of Texas at Austin
Office: NH 307

Xinbao Yu, Ph.D., Civil Engineering

Dr. Xinbao Yu, P.E.,
Professor

Dr. Yu Faculty Profile
xinbao@uta.edu
817-272-1243
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University
Office: NH 429

Yu Zhang, Ph.D., Civil Engineering

Dr. Yu Zhang,
Associate Professor, Area Coordinator - Water Resources

Dr. Zhang Faculty Profile
yu.zhang@uta.edu
817-272-1874
Hydrology and Water Resources
Ph.D. Princeton University
Office: NH 339

Photo Unavailable 

Dr. Jinzhu Yu
Assistant Professor

jinzhu.yu@uta.edu
817-272-6814
Transportation Engineering
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Office: NH 308

Recently Retired

Andrew Kruzic, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Andrew Kruzic, P.E.,
Associate Professor (Retired)

Dr. Kruzic Faculty Profile
kruzic@uta.edu
817-272-3822
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D., University of California at Davis
Office: NH 219

DJ Seo, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Dong-Jun (DJ) Seo,
Robert S. Gooch Professor of Water Resources Engineering, Professor - Emeritus

Dr. Seo Faculty Profile
djseo@uta.edu
817-272-5063
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D., Utah State University

James Williams, Ph.D., Civil Engineering

Dr. James C. Williams, P.E,
Professor (Retired)

Dr. Williams Faculty Profile
jimwilliams@uta.edu
817-272-2894
Transportation Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Office: NH 219

Administration

Dr. Melanie Sattler, P.E.
Dr. Syed Qasim Endowed Professor and Interim Chair
NH 406 | 817-272-5410
msattler@uta.edu

Civil Engineering Staff

Undergraduate Applicants

Graduate Applicants