Faculty

Faculty and Staff

Joseph Boll

Assistant Professor

Joseph Boll

Email: joseph.boll@uta.edu

Office: SEIR 342

Research: My laboratory uses various molecular and bioinformatics approaches to study antibiotic resistance in nosocomial pathogens. We also utilize high-throughput sequencing and computational analysis to screen and develop alternative therapeutics to fight multidrug resistant pathogens

Todd Castoe

Associate Professor

Todd Castoe

Email: todd.castoe@uta.edu

Office: ERB 433

Research: Genomics, population genetics, bioinformatics

Yujie Chi

Assistant Professor

Yujie Chi

Email: yujie.chi@uta.edu

Office: SEIR 325B

Research: My research group is interested in employing GPU-based Monte Carlo simulation, AI-based methods and mathematical modeling to study the radiation-induced biological effects, relevant hardware design and clinic-oriented problem, like motion management in radiotherapy.

Saiful Chowdhury

Associate Chowdhury

Saiful Chowdhury

Email: schowd@uta.edu

Office: CPB 352

Research: The focus of our research is developing mass spectrometry-based proteomics technology, bio-markers discovery in inflammatory diseases using quantitative proteomics, system-level protein-protein/protein ligand interactions and protein posttranslational modifications. Our lab also develops bioinformatcs software tool for novel mass spectrometry-based proteomics technology.

Scott Coleman

Assistant Professor

Email: scottc@uta.edu

Office: LS 416

Research: Experimental psychology methods and statistics; Experimental analysis of behavior

Jeffery Demuth

Associate Professor

Jeffery Demuth

Email: jpdemuth@uta.edu

Office: ERB 430

Research: We use a variety of molecular and bioinformatics approaches to study the evolution of genes, genomes and organisms. Since the growing wealth of genomic data poses exciting opportunities as well as unique challenges, much of our research is integrated with the development of computational tools necessary to analyze evolutionary hypotheses on a genomic scale.

Amir Farbin

Associate Professor

Amir Farbin

Email: afarbin@uta.edu

Office: CPB 340

Research: High Energy Physics, including the ATLAS experiment at CERN, where I work with the Tile Calorimeter group and the Computing group

Luke Frishkoff

Assistant Professor

Luke Frishkoff

Email: luke.frishkoff@uta.edu

Office: LS B28

Research: population and community modeling, phylogenetic comparative methods, global change

James Grover

Professor

James Grover

Email: grover@uta.edu

Office: LS 468

Research: My research on aquatic ecosystems uses mathematical and statistical methods to simulate and predict the abundance and dynamics of natural populations, especially harmful algae

Keaton Hamm

Assistant Professor

Keaton Hamm

Email: keaton.hamm@uta.edu

Office: PKH 417

Research: Mathematical Data Science, including interpretable dimensionality reduction, manifold learning, randomized linear algebra, signal processing, harmonic analysis, and approximation theory

Mingwu Jin

Associate Professor

Mingwu Jin

Email: mingwu@uta.edu

Office: SH 132C

Research: My research involves (1) iterative reconstruction methods for medical imaging data, such as X-ray Computed Tomography (CT), Single Photon Emission Computed Tomography (SPECT), Positron Emission Tomography (PET) and Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI); (2) spatiotemporal processing and analysis of medical data and space physics observations; and (3) machine learning methods for prediction and regression

Hristo Kojouharov

Professor

Hristo Kojouharov

Email: hristo@uta.edu

Office: PKH 403

Research: My scientific research covers the fields of mathematical biology and numerical analysis, and is strongly motivated and oriented toward applications. I am primarily interested in the accurate mathematical modeling and theoretical analysis of biological phenomena, in particular the modeling of population dynamics, microbial biofilms, bone and muscle formation and growth, and the human immune system. I am also interested in the formulation, analysis and implementation of non-standard numerical methods for solving nonlinear differential equations.

Peter Kroll

Professor

Peter Kroll

Email: pkroll@uta.edu

Office: CPB 353

Research: My group works on various challenges in materials chemistry using computational methods and tools. A major field are amorphous ceramics and glasses, elucidating structure formation and properties of disordered materials. We apply data harvesting and optimization strategies (some call this "machine learning") to compute observable parameters (e.g. NMR shielding) or to develop new reactive force-fields.

Angela Liegey-Dougall

Associate Professor

Angela Liegey-Dougall

Email: adougall@uta.edu

Office: LS 523

Research: Further activity is in high-pressure chemistry, especially in nitrogen-rich compounds. We research paths of structural phase transitions, and compute high-temperature/high-pressure phase diagrams to support experimental endeavors.

Pedro Maia, Ph.D., University of Washington, 2014

Assistant Professor

Pedro Maia

Email: pedro.maia@uta.edu

Office: SEIR 218

Area: Data Science

Suvra Pal

Assistant Professor

Suvra Pal

Email: suvra.pal@uta.edu

Office: SEIR 217

Research: The current focus of my research is to develop novel statistical models and associated estimation algorithms that will help clinicians and researchers to identify which patients are most likely to benefit from specific therapies, thereby providing important insight for optimizing treatment approaches and defining rational combination therapies.

Walter Schargel

Associate Professor of Instruction

Walter Schargel

Email: schargel@uta.edu

Office: LS 453

Research: My research focuses on phylogenetic systematics and taxonomy of neotropical amphibians and reptiles. I use multivariate and tree-based statistical methods to infer species boundaries in poorly studied taxonomic complexes.

Amber Schroeder

Assistant Professor

Amber Schroeder

Email: amber.schroeder@uta.edu

Office: LS 517

Research: My work uses statistical approaches to assess the impact of technology on workplace behavior, especially in the context of web-based job applicant screening, virtual freelance work, and online employee misbehavior.

Amir Shahmoradi

Assistant Professor

Amir Shahmoradi

Email: a.shahmoradi@uta.edu

Office: SEIR 317

Research: My research involves the development of machine learning algorithms and their applications together with probability theory in computational and data-intensive fields, including Proteomics, Biomedical Imaging, and High-Energy Astrophysics.

Shan Sun-Mitchell

Professor

Sun-Mitchell Shan

Email: shan.sun@uta.edu

Office: PKH 464

Research: My research areas include (1) nonparametric statistics (2) Asymptotic theorems (3) Statistical applications in remaining useful life estimation

Hyeong-Moo Shin

Assistant Professor

Hyeong-Moo Shin

Email: hyeongmoo.shin@uta.edu

Office: GS 217

Research: My research utilizes (1) statistical methods to find environmental risk factors of human diseases and (2) simulation techniques to predict how environmental contaminants are degraded and transported in indoor and outdoor environments.

George Siemens

Professor

George Siemens

Email: gsiemens@uta.edu

Office: NH 241

Research: sensemaking, cognition, AI/HI integration, analytics methods and models

Li Wang

Assistant Professor

Li Wang

Email: li.wang@uta.edu

Office: PKH 438

Research: My research follows three main directions. The first one is unsupervised graph structure learning, which has wide applications in fields such as computer vision and bioinformatics. The second one is dimensionality reduction, which is the first and critical step for dealing with very high dimensional datasets. The third one is developments of efficient data analysis and optimization methods for big data.

Daniel Welling

Assistant Professor

Daniel Welling

Email: daniel.welling@uta.edu

Office: SH 201

Research: My research involves combining large scale numerical simulations of the near-Earth space environment with expansive ground- and space-based data sets. With advanced numerical methods, such as adaptive mesh grids and ensemble and assimilative simulations, the scale of our data grows every day.

Arne Winguth

Associate Professor

Chair

Arne Winguth

Email: awinguth@uta.edu

Office: GS 238

Research: Climate modeling and impact, high performance computing, analysis of petascale data sets