Administration

Kevin Porter

Department Chair

Kevin Porter

Email: kporter1@uta.edu

Office: 203B Carlisle Hall

Additional Info: Kevin Porter is Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of English. His areas of interest include composition studies, cultural studies, J. R. R. Tolkien, literary theory, philosophy of language, rhetoric, and theories of meaning. His book Meaning, Language, and Time (Parlor Press, 2006) won the W. Ross Winterowd Award, and his essays have appeared in venues such as College Composition and Communication, College English, Cultural Critique, and JAC. His more recent work includes a contribution to the collection Abducting Writing Studies (Southern Illinois UP, 2017), a forthcoming essay on the notion of kingship in the film Black Panther, and the ongoing compilation of a concordance of the fantasy writings of J. R. R. Tolkien.

Tim Morris

Acting Associate Chair

Tim Morris

Email: tmorris@uta.edu

Office: 420 Carlisle Hall

Additional Info: Tim Morris has published three books (on American poetry, sport literature, and children's literature) plus articles, essays, and journalism on topics ranging from Emily Dickinson and her contemporaries (Elizabeth Stoddard, Elizabeth Stuart Phelps, George Eliot) to baseball, suburban life, Civil War fiction, genre fiction for children, translation, and digital culture. He has served on nearly 200 graduate committees on a much wider range of topics.

Margie Jackymack

Coordinator II, Special Programs

Headshot of Margie Jackymack

Email: jackymack@uta.edu

Office: 203C Carlisle Hall

Candice Kinnard

Administrative Assistant I

Default profile card image

Desirée Henderson

Director of Graduate Studies

Desiree Henderson

Kaci O’Donnell

Faculty Undergraduate Advisor

Dr. Kaci O'Donnell

Email: kodonnell@uta.edu

Office: 209 Carlisle Hall

Laura Kopchick

Coordinator

Creative Writing

Laura Kopchick headshot

Email: laurak@uta.edu

Office: 418 Carlisle Hall

Timothy Ponce

Coordinator, Technical Writing & Professional Design

Coordinator, Internships Program

and Internships

Tim Ponce

Email: timothy.ponce@uta.edu

Office: 423 Carlisle Hall

Justin Lerberg

Director

First-Year Writing

Justin Lerberg

Email: jlerberg@uta.edu

Office: 203E Carlisle Hall

Lindsey Surratt

Assistant Director

First-Year Writing

Lindsey Surratt

Email: lindsey.surratt@uta.edu

Office: 602

Jo Ward

Coordinator

Developmental English

Jo Ward

Michael Brittain

Director

Writing Center

Headshot of Michael Brittain

Email: brittain@uta.edu

Office: 413 Central Library

Ashley Johnson

Assistant Director

Writing Center

Default profile card image

Email: ashley.johnson2@uta.edu

Office: CH 525

Claire Thomas

Office Assistant II

Writing Center

Default profile card image

Email: claire.thomas@uta.edu

Office: 412 Central Library

Shelley Christie

Director

Digital Teaching & Learning in English

Default profile card image

Email: rechelle@uta.edu

Office: 614 Carlisle Hall

Rachael Mariboho

Assistant Director

Digital Teaching & Learning in English

Rachel Mariboho

Email: mariboho@uta.edu

Office: 613 Carlisle Hall

Julie Jones

Coordinator

AO Coaches

Julie Jones

Email: jjones@uta.edu

Office: Online Only

Sarah Shelton

Coordinator

Social Media

Sarah Shelton

Email: sshelton@uta.edu

Office: 402 Carlisle Hall

Erik Schwieger

IT Analyst II

Erik Schwieger

Email: erik.schwieger@uta.edu

Office: 211 Carlisle Hall