Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Faculty

Ashfaq Adnan, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Dr. Ashfaq Adnan,
Professor

Ashfaq Adnan Faculty Profile
aadnan@uta.edu
WH 315C | 817-272-2006
Nanoscale phenomena and multiscale analysis, mechanics of engineering nanomaterials, mechanics of polymer and advanced materials, fracture mechanics.

Dereje Agonafer, Ph.D., NAE, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Dereje Agonafer, NAE
Professor

Dereje Agonafer Faculty Profile
agonafer@uta.edu
WH 211A | 817-272-7377
National Academy of Engineering; Electronic packaging, heat transfer, thermal engineering.

Dr. Miguel Amaya 

Dr. Miguel Amaya
Senior Lecturer and ME Undergraduate Advisor

Miguel Amaya Faculty Profile
mamaya@uta.edu
WH 204D | 817-272-9266
Two-phase heat and mass transfer - boiling, evaporation, wetting.

Amir Ameri, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Amir Ameri
Assistant Professor

Amir Ameri Faculty Profile
amir.ameri@uta.edu
WH 315J | 817-272-1286
Product design and optimization, additive manufacturing, mechanics of materials, failure analysis, surface treatments, coatings, corrosion, advanced materials, biodegradable composites, medical implants, and finite element analysis.

Dr Erian Armanios 

Dr. Erian Armanios
Chair and Professor

Erian Armanios Faculty Profile
armanios@uta.edu
WH 211B | (817) 272-2062
Computational solid mechanics, analysis, testing and design of composite structures, failure characterization and prediction, elastic tailoring, energy dissipation, implementation of active materials for flow control and nondeterministic methods for structural prognostics.

Pranesh Aswath, Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Pranesh Aswath
Professor and Vice Provost

Pranesh Aswath Faculty Profile
aswath@uta.edu
DH 317 | 817-272-0308
Synthesis, processing and characterization of ceramics, intermetallics and composites. Deformation, creep, fatigue and environmental degradation of materials. Analytical electron microscopy, Auger spectroscopy, X-ray diffraction, EPMA. Processing and properties of ceramic matrix composites and ceramic coatings for biological applications. Tribology and lubrication.

Alan Bowling, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Alan Bowling
Associate Professor

Alan Bowling Faculty Profile
bowling@uta.edu
WH 315A | 817-272-0206
Multibody dynamics, control, robotics, and biomechanics.

Michael Bozlar, Ph.D., Civil Engineering 

Dr. Michael Bozlar
Assistant Professor

Michael Bozlar Faculty Profile
bozlar@uta.edu
WH 306B |
Nano materials, synthesis and characterization; polymer composites; additive manufacturing; energy storage; CO2 capture and chemical conversion; water treatment and harvesting; bio engineering.

Animesh Chakravarthy, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Animesh Chakravarthy
Associate Professor

Animesh Chakravarthy Faculty Profile
animesh.chakravarthy@uta.edu
ELB 259| 817-272-5286
Dynamics and Controls; Morphing Aircraft; Autonomous Systems; Aircraft Loss of Control; Collision Avoidance; Unmanned Air Vehicles; PDE-based modeling of multi-agent systems.

Bernd Chudoba, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Bernd Chudoba
Associate Professor

Bernd Chudoba Faculty Profile
chudoba@uta.edu
WH 316B | 817-272-1436
Director of Aerospace Vehicle Design Lab, Capstone Design Core Class Lecturer, Multi-Disciplinary vehicle design, hypersonic vehicle design, systems engineering, technology forecasting and product life cycle.

Stefan Dancila, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. D. Stefan Dancila
Associate Professor

Stefan Dancila Faculty Profile
dancila@uta.edu
WH 414 | 817-272-0833
Solid mechanics; composite and smart materials/structures; tailoring of elastic deformation, failure modes, and energy dissipation; inflatable space structures; space tethers; fatigue and fracture; nondestructive evaluation; piezoelectric actuation and flow control; rotorcraft; high altitude airships; composite prosthetics; renewable energy.

Paul Davidson, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Paul Davidson
Assistant Professor

Paul Davidson Faculty Profile
paul.davidson@uta.edu
WH 214C | 817-272-3746
Composite mechanics; advanced manufacturing methods; multi-scale analysis; low- and high-end velocity impact damage; micro-mechanics.

Brian Dennis, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Brian Dennis
Professor

Brian Dennis Faculty Profile
dennisb@uta.edu
WH 316C | 817-272-7379
Computation fluid dynamics; multidisciplinary design optimization; finite element methods applied to fluid & solid mechanics, heat transfer, and electromagnetics; inverse problems; parallel computing including the design, construction, and programming of Beowulf-type PC clusters; development of high performance computing software, unstructured mesh generation and deformation.

Atilla Dogan, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Atilla Dogan
Professor

Atilla Dogan Faculty Profile
dogan@uta.edu
WH 315H | 817-272-3744
Flight dynamics and control, nonlinear flight simulation, unmanned vehicle systems, unmanned aerial systems, autonomous systems, modeling and control of close proximity flight (aerial refueling, formation flight), path planning and target tracking, probabilistic pilot modeling.

Dr. David Ewing 

Dr. David Ewing
Senior Lecturer

David Ewing Faculty Profile
david.ewing@uta.edu
NH 609 | 817-272-2603
Thermal management systems, phase change material applications, nanofluidic systems, and engineering pedagogy.

Raul Fernandez, Ph.D. 

Dr. Raul Fernandez
Professor in Practice

Raul Fernandez Faculty Profile
fernandez@uta.edu
ELB 253 | (817) 272-2563
Product design, development and commercialization; manufacturing, process automation, robotics; dynamic systems.

Abdolhossein Haji-Sheikh, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. A. Haji-Sheikh
Professor

A. Haji-Sheikh Faculty Profile
haji@uta.edu
WH 300C | 817-272-2010
Heat transfer analysis in conduction, convection, and radiation, and fluid flow and heat transfer in ducts and heat exchangers.

Zhen Xue Han, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Zhen Xue Han
Senior Lecturer and AE Undergraduate Advisor

Zhen Xue Han Faculty Profile
han@uta.edu
WH 204B | 817-272-7376
Computational fluid dynamics and heat transfer; air-breathing propulsion system; turbomachinary; multidisciplinary design optimization.

Dr. Kathy Hays-Stang 

Dr. Kathy Hays-Stang
Lecturer

Kathy Hays-Stang Faculty Profile
haysstang@uta.edu
WH 315F | 817-272-1308
Thermo-Fluid Science, Acoustics, Mechanical Engineering Measurements.

Haiying Huang, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Haiying Huang
Professor

Haiying Huang Faculty Profile
huang@uta.edu
WH 315F | 817-272-0563
Health monitoring of structures and human, wireless microwave sensors, optical fiber sensors, ultrasound, non-destructive evaluation, solid mechanics, fatigue and fracture.

David Hullender, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. David Hullender
Professor

David Hullender Faculty Profile
hullender@uta.edu
WH 304B | 817-272-2014
Machine vibration and stress analysis, hydraulic pneumatic and mechanical systems design and analysis, compressible and incompressible fluid dynamics, modeling and computer simulation, and analysis of random and stochastic processes.

Endel Iarve, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Endel Iarve
Professor

Endel Iarve Faculty Profile
endel.iarve@uta.edu
UTARI/WH 300A | 817-272-9443
Discrete damage modeling methodologies for laminated composites under broad range of loading conditions including compression and fatigue. Integrated computational materials science and engineering bringing together manufacturing and performance aspects of advanced composite materials.

Ankur Jain, Ph.D., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Ankur Jain
Associate Professor

Ankur Jain Faculty Profile
jaina@uta.edu
ELB 203 | 817-272-9338
Microscale energy conversion, microscale heat transport, Bio-MEMS, micro-electromechanical systems, semiconductor thermal management, 3D integrated circuits.

Dr. Vistasp Karbhari 

Dr. Vistasp M. Karbhari
Professor

Vistasp M. Karbhari Faculty Profile
vkarbhari@uta.edu
DH 321 | 817-272-2101
Processing and mechanics of composites, deterioration science of polymers and composites, bio-materials, infrastructure renewal and multi-threat mitigation (including blast), sustainability, impact/damage mechanics and crash energy management, nondestructive assessment of materials and structures, damage prognosis, and structural health monitoring.

Dr. Daejon Kim 

Dr. Daejong Kim
Associate Professor

Daejong Kim Faculty Profile
daejongkim@uta.edu
WH 213 | 817-272-7620
Turbo machinery aerodynamics, Modeling and system dynamics of solid oxide fuel cell and gas turbine hybrid systems, Advanced oil-free bearings for turbo machinery, Non-linear rotor dynamics.

Dr. Ratan Kumar 

Dr. Ratan Kumar
Professor in Practice

Ratan Kumar Faculty Profile
ratan.kumar@uta.edu
WH 306A | 817-272-0740
Computational fluid dynamics and heat transfer; FEA for structures; machine design; Web-based education.

Dr. Kent Lawrence 

Dr. Kent Lawrence
Professor

Kent Lawrence Faculty Profile
lawrence@uta.edu
WH 300D | 817-272-2019
Stress and vibration analysis, structural analysis, structural dynamics, finite element methods, and computer aided engineering.

Dr. Teik C. Lim 

Dr. Teik C. Lim
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Teik C. Lim Faculty Profile
teik.lim@uta.edu
DH 321 | 817-272-2103
Design and dynamics of precision machine elements (gears, bearings, drivelines, powertrain systems), Gear noise/vibrations, Structural vibrations and acoustics, Active noise and vibration control, Automotive NVH (noise, vibration and harshness), and Product sound quality design, analysis and testing.

Dr. Frank Lu 

Dr. Frank Lu
Professor

Frank Lu Faculty Profile
franklu@uta.edu
ERB 340 | 817-272-2083
Fluid dynamics, shock and viscous phenomena, aerodynamic heating, jets and sprays, supersonic and hypersonic flows, propulsion, detonations, flow visualization, and instrumentation and facility development.

Dr. Cheng Luo 

Dr. Cheng Luo
Professor

Cheng Luo Faculty Profile
EMAchengluo@uta.edu
WH 215 | 817-272-7366
Design, modeling and fabrication of nanosystems and biomicrosystems, and solid mechanics.

Dr. Luca Maddalena 

Dr. Luca Maddalena
Professor and Director of the Aerodynamics Research Center (ARC)

Luca Maddalena Faculty Profile
maddalena@uta.edu
WH 315E | 817-272-1123
Hypersonic air-breathing propulsion; Injection, mixing and combustion in high-speed flows; vortex dynamics; experimental fluid dynamics; instrumentation; advanced propulsion configurations.

Dr. Andrew Makeev 

Dr. Andrew Makeev
Professor

Andrew Makeev Faculty Profile
makeev@uta.edu
WH 225G | 817-272-9448
Composite and metallic materials, structural methods, prognostics and reliability.

Dr. Nancy Michael 

Dr. Nancy Michael
Senior Lecturer, ME Undergraduate Advisor

Nancy Michael Faculty Profile
michael@uta.edu
WH 204C | 817-272-1258
Electronic materials, integrated circuit interconnect technology, materials characterization, (SEM, XRD, AES, XPS).

Dr. Hyejin Moon 

Dr. Hyejin Moon
Associate Professor

Hyejin Moon Faculty Profile
hyejin.moon@uta.edu
WH 306B | 817-272-2017
Micro/nanosciences, bioMEMS/bioNEMS, micro/nanofluidics, lab-on-a-chip, diagnostic technology, microscope heat transfer, energy harvesting technology

Dr. Robert Mullins 

Dr. Robert "Bob" Mullins
Professor in Practice

Robert Mullins Faculty Profile
mullins@uta.edu
WH 302 | 817-272-2896
Aircraft, rotorcraft, and missile analysis; design, and modeling, manufacturing and systems engineering, integrated weapon systems design including radar and IR system analysis, design, and simulation.

Dr. Seiichi Nomura 

Dr. Seiichi Nomura
Professor

Seiichi Nomura Faculty Profile
nomura@uta.edu
WH 304D | 817-272-2012
Micromechanics, analysis of composite materials, computer algebra applications.

Dr. Md. Rassel Raihan 

Dr. Md. Rassel Raihan
Assistant Professor

Md. Rassel RaihanFaculty Profile
mdrassel.raihan@uta.edu
WH 315C | 817-272-9582
Multi-physical predictive performance of multi-scale degradation mechanisms, material state change, durability and prognosis of heterogenous material system, i.e., structural composite, SOFC fuel cell, Adhesive bond-joints and interfaces; Manufacturing of Multifunctional Composite

Dr. Kenneth Reifsnider 

Dr. Kenneth Reifsnider, NAE
Presidential Distinguished Professor

Kenneth Reifsnider Faculty Profile
kenneth.reifsnider@uta.edu
UTARI/WH 206B | 817-272-5900
National Academy of Engineering; Director, Institute for Predictive Performance Methodologies, University of Texas Arlington Research

Dr. Sunand Santhangopalan 

Dr. Sunand Santhanagopalan
Lecturer

Sunand Santhanagopalan Faculty Profile
ssanthan@uta.edu
ELB 202 | 817-272-3711
Multi-Scale Energy Systems: Scalable Nanomanufacturing; Electrochemical energy conversion/storage; High temperature latent heat storage; Wettability control; Advanced Nanomaterial synthesis; Fractal architectures; Micro/Nano transport phenomena; Renewable energy systems.

Dr. Narges Shayesteh 

Dr. Narges Shayesteh Moghaddam
Assistant Professor

Narges Shayesteh Moghaddam Faculty Profile
narges.shayesteh@uta.edu
WH 315G | 817-272-9335
Additive manufacturing, smart materials, high temperature alloys, single crystals, materials characterization, design and optimization, finite element analysis, and biomedical devices.

Dr. Panos Shiakolas 

Dr. Panos Shiakolas
Associate Professor

Panos Shiakolas Faculty Profile
shiakolas@uta.edu
WH 315D | 817-272-5715
Robotics (surgical and medical diagnostics, manufacturing). Human robot interaction modalities. Smart personalized wearable prosthesis and assistive devices (rehabilitation, training, diagnostics). Additive manufacturing (multi-material multi-process at micro, meso and macro scales). Design and fabrication of bio-scaffolds. Engineering education, mechatronics, robotics, modeling, controls.

Dr. Dudley Smith 

Dr. Dudley Smith
Professor in Practice

Dudley Smith Faculty Profile
dudleys@uta.edu
WH 300B | 817-272-0125
Former Bell Technical Fellow of Advanced Concepts and Preliminary Design. Primary focus is on the conceptual and preliminary design of aircraft and vertical lift/rotorcraft with a secondary research interest in propulsion.

Dr. Kamesh Subbarao 

Dr. Kamesh Subbarao
Professor

Kamesh Subbarao Faculty Profile
subbarao@uta.edu
ELB 254 | 817-272-7467
Nonlinear and robust adaptive control, optimal control, mathematical modeling and dynamical systems theory, optimal estimation and system identification, flight dynamics and control systems, astrodynamics, robotics and unmanned vehicle systems.

Dr. Robert Taylor 

Dr. Robert Taylor
Professor in Practice

Robert Taylor Faculty Profile
taylorrm@uta.edu
WH 214B | 817-272-9341
Structural design and optimization, design for manufacture, design for additive manufacture, 3-D printed structures, finite element analysis, solid mechanics.

Dr. Albert Tong 

Dr. Albert Tong
Associate Professor

Albert Tong Faculty Profile
tong@uta.edu
WH WH 206A | 817-272-2297
Spray combustion, numerical modeling of heat transfer, and fluid flow.

Dr. B.P. Wang, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. B.P. Wang
Professor

B.P. Wang Faculty Profile
bpwang@uta.edu
WH 304C | 817-272-3426
Finite element analysis, structural optimization, vibration, and structural dynamics.

Dr. Shuo Wang 

Dr. Shuo "Linda" Wang
Assistant Professor

Shuo "Linda" Wang Faculty Profile
shuolinda.wang@uta.edu
ELB 252 | 817-272-3413
Computational Mathematics, Optimization, Optimal (Ensemble) Control.

Dr. Don Wilson 

Dr. Don Wilson
Professor

Don Wilson Faculty Profile
wilson@uta.edu
WH 202 | 817-272-2072
Gas dynamics, aerospace propulsion systems, high-speed aerodynamics, hypersonic flow, and experimental fluid dynamics.

Dr. Robert L. Woods 

Dr. Robert L. Woods
Professor and Faculty Advisor Formula SAE

Robert L. Woods Faculty Profile
woods@uta.edu
WH 304A | 817-272-0707
Dynamic systems, modeling and simulation, control systems, fluid power control, fluidics, microprocessor and digital controls, logic systems, automotive engineering.

Dr. Liwei Zhang, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 

Dr. Liwei Zhang
Assistant Professor

Liwei Zhang Faculty Profile
liwei.zhang@uta.edu
WH 316B | 817-272-0739
Modeling of chemically reacting flows, combustion dynamics in propulsion systems, computational fluid dynamics, reduced-basis modeling and emulation, data-enabled design.

MAE Adjunct Instructors

Bootpakdeetam, Pawarat - WH 323-G - pawarat.bootpakdeetam@uta.edu
Dreier, Mark - WH 323-F - mark.dreier@uta.edu
Elliott, Chris - WH 323-F - christopher.elliott@uta.edu
Farzbod, Ali - WH 323-K - ali.farzbod@uta.edu
Finley, Dennis - WH 323-G - dennis.finley@uta.edu
Guy, Ashley - WH 323-H - ashley.guy@uta.edu
Honavara Prasad, Srikanth - WH 323-H - srikanth.honavaraprasad@uta.edu
Kashefi, Feraydune - WH 323-K - fkashefi@uta.edu
Kilmain, Catherine - WH 323-F - catherine.kilmain@uta.edu
Mizener, Andrew - WH 323-G - andrew.mizener@uta.edu
Mudunuri, Bala - WH 323-F - krishna.bala@uta.edu
Park, Paul - WH 323-H - paul.park@uta.edu
Scott, Richard - WH 323-G - richard.scott@mavs.uta.edu
Tchafa, Franck - WH 323-G - franck.tchafa@uta.edu
Van Der Vossen, Bastiaan - WH 323-H - bastiaan@uta.edu

Undergraduate Applicants

Graduate Applicants

Contacts

MAE Administrative Office
WH 211 – 817-272-2603

MAE Academic Advising
WH 204 & WH 206 – 817-272-2561