Financial Aid

The UTA Department of Biology presents a number of undergraduate and graduate awards and scholarships each year. Students can apply for the first two awards using the Mav ScholarShop system.

The William L. and Martha Hughes Award for the Study of Biology

This award was established in 1993 by William L. Hughes, Jr. and his wife Barbara in memory of his parents, William L. and Martha Hughes. It is given to students who show a potential for outstanding achievement and who are admitted to a UTA Department of Biology degree program. William L. and Martha W. Hughes enhanced the life experience of thousands of students and countless colleagues during their productive careers as educators. Professor Hughes served the University as a member of the faculty for 40 years, retiring as head of the Biology Department in 1965 when he was named Professor Emeritus. Early in her career as an educator, Mrs. Hughes served as a member of the physical education and chemistry departments at the University. She later served as a science teacher in the Arlington Independent School District for nearly 20 years, before she retired in 1965.

The Dr. Thomas R. Hellier, Jr. & Mrs. Evelyn F. Hellier Biology Scholarship

Dr. Thomas and Mrs. Evelyn Hellier created this award to help students with high academic achievement who are working to overcome financial need. The Helliers were married on June 8, 1952. Dr. Hellier began his academic career at Arlington State College (later renamed UTA) in the fall of 1960 as an ichthyologist in the Department of Biology. In 1976, he founded the UTA chapter of Phi Sigma, the biological honor society for graduate students. He retired in 2006, but he and Evelyn continued to be active members of the UTA community until his death in 2013.

NOTE: The following awards are presented only to students nominated by department faculty and lab coordinators. (Faculty and lab coordinators can use the mach form below to nominate students for these awards.)

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award

This award will be given to the undergraduate student with the most outstanding research contribution in each academic year.

Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Award

This award goes to a student who has shown excellence in undergraduate teaching in the classroom, curriculum development, and lab preparation. To be eligible, students must have been enrolled in the teaching assistantship course and received a grade of P or A during any semester of the current academic year.

T.F. Kennerly Award

This award is given to the Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) who best exemplifies the devotion to teaching and the concern for students exhibited by the late Dr. Thomas F. Kennerly, who was beloved by his students for his teaching style. To be eligible, students must have completed at least one year of graduate teaching.

Outstanding Graduate Research Achievement Award

This award is given each year for outstanding research performance and achievement at the graduate level.

William F. Pyburn Fellowship

This award is presented to one full-time master’s or doctoral student pursuing studies in Natural History, especially in the areas of systematics, ecology, or behavior. To be eligible, students must have and maintain a 3.5 GPA and must have produced significant publications and/or presentations. The award is named in honor of the late William F. Pyburn, a noted herpetologist who spent 26 years as a biology professor at UTA and whose large collection of amphibian and reptile specimens spurred the creation of UTA’s acclaimed Amphibian and Reptile Diversity Research Center.

Chad Watkins Memorial Award for Excellence in Graduate Mentorship of Undergraduate Research in Biology

All graduate students in the UTA Department of Biology are eligible for this award. Nominees must have a record of mentoring undergraduate research endeavors at UTA. Awardees should demonstrate a strong dedication and significant contribution to the training and professional development of undergraduate researchers. The award was created in memory of Chad Watkins, a UTA doctoral student in biology, who died in a car accident in 2013 at age 38. He is remembered for his love of teaching and mentoring students.