A University on the Rise

UTA is investing in its future with RISE 100 (Recruiting Innovative Scholars for Excellence), a transformative $60 million effort to hire 100 new tenure-stream faculty over the next few years. Are you ready to join a community of innovators and educators dedicated to making a positive impact on the world?

What is Rise 100?


In late 2023, UT Arlington launched the RISE 100 initiative with the goal of hiring innovative scholars with expertise in areas that will make an impact in Texas and the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex.


As one of the nation’s most ethnically and culturally diverse universities, UTA has reimagined what an elite research university can look like when it remains committed to opportunity, academic excellence, and groundbreaking discovery.


The UTA campus serves as a laboratory for innovation, where new knowledge converges with diverse industries and cultures. Through business incubator programs and research collaborations, UTA faculty help fuel economic growth and enhance community vitality.


Collaboration is key to discovery, and at UTA interdisciplinary research and teamwork across programs, departments, and colleges is encouraged.




Embark on a transformative journey with us – let’s shape the future together! Explore opportunities and become part of something extraordinary.

RISE 100 Faculty Review Committee

Our committee, comprising of esteemed individuals including the provost, vice president for research and innovation, and academic leaders, ensures a rigorous review process. They prioritize hiring proposals, identify Target of Excellence Scholars, and contribute to the success of the RISE 100 initiative.

Provost and Sr. Vice President for Academic Affairs -

Tamara L. Brown

Vice President for Research and Innovation -

Kate Miller

Interim Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs -

Minerva Cordero

Chair of Faculty Senate, Professor of History -

Andy Milson

Dean of the College of Engineering -

Peter Crouch

Associate Dean of Research of the College of Science -

Todd Castoe

Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, Co-Director for the Center for Artificial Intelligence and Big Data -

Chengkai Li

Member of the National Academy of Medicine, Presidential Distinguished Professor of Nursing -

Florence Haseltine

ACS Award for Chromatography, Robert A. Welch Distinguished Professor of Chemistry -

Daniel Armstrong

UTA Academy of Distinguished Scholars, Professor of Marketing -

Larry Chonko

UTA Academy of Distinguished Teachers, Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction -

Carla Amaro-Jimenez

Strategic Plan

Submit Ideas

We invite our current faculty to submit ideas on our phase two hiring plans, based on UTA’s strategic research areas, which our committee and leadership will use to help guide them. Note that all hiring requests must be submitted through an Academic Dean for consideration.