Faculty

Faculty

Jonathan Asaadi, PhD Texas A&M University

Associate Professor of Physics

Johnathan Asaadi

Andrew Brandt, PhD, UCLA

Professor

Associate Chair

Andrew Brandt

Email: brandta@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2706

Office: CPB Room 344

Area: High Energy Physics

Raquel Castillo Fernandez, PhD, Autonomous University of Barcelona

Assistant Professor

Raquel Castillo Fernandez, Assistant Professor of Physics, Physics Faculty

Email: raquel.castillofernand@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5473

Office: SH Room 102C

Area: Experimental Particle Physics

Wei Chen, PhD, Peking University, Beijing, China

Professor

Wei Chen

Email: weichen@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1064

Office: CPB Room 214

Area: Nano-Bio Physics

Yujie Chi, PhD Peking University, Beijing, China

Assistant Professor

Yujie Chi

Email: yujie.chi@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5160

Office: SEIR 325B

Manfred Cuntz, PhD, University of Heidelberg, Germany

Distinguished Professor

Manfred Cuntz

Email: cuntz@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2467

Office: CPB Room 330

Kaushik De, PhD, Brown University

Professor

Kaushik De

Email: kaushik@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2813

Office: SH Room 241

Area: High Energy Physics

Yue Deng, PhD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

Distinguished Professor

Yue Deng

Email: yuedeng@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2460

Office: CPB Room 334

Area: Space Physics

Amir Farbin, PhD, University of Maryland

Professor

Amir Farbin

Email: afarbin@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1178

Office: CPB Room 340

Area: High Energy Physics

Haleh Hadavand, PhD University of California, San Diego

Associate Professor

Haleh Hadavand

Email: hadavand@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2469

Office: CPB Room 346

Area: High Energy Physics

Muhammad Huda, PhD, University of Texas at Arlington

Associate Professor

Muhammad Huda

Email: huda@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1097

Office: CPB Room 339

Area: Condensed Matter Theory

Fajer Jaafari, PhD University of Texas at Arlington

Adjunct Professor

Fajer Jaafari

Mingwu Jin, PhD, Illinois Institute of Technology

Professor

Mingwu Jin

Email: mingwu@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-6262

Office: ERB 332

Area: Medical Physics

Benjamin Jones, PhD Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Associate Professor

Benjamin Jones

Email: ben.jones@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2295

Office: SH Room 102B

Area: High Energy Physics

Ali Koymen, PhD, Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Professor

Ali Koymen

Email: koymen@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2451

Office: SH Room 132A

Area: Condensed Matter Physics

J. Ping Liu, PhD, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Distinguished Professor

J. Ping Liu

Email: pliu@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2815

Office: SH Room 202

Area: Nanostructured Magnetic Materials

Ramon Lopez, PhD, Rice University

Distinguished Professor

Ramon Lopez

Email: relopez@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-0386

Office: SH Room 008

Area: Space Physics

Zdzislaw Musielak, PhD, University of Gdansk, Poland

Professor

Zdzislaw Musielak

Email: zmusielak@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2513

Office: CPB Room 328

Area: Astrophysics

Joseph Ngai, PhD, University of Toronto

Associate Professor

Joseph Ngai

Email: jngai@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2032

Office: SH Room 120F

Area: Fundamental and Applied Research of Oxide Materials

David Nygren, PhD University of Washington, Seattle, WA

Presidential Distinguished Professor

David Nygren

Area: Elementary Particle Physics

Sangwook Park, PhD, Purdue University

Professor

Sangwook Park

Email: s.park@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-0994

Office: CPB Room 332

Area: Astrophysics

Amir Shahmoradi, PhD University of Texas at Austin

Assistant Professor

Amir Shahmoradi

Email: a.shahmoradi@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-9047

Office: SEIR Room 365

Barry Spurlock, PhD University of Texas at Arlington

Associate Professor of Instruction

Barry Spurlock

Nilakshi Veerabathina, PhD, Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences

Professor of Instruction

Nilakshi Veerbathina

Email: nilakshi@uta.edu

Phone #: 682-999-8571

Office: SH Room 120C

Area: Astronomy

Nevin Weinberg, PhD, Caltech

Associate Professor

Nevin Weinberg

Email: nevin@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-9784

Office: CPB 336

Area: Astrophysics

Alex Weiss, PhD, Brandeis University, MA

Distinguished Professor

Chair

Alex Weiss

Email: weiss@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2459

Office: CPB Room 338

Area: Condensed Matter Physics

Andrew White, PhD, University of London, England

Professor

Andrew White

Email: awhite@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2812

Office: SH Room 241

Area: High Energy Physics

Frederick Wilder, PhD Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA

Assistant Professor

Frederick Wilder

Area: Space Physics

Jae Yu, PhD, State University of New York, Stony Brook

Distinguished Professor

Yu Jae

Email: jaehoonyu@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2814

Office: CPB Room 342

Area: High Energy Physics

Qiming Zhang, PhD, International School for Advanced Studies (SISSA), Italy

Professor

Qiming Zhang

Email: zhang@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2020

Office: CPB Room 337

Area: Condensed Matter Theory

Affiliated Faculty

Catrina Coleman, PhD, University of Glasgow

Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering

Catrina Coleman

Area: Photonics, III-V semiconductor photonic devices and photonic integration

James Coleman, PhD, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Dr. Richard N. Claytor Professor of Optics,

Presidential Distinguished Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering

James Coleman, Ph.D., NAE, Electrical Engineering

Area: Photonics, optoelectronic devices and integration, metal organic chemical vapor deposition

Purnendu (Sandy) Dasgupta, PhD, Louisiana State University

Professor

Biochemistry Hamish Small Chair in Ion Analysis

Purnendu Dasgupta

Zui Pan, PhD, Institute of Biophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing

Associate Professor of Nursing and Biology

Zui Pan

Area: BioPhysics

Research Faculty

Varghese Chirayath, PhD, Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai, India

Assistant Professor of Research

Varghese Chirayath

Email: chirayat@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2266

Office: CPB 324

Alan Chodos

Professor of Research

Alan Chodos

Email: alan.chodos@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-6847

Office: SH 132C

Jeotikanta Mohapatra, PhD, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India

Assistant Professor of Research

Jeotikanta Mohapatra

Email: jeotikarta.mohapatra@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-673-9098

Office: SH 202B

Dora Musielak, PhD, Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville

Professor of Research

Dora Musielak

Email: dora.musielak@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2455

Office: SH 132B

Nurcan Ozturk

Assistant Professor of Research

Nurcan Ozturk

Cheng Sheng

Research Scientist

Sheng Cheng

Email: cheng.sheng@uta.edu

Office: CPB 338

Giulio Usai

Assistant Professor of Research

Giulio Usai

Armen Vartapetian

Assistant Professor of Research

Armen Vartapetian

Daniel Welling

Daniel Welling

Staff

Andrew Brandt

Professor

Associate Chair

Andrew Brandt

Email: brandta@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2706

Office: Room 344, CPB

Stacey Cody

Administrative Assistant

Stacey Cody

Email: scody@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2266

Office: Room 108, Science Hall

Christy Cox

Office Coordinator

Christy Cox

Email: christy.cox@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1183

Office: Room 363, CPB

Nieshea Crow

Accountant II

Nieshea Crow

Email: nieshea.crow@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2266

Office: Room 108, Science Hall

James Davis

Astronomy Lab Supervisor

James Davis

Email: james.davis@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2266

Office: Room 120G, SH

Bill Depoy

Machine Shop

Bill Depoy

Email: depoy@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2462

Office: Room 118, CPB

Eraneisha Gibson

Undergraduate Academic Advisor

Eraneisha Gibson

Email: eraneisha.gibson@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-9686

Office: Room 107E, Science Hall

Levent Gurdemir

Planetarium Director

Levent Gurdemir

Email: gurdemir@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1183

Office: Room 363, CPB

Shannon Harris

Accounting Technician

Shannon Harris

Email: shannon.harris@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2266

Office: Room 107F, Science Hall

Victor Reece

Personal Computing Specialist

Victor Reece

Email: reece@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-9271

Office: Room 107B, Science Hall

Suman Satyal

Physics Lab Coordinator

Suman Satyal

Email: suman.satyal@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2486

Office: Room 120J, SH

Latricia Brown

Accounting Specialist

Latricia Brown 2022

Email: latricia.brown@uta.edu

Office: Room 107A , Science Hall

Alex Weiss

Chair

Distinguished Professor

Alex Weiss

Email: weiss@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2266

Office: Room 108, Science Hall

McKenna Dowd

Program Coordinator

Mckenna Dowd Crop

Postdoctoral Researchers

Debottam Bakshigupta

Postdoctoral Researcher

Debottam Bakshigupta

Blake Burghgrave

Postdoctoral Researcher

Blake Burghgrave

Jianfei Chen

Postdoctoral Researcher

Andrew Laing

Postdoctoral Researcher

Jared Little

Postdoctoral Researcher

Jared Little

Austin McDonald

Postdoctoral Researcher

Austin McDonald

Seyedali Moayedi

Postdoctoral Researcher

Seyedali Moayedi

Katherine Woodruff

Postdoctoral Researcher

Katherine Woodruff