Academy of Distinguished Teachers


Inaugurated in 1996, the Academy of Distinguished Teachers is comprised of tenured faculty at UT Arlington who have been selected for membership for their outstanding teaching, personal commitment to students and the learning process, and the ability to inspire and motivate students. The Academy's mission is to reflect, encourage, and help sustain pedagogical excellence at UT Arlington by serving as role models for their colleagues, fostering research on university teaching and learning, and advising the institution on teaching policies and practices.

On the recommendation of the President of The University and with subsequent approval by the UT System Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, each member of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers has been granted the title "Distinguished Teaching Professor." This title, along with membership in the Academy, endures for the faculty member’s tenure at UTA.