UTA professor named editor of IEEE Sensors Journal

Appointment is an “honor and a great responsibility,” Celik says

Friday, Mar 08, 2024 • Brian Lopez : contact

Headshot of Zeynep Çelik

IEEE Sensors Journal has appointed Zeynep Çelik, a Distinguished University Professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at The University of Texas at Arlington, as editor in chief.

The publication—the largest topical journal of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers—focuses on physical and chemical sensors, sensing applications and emerging sensor technologies. Last year, it published more than 2,500 papers and had its content downloaded more than 2 million times.

“I’m really honored that the IEEE Sensors Council has entrusted me with the great responsibility to shape the dissemination of all new knowledge in sensors to the world,” Çelik said.

Çelik is no stranger to the IEEE Sensors Journal. She rose through the ranks of the publication for about 15 years, serving as an associate editor, topical editor and associate editor in chief before assuming her current role.

In addition to setting the mission and vision of the journal, Çelik will manage 11 topical editors and over 150 associate editors to ensure that the time from submission to publication is among the best for IEEE publications. She will also focus on increasing the journal’s impact factor by improving the quality of submissions and the review process.

Çelik joined UTA in 2002 as a full professor after 15 years on the faculty at Southern Methodist University. Her research interests include noise and reliability in electron devices, novel flexible sensors and nano energy harvesters. She has 10 patents, 10 book chapters, and over 225 journal and conference publications.

An IEEE fellow, Çelik has received several awards from the institute and other organizations, including IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) Service Recognition Certificates (2014, 1995), the Semiconductor Research Corporation Inventor Recognition Award (2010), UTA Outstanding Research Achievement Award (2006), IEEE-EDS Distinguished Lecturer Appreciation Award (2006), Outstanding Electrical Engineering Graduate Faculty Awards (2001, 1997, 1996), IEEE-Dallas Section EDS Outstanding Service Awards (1997, 1995), and SMU-Sigma Xi Research Award (1997).

- Written by Jeremy Agor, College of Engineering