Faculty in Bioengineering

Chair

Michael Cho, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Michael Cho,
Chair of Bioengineering

Dr. Michael Cho Faculty Profile Michael.cho@uta.edu
817-272-2965
AIMBE Fellow; Biomechanics; Biophysics; Tissue Engineering; Cancer Research

Charles Chuong, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Cheng-Jen Chuong,
Associate Chair, Professor, and Undergraduate Advisor

Dr. Cheng-Jen Chuong Faculty Profile
chuong@uta.edu
817-272-2052
Computational Biomechanics; Modeling Cancer Cell Migration; Medical Devices; Vascular Stents

Core Faculty

George Alexandrakis, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. George Alexandrakis,
Associate Professor, Graduate Advisor, Track Advisor

Dr. George Alexandrakis Faculty Profile
galex@uta.edu
817-272-3496
Biomedical Engineering; Physics;Optical Tomography; High Resolution Microscopy

Khosrow Behbehani, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Khosrow Behbehani,
Professor

Khosrow Behbehani Faculty Profile
kb@uta.edu
817-272-2055
Respiratory and Anesthesia Device Design and Analysis; Microprocessor-based Control Design for Biomedical Systems; Computer Modeling of Biomedical Systems

Digant Dave, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Digant Davé,
Associate Professor

Dr. Digant Davé Faculty Profile
ddave@uta.edu
817-272-0946
Biomedical Optics

Yi Hong, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Yi Hong,
Associate Professor

Dr. Yi Hong Faculty Profile
yihong@uta.edu
817-272-0562
Biomaterials; Tissue Engineering; Medical Devices; Drug Delivery

Justyn Jaworski, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Justyn Jaworski,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Justyn Jaworski Faculty Profile
justyn.jaworski@uta.edu
817-272-6778
Applied Soft Matter Systems; Biomedical;Molecular Recognition

Young-tae Kim, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Young-tae Kim,
Associate Professor

Dr. Young-tae Kim Faculty Profile
ykim@uta.edu
817-272-5023
Neural Engineering

Juhyun Lee, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Juhyun Lee,
Assistant Professor

Dr. Juhyun Lee Faculty Profile
juhyun.lee@uta.edu
817-272-6534
Biomedical Optical Imaging; Hemodynamics; Cardiac Mechanics

Jun Liao, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Jun Liao,
Associate Professor

Dr. Jun Liao Faculty Profile
jun.liao@uta.edu
817-272-6779
Tissue Biomechanics; Computational Simulation; Tissue Engineering and Regeneration; Cardiac Biomechanics and Regeneration; Heart Valve Biomechanics; Bioengineering

Hanli Liu, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Hanli Liu,
Professor

Dr. Hanli Liu Faculty Profile
hanli@uta.edu
817-272-2054
Medical Instrumentation and Imaging; Minimally Invasive and Noninvasive Spectroscopy and Imaging of Tissue; Optical Diffuse Imaging for Cancer Prognosis and Brain Activities

Kytai Nguyen, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Kytai Nguyen,
Professor; Track Advisor

Dr. Kytai NguyenFaculty Profile
knguyen@uta.edu
817-272-2540
Drug Delivery; Tissue Engineering; Nano-Medicine/Nano-Technology

Liping Tang, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Liping Tang,
Professor; Track Advisor

Dr. Liping Tang Faculty Profile
ltang@uta.edu
817-272-6075
Translational Regenerative Medicine

Dr. Hao Xu, Bioengineering

Dr. Hao Xu,
Sr. Lecturer

Dr. Hao Xu Faculty Profile
hao.xu@uta.edu
817-272-4140
Translational and Clinical Cardiovascular Research

Baohong Yuan, Ph.D., Bioengineering

Dr. Baohong Yuan,
Professor

Dr. Baohong Yuan Faculty Profile
baohong@uta.edu
817-272-2917
Physics; Biomedical Engineering; Biomedical Acoustic; Optical Imaging

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Robert Eberhart, Bioengineering

Dr. Robert C. Eberhart,
Professor Emeritus

Dr. Robert C. Eberhart Faculty Profile Artificial Organs; Fluid Mechanics; Biomaterials; Biomaterials Evaluation

Dr. Al Potvin, Bioengineering 

Dr. Alfred Potvin,
Professor Emeritus

Founding Director of the Biomedical Engineering Graduate Program

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Pamela J. Hoyes Beehler
hoyesbeehlerpj@uta.edu
Chief Science Officer at Home Base Impairment Company

Mr. Bill Keighly
Adjunct Professor, BE External Advisory Board Member
william.keighley@uta.edu
Sr. Director of Operations and Manufacturing at Medtronic

Dr. George V. Kondraske | Dr. George V. Kondraske Faculty Profile
Professor of Electrical Engineering; IEEE Fellow
kondraske@uta.edu
817-272-3473
Digital Microprocessor/controller Systems;Automated Manufacturing

Dr. Shane Mao
shane.mao@uta.edu
817-272-2249
Global Franchise Head, Mfg. Science and Technology at Alcon (Novartis);
Biomaterials, Medical Devices, AI in Health Care, New Product Development, Biomedical Optics.

Dr. Debabrata Saha | Dr. Debabrata Saha Faculty Profile
debabrata.saha@uta.edu
214-648-7750
Radiation Oncology 

Dr. Donald Watenpaugh
donald.watenpaugh@uta.edu
Director at Sleep Consultants, Inc.

Affiliated Faculty

Dr. Vinay Abhyankar
UTA Research Institute

Dr. Alejandro Bugarin
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. Wei Chen | Dr. Burgarin's Faculty Profile
Department of Physics

Dr. Jung-Chih Chiao | Dr. Chiao's Faculty Profile
Department of Electrical Engineering

Dr. Eileen Clements
UTA Research Institute

Dr. Yaowu Hao | Dr. Hao's Faculty Profile
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Haiying Huang | Dr. Huang's Faculty Profile
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Dr. Hyejin Moon | Dr. Moon's Faculty Profile
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Dr. Christos Papadelis |Dr. Papadelis's Faculty Profile
Department of Bioengineering

Dr. Yuan B. Peng | Dr. Peng's Faculty Profile
Department of Psychology

Dr. Jianzhong Su | Dr. Su's Faculty Profile
Department of Mathematics

Dr. Yuze (Alice) Sun | Dr. Sun's Faculty Profile
Department of Electrical Engineering

Dr. Muthu Wijesundara | Dr. Wijesundara's Faculty Profile
UTA Research Institute

Dr. Weidong Zhou | Dr. Zhou's Faculty Profile
Department of Electrical Engineering

Administration/Staff

Dr. Michael Cho
Professor and Chair
817-272-2965
michael.cho@uta.edu

Dr. Cheng-Jen Chuong
Professor and Associate Chair
817-272-2348
chuong@uta.edu

Staff Directory

 

Undergraduate Applicants

Graduate Applicants