Scholarships and Awards

Dennis Eric Bradshaw, Ivan E. Bradshaw and Annie S. Bradshaw Endowed Scholarship

The Bradshaw Scholarship honors Dennis Bradshaw, former Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Philosophy and Humanities, who died in 2008. This scholarship was established by his parents, Ivan and Annie Bradshaw, and is awarded once yearly to a philosophy student on the basis of financial need.

The Wilfrid Sellars Prize in Philosophy

Each spring, current UTA philosophy majors are invited to submit papers in philosophy in competition for the Wilfrid Sellars Prize. The author of the winning paper receives a cash prize of $250. The prize is named in honor of Wilfrid Sellars, whose published work includes significant contributions to metaphysics, epistemology, philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, and philosophy of science. During his career, Sellars held academic appointments at the University of Iowa, the University of...

The Jack Thomas and Janice N. Holmes Scholarship

One thousand dollars ($1,000) toward educational expenses, for an outstanding student in classical studies.

Click here to Apply

The Douglas Britt Carvey Memorial Prize

Three hundred dollars ($300) for an outstanding paper on a classical topic.

Click here to Apply

College of Liberal Arts scholarships

Did you know the College of Liberal Arts also offers numerous scholarships to better support our undergraduate and graduate students?