Provide tuition assistance in the form of exemption of all dues, fees, and charges for any child of an eligible disabled or deceased firefighter or law enforcement officer injured in the line of duty.
**Note: Exemption from tuition is only for courses in which the institution receives formula funding (i.e., a course that does not depend solely on student tuition and fees to cover its costs).
Eligibility: See Texas Education Code SECTION 54.351 and 51.9095.
To be determined eligible for this exemption by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB), the following criteria must be met by the parent:
Parent was once a paid or volunteer:
- Municipal peace officer
- County peace officer
- State peace officer
- State game warden; OR
- Paid custodial officer of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice—in the state of Texas; and
Parent suffered a work-related injury in the line of duty that resulted in death or disability.
- If parent was disabled, the disability determination must be issued by a physician designated to make disability reports to the Social Security Administration.
To qualify for this exemption, the applicant must:
- Apply before reaching the age of 21 (or 22 if the student was eligible to participate in a school district’s special education program);
- Meet all entrance requirements of the institution;
- Be enrolled as an undergraduate student or be attending only undergraduate courses;
- Have an Eligibility Determination Letter from the THECB on file with the institution confirming that the student meets all tuition exemption program requirements;
- Be under the age of 26 at the start of the semester or term; and
- Have filed a selective service statement of registration status and proof of status with their institution (not applicable if attending a public community college).
To continue receiving this exemption after initially being awarded, the student must:
- Meet all program eligibility requirements;
- Meet the institution’s financial aid GPA requirement;
- Not have attempted an excessive number of semester credit hours as an undergraduate student (see Texas Education Code, Section 54.014).
- Not have reached 26 years of age; and
- Not have registered for more than 120 undergraduate semester credit hours.
- Letter from Texas Education Coordinating Board certifying student's parent died or was disabled in the line of duty.
- Student must provide a copy of a state-issued ID.
- Exemption may only be used for the first 120 undergraduate credit hours for which the student registers. Student NOT entitled to exemption if they do not apply initially for this exemption before their 21st birthday; or when they become 22 if they are eligible to participate in a school district's special education program under Section 29.003; or after the date they become 26 years of age.
Tuition, Fees and Charges
- Office of Student Accounts, University Administration Building