Faculty in Computer Science and Engineering

Ishfaq Ahmad

Ishfaq Ahmad
Professor

Ishfaq Ahmad Profile
iahmad@uta.edu | ERB - 527
Research Areas: big data and large-scale computing, machine learning and data mining, robotics and AI, sustainable computing
Research Interests: robotics and vision, IoT, assistive technologies

Vasillis Athitsos, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Vassilis Athitsos
Professor

Vassilis Athitsos Profile
athitsos@uta.edu | ERB - 623
Research Areas: Computer Vision and Multimedia, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: Gesture Recognition; Sign Language Recognition; Human Motion Analysis; Face Recognition

Linda Barasch

Linda Barasch
Associate Professor of Instruction and Lead UG Advisor

Linda Barasch Profile
barasch@uta.edu | ERB - 643
817-272-9763

William Beksi, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

William Beksi
Assistant Professor

William Beksi Profile
william.beksi@uta.edu | ERB - 523
Research Areas: Robotics and AI, Computer Vision and Multimedia, Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing
Research Interests: Robotics; Computer Vision; Artificial Intelligence; Applied Topology

Darin Brezeale

Darin Brezeale
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Darin Brezeale Profile
darin.brezeale@uta.edu | ERB - 648
817-272-3785

Bill Carroll, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Bill Carroll
Professor

Bill Carroll Profile
carroll@uta.edu | ERB - 521
Research Areas: Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing

Sharma Chakravarthy, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Sharma Chakravarthy
Professor

Sharma Chakravarthy Profile
sharmac@uta.edu | ERB - 632
817-272-2082
Research Areas: Database and Information Systems, Big Data and Large-Scale Computing
Research Interests: database mining; knowledge discovery; data warehouse; information integration; push technology (active capability) for large network-centric environments; big data analytics

Hao Che, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Hao Che
Professor

Hao Che Profile
hche@uta.edu | ERB - 536
817-272-3631
Research Areas: Computer Networks, Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing, Sustainable Computing
Research Interests: Internet distributed traffic control; content-centric networking; software-defined networking; Internet router interface programming; multicore processor and warehouse-scale computer analysis and resource management

Chistopher Conly

Christopher Conly
Senior Lecturer

Christopher Conly Profile
chris.conly@uta.edu | ERB - 642
Research Areas: Computer Vision and Multimedia
Research Interests: Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence

Ronald E. Cross

Ronald E. Cross
Senior Lecturer

Ronald E. Cross Profile
recross@uta.edu | ERB - 549
817-272-1728

Christoph Csallner, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Christoph Csallner
Associate Professor

Christoph Csallner Profile
csallner@uta.edu | ERB - 554
Research Areas: Software Engineering, Security and Privacy
Research Interests: software engineering; program analysis; automated testing; mobile software engineering

Brian Dalio

Brian Dalio
Associate Professor of Instruction

Brian Dalio Profile
ERB - 557
817-272-3785

Gautam Das, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Gautam Das
Distinguished University Chair Professor, Associate Dean of Research

Gautam Das Profile
gdas@uta.edu | ERB - 626
Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Database and Information Systems, Machine Learning and Data Mining, Sustainable Computing
Research Interests: big data analytics; deep web and social media mining; databases exploration; Information retrieval; statistical and combinatorial algorithms

Sajib Datta

Sajib Datta
Senior Lecturer and Graduate Advisor

Sajib Datta Profile
sajib.datta@uta.edu | ERB - 652
817-272-0161

Elizabeth Diaz

Elizabeth Diaz
Senior Lecturer

Elizabeth Diaz Profile
elizabeth.diaz@uta.edu | ERB - 555
817-272-0741
Research Areas: Software Engineering
Research Interests: Mobile Development Application

Chance Eary

Chance Eary
Senior Lecturer

Chance Eary Profile
chance.eary@uta.edu
Research Areas: Computer Networks, Database and Information Systems, Security and Privacy
Research Interests: opportunistic networks; opportunistic computing; mobile distributed systems; pervasive computing

Ramez Elmasri, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Ramez Elmasri
Professor and Associate Chair

Ramez Elmasri Profile
elmasri@uta.edu | ERB - 634
817-272-2348
Research Areas: Database and Information Systems, Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: spatial databases; spatio-temporal data analysis and mining; data modeling and summarization; converting data to knowledge; distributed computing; map data integration

Leonidas Fegaras

Leonidas Fegaras
Associate Professor

Leonidas Fegaras Profile
fegaras@uta.edu | ERB - 653
Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Database and Information Systems
Research Interests: database query processing and optimization; web databases and XML; functional programming languages; formal semantics

Negin Fraidouni

Negin Fraidouni
Senior Lecturer

negin.fraidouni@uta.edu | ERB - 551
817-272-0890

Donna French

Donna French
Senior Lecturer and Graduate Advisor

Donna French Profile
donna.french@uta.edu | ERB - 338
Research Areas: Software Engineering

Jean Gao, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Jean Gao
Professor

Jean Gao Profile
gao@uta.edu | ERB - 538
817-272-3628
Research Areas: Biocomputing and Health Informatics, Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Computer Vision and Multimedia, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: biomedical and health informatics; big data analysis; machine learning; data mining; pattern recognition

Shawn Gieser

Shawn Gieser
Senior Lecturer

Shawn Gieser Profile
shawn.gieser@uta.edu | ERB - 502
Research Areas: Computer Vision and Multimedia
Research Interests: Human Computer Interaction; Motion Tracking; Virtual Reality; Virtual Rehabilitation

Vamsikrishna Gopikrishna

Vamsikrishna Gopikrishna
Senior Lecturer

Vamsikrishna Gopikrishna Profile
vamsikrishna.gopikrishna@uta.edu | ERB - 553
Research Areas: Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: Computer Vision and Multimedia, Machine Learning and Data Mining, Robotics and AI

Junzhou Huang, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Junzhou Huang
Associate Professor

Junzhou Huang Profile
jzhuang@uta.edu | ERB - 650
817-272-9596
Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Biocomputing and Health Informatics, Computer Vision and Multimedia, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: sparse learning; medical informatics

Manfred Huber, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Manfred Huber
Professor

Manfred Huber Profile
huber@uta.edu | ERB - 522
817-272-2345
Research Areas: Robotics and AI
Research Interests: autonomous robot systems; sensor-driven robotics; machine learning; development of intelligent behavior

Mohammad Atiqul Islam

Mohammad Atiqul Islam
Assistant Professor

Mohammad Atiqul Islam Profile
mislam@uta.edu | ERB - 541
Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing, Security and Privacy, Sustainable Computing

Hong Jiang, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Hong Jiang
Nedderman Professor and Chair

Hong Jiang Profile
hong.jiang@uta.edu | ERB - 639
817-272-3605
Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Database and Information Systems, Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing, Sustainable Computing

Song Jiang, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Song Jiang
Associate Professor

Song Jiang Profile
song.jiang@uta.edu | SEIR - 319 | 469-996-3465
Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing
Research Interests: File and Storage Systems, OS, HPC, and Management of Big Data

Farhad Kamangar, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Farhad Kamangar
Professor

Farhad Kamangar Profile
kamangar@uta.edu | ERB - 524
817-272-3617
Research Areas: Machine Learning and Data Mining, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: computer vision; image processing; artificial intelligence; data mining; signal processing; neural networks

Bhram Khalili

Bahram Khalili
Associate Professor of Instruction and Graduate Advisor

Bahram Khalili Profile
khalili@uta.edu | ERB - 629
817-272-5407
Research Areas: Software Engineering
Research Interests: software engineering processes; Software Cost Estimation; Agile methodology; Software Engineering Management

Won Hwa Kim, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Won Hwa Kim
Assistant Professor

Won Hwa Kim Profile
won.kim@uta.edu | SEIR - 324
817-272-6769
Research Areas: Machine Learning and Data Mining, Biocomputing and Health Informatics, Computer Vision and Multimedia
Research Interests: Machine Learning; Computer Vision; Harmonic Analysis; NeuroImaging

David Kung, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

David Kung
Professor and Director of the UG Software Engineering Program

David Kung Profile
kung@uta.edu | ERB - 532
Research Areas: Software Engineering, Security and Privacy
Research Interests: agile methods; object-oriented software engineering; testing object-oriented software; software methodology; software design patterns; automated software engineering; software security

Jeff Lei, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Jeff (Yu) Lei
Professor

Jeff (Yu) Lei Profile
ylei@uta.edu | ERB - 531
Research Areas: Software Engineering
Research Interests: software security

David Levine

David Levine
Distinguished Senior Lecturer

David Levine Profile
davel@uta.edu | ERB - 525
817-272-2349
Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing
Research Interests: software engineering; systems; distributed-networked objects; operating systems

Chengkai Li, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Chengkai Li
Professor and Associate Chair

Chengkai Li Profile
cli@uta.edu | ERB - 628
817-272-0162
Research Areas: Database and Information Systems, Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: computational journalism; natural language processing; usability challenges in querying graph data; data-driven fact-checking; exceptional fact finding; applied machine learning

Ming Li, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Ming Li
Assistant Professor

Ming Li Profile
ming.li@uta.edu | ERB - 536
Research Areas: Security and Privacy, Computer Networks, Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing
Research Interests: Crowd and social sensing; privacy-preserving computing; user authentication; blockchain

Yonghe Liu, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Yonghe Liu
Associate Professor

Yonghe Liu Profile
yonghe@uta.edu | ERB - 537
Research Areas: Computer Networks, Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing, Security and Privacy
Research Interests: internet of things; sensor networks; next generation networks; opportunistic networks; mobile applications

Jason Losh

Jason Losh
Professor of Practice

Jason Losh Profile
jlosh@uta.edu | ERB - 649
817-272-3785

Fillia Makedon, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Fillia Makedon
Jenkins-Garrett Professor

Fillia Makedon Profile
makedon@uta.edu | ERB - 624
817-272-3605
Research Areas: Machine Learning and Data Mining, Robotics and AI
Research Interests: human computer interaction; assistive technologies; pervasive computing; assistive robotics; computer aided rehabilitation; Cyber-physical Systems

Chris McMurrough

Chris McMurrough
Distinguished Senior Lecturer

Chris McMurrough Profile
mcmurrough@uta.edu | ERB - 511
817-272-1034
Research Areas: Robotics and AI
Research Interests: Computer Vision and Multimedia, Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing, perceptual computing for robotics and embedded systems; assistive devices

Jiang Ming, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Jiang Ming
Assistant Professor

Jiang Ming Profile
jiang.ming@uta.edu | ERB - 528
817-272-0906
Research Areas: Security and Privacy, Software Engineering
Research Interests: software security and malware defense; program analysis and verification for security issues; binary difference analysis; secure information flow analysis; malicious code analysis.

Shirin Nilizadeh, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Shirin Nilizadeh
Assistant Professor

Shirin Nilizadeh Profile
shirin.nilizadeh@uta.edu | ERB - 530
Research Areas: Security and Privacy, Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: Security Analytics, IoT, Blockchain, Social Computing

Deokgun Park, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Deokgun Park
Assistant Professor

Deokgun Park Profile
deokgun.park@uta.edu | ERB - 533
Research Areas: Machine Learning and Data Mining, Robotics and AI
Research Interests: visual analytics; information visualization

Lynn Peterson, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Lynn Peterson
Professor

Lynn Peterson Profile
peterson@uta.edu | ERB - 534
817-272-5503
Research Areas: Robotics and AI
Research Interests: knowledge representation; artificial intelligence applications; Intelligent Computer-based Instructional Systems; Medical Computer Science; Engineering education

Jia Rao, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Jia Rao
Assistant Professor

Jia Rao Profile
Jia.rao@uta.edu | ERB - 649
817-272-0770
Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Sustainable Computing
Research Interests: operating systems; virtualization; parallel and distributed computing; multicore architecture; reinforcement learning

John Robb

John Robb
Senior Lecturer

John Robb Profile
john.robb@uta.edu | ERB - 646
817-222-1000
Research Areas: Software Engineering
Research Interests: Software Engineering

Alexandra Stefan

Alexandra Stefan
Assistant Professor of Instruction

Alexandra Stefan Profile
astefan@uta.edu | ERB - 625 |
Research Areas: Computer Vision and Multimedia, Machine Learning and Data Mining

Carter Tiernan

Carter Tiernan
Assistant Dean, Associate Professor of Instruction, and Director of Outreach

Carter Tiernan Profile
tiernan@uta.edu | NH - 620
817-272-1295
Research Areas: Robotics and AI, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: engineering education; computational thinking

Cesar Torres

Cesar Torres
Assistant Professor

Cesar Torres Profile
cearto@uta.edu | ERB - 559
817-272-5915
Research Areas: Computer Vision and Multimedia, Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing, Machine Learning and Data Mining, Robotics and AI
Research Interests: Human-Computer Interaction; Physical Computing; New Media

Dajiang Zhu, Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering

Dajiang Zhu
Assistant Professor

Dajiang Zhu Profile
dajiang.zhu@uta.edu | SEIR - 323
Research Areas: Biocomputing and Health Informatics, Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: Medical Imaging; Computational Neuroscience

Adjunct Faculty

Giri Amaravadi - giridhar.amaravadi@uta.edu, ERB 551

Trevor Bakker - trevor.bakker@uta.edu; ERB 338

Ranjan Dashranjan.dash@mavs.uta.edu; ERB 339

Jimmie Davisjimmie.davis@uta.edu; ERB 320; 817-323-7143

Dennis Fraileyfrailey@dfwair.net; ERB 402

Kelly Frenchkelly.french@uta.edu; ERB 339; 817-939-8869

Jesus Gonzalezjesus.gonzalezbernal@uta.edu; ERB 321

Taylor Johnsontaylor.johnson@uta.edu

Trey Jonestrey.jones@uta.edu; ERB 322

Ramakrishna Koganti

Bill Meszkowilliam.meszko@uta.edu; ERB 402; 469258-8909

Terrance Mooreterrance.moore@uta.edu; ERB 339

Nomaan Muftinomaan.mufti@uta.edu; ERB 322; 469931-8345

Kyungseo Parkkyungseo.park@uta.edu; ERB 402

George Ricegeorge.rice@uta.edu; ERB 402

Mike Siokmike.siok@uta.edu; ERB 321

Larz Whitelarz.white@uta.edu

Gergely Zarubazaruba@uta.edu

Student Instructors

Marnim Galibmarnim.galib@mavs.uta.edu; ERB 309

Bhanu Jainbhanu.jain@mavs.uta.edu; ERB 307

Fadiah Qudahfadiah.qudah@mavs.uta.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Roger Walker

Roger Walker,
Professor Emeritus

Faculty Profile

Administration/Staff

Hong Jiang
Nedderman Professor and Chair
639 ERB | 817-272-3567
hong.jiang@uta.edu

Ramez Elmasri
Professor and Associate Chair
634/654 ERB | 817-272-2348
elmasri@uta.edu

Chengkai Li
Professor and Associate Chair
628 ERB | 817-272-0162
cli@uta.edu

CSE Staff Directory