Committees and Governance

Committees & Governance

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is the elected legislative and deliberative faculty body whose primary purpose is to represent the faculty to the University administration, UT-System administration, the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System, and such other parties as may be appropriate or necessary.

Faculty Senate Website

Graduate Assembly

Graduate Assembly is responsible for formulating policies concerned with academic aspects of the graduate programs and furthering the development of the graduate programs.

Graduate Assembly Website

Undergraduate Assembly

The Undergraduate Assembly is a faculty organization which recommends policy on undergraduate academic affairs in multiple areas, such as admission and graduation requirements and approval of course and degree program offerings.

Undergraduate Assembly Website

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

The Committee is responsible for reviewing and evaluating undergraduate curricular matters involving changes, deletions, or additions to undergraduate courses and degree requirements; providing appropriate assistance and advice concerning general university degree requirements; and insuring that proposals meet such requirements.

Undergraduate Curriculum Website

Core Curriculum Committee

Matters regarding the approval of courses for the core curriculum are handled by a committee of UTA faculty representing each of the core component areas. This body reviews all core course proposals and makes recommendations regarding inclusion of courses in the UTA Core to the Undergraduate Assembly.

Core Curriculum Website

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus faculty members have served with particular distinction and honor by establishing a privileged bond of indefinite duration between the faculty member and the institution.

Emeritus Faculty Website

Academy of Distinguished Scholars

The Academy consists of tenured faculty members who have made sustained and significant contributions to research and creative activity and who have achieved significant national and international recognition in their field. Election to the Academy of Distinguished Scholars represents the most prestigious research and scholarship award of the University.

Academy of Distinguished Scholars Website

Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Academy of Distinguished Teachers is comprised of tenured faculty at UT Arlington who have been selected for membership for their outstanding teaching, personal commitment to students and the learning process, and the ability to inspire and motivate students.

Academy of Distinguished Teachers Website