Faculty

Dr. Ray Elliott, PhD, Indiana University

Department of Linguistics

Interim Chair

Professor

elliot

Email: elliott@uta.edu

Office: Hammond 132

Interests: Spanish Applied Linguistics; Dialectology; the Documentation and Analysis of triqui de Chicahuaxtla.

Dr. Ivy Hauser, PhD, U Mass - Amherst

Department of Linguistics

Assistant Professor

hauser

Email: ivy.hauser@uta.edu

Office: Hammond 132-F

Interests: phonetics, phonology, the phonetics-phonology interface, phonological contrast and phonetic variation.

Dr. Cynthia Kilpatrick, PhD, UC San Diego

Department of Linguistics

Interim Director of the English Language Institute

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Kilpatrick

Email: cynkil@uta.edu

Office: Hammond 403

Interests: TESOL, second language acquisition, bilingualism, phonology, phonological acquisition, phonotactics, experimental phonology/phonetics, Romance languages (especially Spanish), dialects of the Southern U.S.

Dr. Joseph Sabbagh, PhD, MIT

Department of Linguistics

Associate Professor

Dr. Joey Sabbagh wearing a cap.

Email: sabbagh@uta.edu

Office: Hammond 126

Interests: Syntax, morphology, Austronesian languages (especially Tagalog), clause and argument structure, typology, coordination and constituent sharing (especially Right Node Raising).

Dr. Daniel Scarpace, PhD, UIUC

Department of Linguistics

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dr. Daniel Scarpace in a cap

Email: daniel.scarpace@uta.edu

Office: Hammond 125

Interests: Phonetics, phonology, psycholinguistics, second-language acquisition, Romance languages.

Dr. Peggy Semingson, PhD, UT Austin

Department of Linguistics

Associate Professor

SEMINGSON

Email: peggys@uta.edu

Office: Online

Interests: Digital pedagogies, online learning, literacy teacher education, bilingualism, ESL.

Dr. Laurel Smith Stvan, PhD, Northwestern

Department of Linguistics

Associate Professor

stvan

Email: stvan@uta.edu

Office: Hammond 132-H

Interests: Semantics, pragmatics, corpus linguistics, polysemy, bare nominals, discourse markers, vocabulary acquisition, language use in new technologies, health discourse.

Dr. Jeffrey Witzel, PhD, Arizona

Department of Linguistics

Associate Professor

witzel

Email: jeffrey.witzel@uta.edu

Office: Hammond 129

Interests: Psycholinguistics, neurolinguistics, second language acquisition and teaching, research methods.

Dr. Naoko Ouchi Witzel, PhD, Arizona

Department of Linguistics

Associate Professor

naoko-witzel

Email: naoko.witzel@uta.edu

Office: Hammond 127

Interests: Bilingualism, second language processing, psycholinguistics, language acquisition.

Dr. Suwon Yoon, PhD, Chicago

Department of Linguistics

Associate Professor

suwon yoon

Email: suwon.yoon@uta.edu

Office: Hammond 132E

Interests: The interface of semantics, pragmatics, and theoretical syntax.

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Samantha Cornelius

Department of Linguistics

Adjunct Instructor

cornelius

Email: samantha.cornelius@uta.edu

Office: Online

Dr. Carly Sommerlot

Department of Linguistics

Adjunct Instructor

sommerlot

Email: carly.sommerlot@uta.edu

Office: Online

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Donald Burquest, PhD, UCLA

Department of Linguistics

Emeritus

burquest

Interests: Phonology, Syntax, Field Application of Principles & Parameters Theory, Discourse, Chadic Languages (Hausa, Ngas).

Dr. Jerold Edmondson, Habilitation, Technical University of Berlin; PhD, UCLA

Department of Linguistics

Emeritus

Interests: Phonology, Syntax, Field Application of Principles & Parameters Theory, Discourse, Chadic Languages (Hausa, Ngas).

Dr. Robert Longacre, PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Department of Linguistics

Emeritus

longacre

Interests: String constituent analysis, discourse analysis, semantics.