Spotlight Student Research Forum

Spotlight Student Research Forum 2021

To be inspired, download Microsoft Teams and use this link to be a part of the Spotlight on Student Research audience.

Event Date: Thursday, April 8, 2021
Proposals Due: Friday, March 19, 2021

10 AM – 11 AM

Camille Smith

English

Paper

But Who Will Care for Their Bones?

Angela Austin

History

Paper

 

Huddled Masses Yearning to Breathe Free:

The Treatment of Immigrants at Ellis Island, 1900-1910

Karin Michael

Pol Science

Paper

 

Discriminatory Policing: Linking Race, Education, and Poverty to

Disproportionate Arrests Among Black and White Populations

 

 11AM – 12 PM

Alberto Navarro-Medina

Ling & TESOL

Paper

More Details to Follow: Creating Student Lead

Publications for Foreign Language Learners

Osvaldo Martinez Morones

Modern Lang

Paper

 

Indigenous Loanwords in the Cabeza de Vaca

Narratives: A Philological Approach

Sangya Tyagi

Communication

Paper

 

Media bias analysis in Indian media

 

12 PM - 1 PM

Basmah Arshad

Poli Science

Paper

Adjusting to Democracy – Analyzing the Relationship

Between Political Repression and Civic Engagement

Nicholas Barnaby

Music

Paper

 

Bowing Drills: Highly Adaptable Exercises for All Ages

Deborah Rodriguez

Modern Lang

Paper

 

Spanish as a Heritage Language: Evaluating Latinx SXtudent'

Access to Courses for Heritage Speakers

 

1 PM - 2 PM

Carrington Matthews

Pol Science

Poster

Securing Influence: An Analysis of the Relationship

Between Congressional Tenure and Voting Behavior

See Carrington's Poster

Christine Abasi

Communication

Poster

 

The Psychology Behind Persistent Developmental

Stuttering: Possible Causes and Treatments

See Christine's Poster

 

2 PM - 3 PM

Camille Smith

English

Rendition

Synthesis of Self

Kenneth Foster

Communication

Rendition

Screenplay - "The Most Legendary Battle. Ever."

 

Spotlight Faculty Liaisons

Art & Art History –Dr.Leah McCurdy (leah.mccurdy@uta.edu)
Communication – Dr. Mark Tremayne (tremayne@uta.edu)<
Criminology and Criminal Justice – Dr. Roxanne Zascavage (Roxanne.zascavage@uta.edu)
English – Dr.Peggy Kulesz (Kulesz@uta.edu)
History – Dr. Paul Conrad (paul.conrad@uta.edu)
Linguistics and TESOL – Dr. Suwon Yoon (Suwon.yoon@uta.edu)
Modern Languages – Dr. Amy Austin (amaustin@uta.edu)
Music – Prof. Megan Sarno (Megan.sarno@uta.edu)
Philosophy – Dr. Ken Williford (williford@uta.edu)
Political Science – Dr. Kayla Canelo (Kayla.canelo@uta.edu)
Sociology and Anthropology – Dr. Isabel Montemayor (Isabel.montemayor@uta.edu)
Theater Arts – Dr. Julienne Greer (jgreer@uta.edu)