Skip to content

Contact a College of Education Advisor

Undergraduate Advisors

Last names A-G:
Chelsey Payne; chelsey.payne@uta.edu; Schedule an appointment with Chelsey

Last names H-O:
Diego Ramirez; diego.ramirez@uta.edu; Schedule an appointment with Diego

Last names P-Z:
Teaira Little; tlittle@uta.edu; Schedule an appointment with Teaira

Advising Information

Do you need...

  1. General questions answered? You may e-mail an advisor (see above).
  2. Your academic standing assessed, degree plan updated, or more detailed advising concerning program requirements or your progress? Please use the scheduling links above to schedule an advising appointment. Prospective students are welcome. We just ask that you send your unofficial transcript to the advisor at least 1 day prior to the actual appointment.
  3. Clearance to register? Please read the information on the clearance page.

The advising office is located in 501 Carlisle Hall.

Use the form below to schedule an appointment with an advisor, based on the first letter of your last name.

NOTE: Starting March 16, all scheduled appointments will be conducted online via Zoom. Your advisor will email you the join link prior to the meeting. If you do not receive a Zoom join link, please email the advisor and request one. Thank you for your flexibility as we make adjustments to maintain social distancing.

Faculty Advisors / Program Coordinator

Faculty advisors are responsible for a student's program of work. Contact your faculty advisor with questions regarding the courses you should take, transfer courses, practicum, Student Teaching, testing, certification, etc.

Curriculum and Instruction

Initial Teacher Certification (M.Ed.T. or Certification-Only)

ESL EC-6 Core Subjects Dr. Joyce Myers, rjem@uta.edu 
EC-6 Bilingual Core Subjects Dr. Carla Amaro-Jimenez, amaro@uta.edu
Mid-Level Dr. Melissa Hulings, hulings@uta.edu
Secondary History & Social Studies Education Dr. Mary Curtis, mary.curtis@uta.edu
Secondary English Language Arts Education Dr. Holly Hungerford-Kresser, hkresser@uta.edu
Secondary Math & Science Education Dr. Karen Allmond, kallmond@uta.edu
Secondary Speech & Journalism Dr. Jon Leffingwell, leffingwell@uta.edu
All-Level
Dr. Jon Leffingwell, leffingwell@uta.edu
Mind, Brain and Education Dr. Daniel Robinson, daniel.robinson@uta.edu 

Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction

Open Option Dr. Daniel Robinson, daniel.robinson@uta.edu
Open Option (undecided Focus Area) Dr. Daniel Robinson, daniel.robinson@uta.edu
Literacy (Accelerated Online & Standard Formats)

Dr. Kathryn Pole, kpole@uta.edu 

Mathematics and Science Education (Accelerated Online)

Dr. Karen Allmond, kallmond@uta.edu
Add-On Endorsements, Certification-Only
ESL, Reading Specialist Dr. Kathleen Tice, ktice@uta.edu
Bilingual Dr. Luis Rosado, rosado@uta.edu

Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Master of Education in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

M.Ed. in ELPS

Dr. Maria Trache, mtrache@uta.edu

Certification-Only Programs

Superintendent certification

Dr. Diane Patrick, dpatrick@uta.edu 

Ph.D. Program

Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Dr. Barbara Tobolowsky, tobolow@uta.edu