Graduate Advisors

Graduate Advisors

Our graduate advisors are here to help you academically. Staff advisors help students with registering for classes, and they can answer questions about enrollment, degree plans, transcripts, graduate school forms and policies, and more. If you have a question and you're unsure whom to contact, feel free to e-mail your staff advisor and your advisor will assist you or connect you with individuals/resources who can assist. Gradaute advising is required for students each semester they are enrolled; students will not be able to enroll in classes until they have been advising and have been cleared/approved to enroll. 

Kathleen Ritchie: kathleen.ritchie@uta.edu

(Currently only available to answer advising questions and to provide course registration clearance or approval via email) 

The following Department of Curriculum and Instruction (C&I) programs 

  • Initial Teacher Certification only 
  • M.Ed. Literacy Studies
  • M.Ed. in Teaching with Initial Teaching Certification 

The following Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies (ELPS) programs 

  • M.Ed. in ELPS with Principal Certification
  • M.Ed. in ELPS with Higher Education Administration Emphasis
  • Principal Certification only


Berhane Doilicho: berhane.doilicho@uta.edu

Schedule an appointment with Berhane.

The following Department of Curriculum and Instruction (C&I) programs 

  • M.Ed. in C&I Mathematics
  • M.Ed. in C&I Open Option
  • M.Ed. in C&I Science
  • M.Ed. in Special Education

The following Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies (ELPS) programs 

  • Ph.D. in ELPS
  • B.A.to Ph.D. track in ELPS with Higher Education Emphasis

    NOTE: All scheduled appointments will be conducted online via Zoom or Teams. Your advisor will email you the join link prior to the meeting. If you do not receive a Zoom join link, please email the advisor and request one. Thank you for your flexibility as we make adjustments to maintain social distancing.

     

    Faculty Advisors / Program Coordinators

    Faculty advisors are responsible for a student's program of work. Contact your faculty advisor with questions regarding the courses you should take, transfer courses, practicum, student teaching, testing, certification, etc.

    Curriculum and Instruction

    Initial Teacher Certification (M.Ed.T. or Certification-Only)

    EC-6 ESL Dr. Joohi Lee, joohilee@uta.edu
    Mid-Level Math/Science Dr. Melissa Hulings, hulings@uta.edu
    Middle Level ELAR/Social Studies Dr. Joohi Lee ,joohilee@uta.edu
    Secondary History & Social Studies Education Dr. Mary Curtis, mary.curtis@uta.edu
    Secondary English Language Arts Education Dr. Holly Hungerford-Kresser, hkresser@uta.edu
    Secondary Math & Science Education Dr. David Sparks, david.sparks@uta.edu
    Special Education Dr. Bree Jimenez, bree.jimenez@uta.edu
    All-Level
    Dr. Joohi Lee, joohilee@uta.edu


    Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction

    Open Option Dr. Joohi Lee, joohilee@uta.edu
    Open Option (undecided Focus Area) Dr. Jiyoon Yoon, Jiyoon@uta.edu
    Literacy Studies Dr. Kathryn Pole, kpole@uta.edu

    Mathematics and Science Education

    Dr. Candace Joswick, candace.joswick@uta.edu
    Add-On Endorsements, Certification-Only
    ESL, Reading Specialist Dr. Kathleen Tice, ktice@uta.edu
    Bilingual Dr. Luis Rosado, rosado@uta.edu

     

    Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

    Master of Education in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

    M.Ed. in ELPS with Higher Education Emphasis

    Dr. Maria Trache, mtrache@uta.edu

    M.Ed. in ELPS with Principal Certification

    Dr. Amy Anderson, amy.anderson@uta.edu



    Certification-Only Programs

    Principal Certification - only

    Dr. Amy Anderson, amy.anderson@uta.edu

    Initial Teacher Certification - only  Dr. Joohi Lee, joohilee@uta.edu 

    Ph.D. Program

    Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

    Dr. Catherin Robert, catherine.robert@uta.edu 

    Dr. Yi (Leaf) Zhang, lyzhang@uta.edu