Graduate Advisors

Graduate Advisors

Staff advisors assist students with registration and enrollment issues, questions regarding graduate school forms and policies, prospective student inquiries, and administrative functions. If you have a question and you're unsure whom to contact, feel free to e-mail your staff advisor and she will assist you or get you in touch with the person who can.

Courtney Jones;courtney.jones@uta.edu;Schedule an appointment with Courtney

M.Ed.T - C&I
Teacher Certification only - C&I
M.Ed. C&I Literacy Studies
M.Ed. in ELPS with Principal Certification
  Principal Certification only - ELPS
M.Ed. in ELPS Higher Education Administration Emphasis
Ph.D. – ELPS
B.A.-Ph.D. track in ELPS with Higher Education Emphasis



Berhane Doilicho;berhane.doilicho@uta.edu;Schedule an appointment with Berhane.

M.Ed. in C&I Mathematics
M.Ed. in C&I Science
M.Ed. Open Option
M.Ed. in Special Education

NOTE: Starting March 16, all scheduled appointments will be conducted online via Zoom. Your advisor will email you the join link prior to the meeting. If you do not receive a Zoom join link, please email the advisor and request one. Thank you for your flexibility as we make adjustments to maintain social distancing.

Faculty Advisors / Program Coordinator

Faculty advisors are responsible for a student's program of work. Contact your faculty advisor with questions regarding the courses you should take, transfer courses, practicum, Student Teaching, testing, certification, etc.

Curriculum and Instruction

Initial Teacher Certification (M.Ed.T. or Certification-Only)

EC-6 ESL Dr. Joohi Lee,joohilee@uta.edu
Mid-Level Math/Science Dr. Melissa Hulings,hulings@uta.edu
Middle Level ELAR/Social Studies Dr. Joohi Lee,joohilee@uta.edu
Secondary History & Social Studies Education Dr. Mary Curtis,mary.curtis@uta.edu
Secondary English Language Arts Education Dr. Holly Hungerford-Kresser,hkresser@uta.edu
Secondary Math & Science Education Dr. David Sparks,david.sparks@uta.edu
Special Education Dr. Bree Jimenez,bree.jimenez@uta.edu
All-Level
Dr. Joohi Lee,joohilee@uta.edu


Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction

Open Option Dr. Joohi Lee,joohilee@uta.edu
Open Option (undecided Focus Area) Dr. Jiyoon Yoon,Jiyoon@uta.edu
Literacy Studies Dr. Kathryn Pole,kpole@uta.edu

Mathematics and Science Education

Dr. Candace Joswick,candace.joswick@uta.edu
Add-On Endorsements, Certification-Only
ESL, Reading Specialist Dr. Kathleen Tice,ktice@uta.edu
Bilingual Dr. Luis Rosado,rosado@uta.edu

Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Master of Education in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

M.Ed. in ELPS with Higher Education Emphasis

Dr. Maria Trache,mtrache@uta.edu

M.Ed. in ELPS with Principal Certification

Dr. Amy Anderson,amy.anderson@uta.edu



Certification-Only Programs

Principal certification - only

Dr. Amy Anderson,amy.anderson@uta.edu

Ph.D. Program

Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Dr. Barbara Tobolowsky,tobolow@uta.edu