Graduate Advisors

Our staff advisors help students with registering for classes, and they can answer questions about enrollment, degree plans, transcripts, graduate school forms and policies, and more. If you have a question and you're unsure whom to contact, feel free to e-mail your staff advisor and your advisor will assist you or connect you with individuals/resources who can assist. Graduate advising is required for students each semester they are enrolled; students will not be able to enroll in classes until they have been advised and have been cleared/approved to enroll. 

Meet with an Advisor

 Find Your Program 

   

Brittany Stein: brittany.stein@uta.edu

Schedule an appointment with Brittany. 

The following Department of Curriculum and Instruction (C&I) programs 

 

  • M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction - Mathematics
  • M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction - Science Education
  • M.Ed. in Mind, Brain, and Education 

The following Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies (ELPS) programs 

  • Dual M.Ed. in ELPS (Higher Education Administration Emphasis) and Master of Social Work 
  • M.Ed. in ELPS with Higher Education Administration Emphasis
  • M.Ed. in ELPS with Principal Certification
  • Principal Certification Only (for non-degree seeking students)
  • Hispanic Serving Leadership Preparation Graduate Certificate


Berhane Doilicho: berhane.doilicho@uta.edu

Schedule an appointment with Berhane.

  

The following Department of Curriculum and Instruction (C&I) programs 

  •    
    • M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction - Literacy Studies
    • M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction - Open Option 
    • M.Ed. in Special Education 
    • M.Ed. in Special Education with Initial Certification
    • M.Ed. in Teaching with Initial Teaching Certification
    • Initial Teacher Certification Only (for non-degree seeking students) 

    The following Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies (ELPS) programs 

    • B.A.to Ph.D. track in ELPS with Higher Education Emphasis
    • Ph.D. in ELPS

      NOTE: All scheduled appointments will be conducted online via Zoom or Teams. Your advisor will email you the join link prior to the meeting. If you do not receive a Zoom join link, please email the advisor and request one. Thank you for your flexibility as we make adjustments to maintain social distancing.

       

      Faculty Advisors / Program Coordinators

      Faculty advisors are responsible for a student's program of work. Contact your faculty advisor with questions regarding the courses you should take, transfer courses, practicum, student teaching, testing, certification, etc.

      Curriculum and Instruction

      Initial Teacher Certification (M.Ed.T. or Certification-Only)

      EC-6 ESL Dr. Joohi Lee, joohilee@uta.edu
      Mid-Level Math/Science Dr. Melissa Hulings, hulings@uta.edu
      Middle Level ELAR/Social Studies Dr. Joohi Lee ,joohilee@uta.edu
      Secondary History & Social Studies Education Dr. Taylor Kessner, taylor.kessner@uta.edu
      Secondary English Language Arts Education Dr. Holly Hungerford-Kresser, hkresser@uta.edu
      Secondary Math & Science Education Dr. Candace Joswick, candace.joswick@uta.edu
      Special Education Dr. Bree Jimenez, bree.jimenez@uta.edu
      All-Level
      Dr. Joohi Lee, joohilee@uta.edu


      Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction

      Open Option (undecided Focus Area) Dr. Joohi Lee, joohilee@uta.edu
      Literacy Studies Dr. Kathryn Pole, kpole@uta.edu

      Mathematics and Science Education

      Dr. Candace Joswick, candace.joswick@uta.edu
      Add-On Endorsements, Certification-Only
      ESL, Reading Specialist Dr. Kathleen Tice, ktice@uta.edu
      Bilingual Dr. Luis Rosado, rosado@uta.edu

       

      Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

      Master of Education in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

      M.Ed. in ELPS with Higher Education Emphasis

      Dr. Maria Trache, mtrache@uta.edu

      M.Ed. in ELPS with Principal Certification

      Dr. Amy Anderson, amy.anderson@uta.edu



      Certification-Only Programs

      Principal Certification - only

      Dr. Amy Anderson, amy.anderson@uta.edu

      Initial Teacher Certification - only  Dr. Joohi Lee, joohilee@uta.edu 

      Ph.D. Program

      Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

      Dr. Catherine Robert, catherine.robert@uta.edu 

      Dr. Yi (Leaf) Zhang, lyzhang@uta.edu