Contact a College of Education Advisor

Undergraduate Advisors

Advising Information

Do you need...

  1. General questions answered? You may e-mail an advisor (see above).
  2. Your academic standing assessed, degree plan updated, or more detailed advising concerning program requirements or your progress? Please use the scheduling links above to schedule an advising appointment. Prospective students are welcome. We just ask that you send your unofficial transcript to the advisor at least 1 day prior to the actual appointment.
  3. Clearance to register? Please read the information on the clearance page.

The advising office is located in 501 Carlisle Hall.

Use the form below to schedule an appointment with an advisor, based on the first letter of your last name.

NOTE: Starting March 16, all scheduled appointments will be conducted online via Zoom. Your advisor will email you the join link prior to the meeting. If you do not receive a Zoom join link, please email the advisor and request one. Thank you for your flexibility as we make adjustments to maintain social distancing.

Faculty advisors are responsible for a student's program of work. Contact your faculty advisor with questions regarding the courses you should take, transfer courses, practicum, Student Teaching, testing, certification, etc.

Faculty Advisors / Program Coordinator

Initial Teacher Certification (M.Ed.T. or Certification-Only)

ESL EC-6 Core Subjects Dr. Joyce Myers, rjem@uta.edu
EC-6 Bilingual Core Subjects Dr. Dora Salazar, dora.salazar@uta.edu
Mid-Level Dr. Melissa Hulings, hulings@uta.edu
Secondary History & Social Studies Education Dr. Mary Curtis, mary.curtis@uta.edu
Secondary English Language Arts Education Dr. Holly Hungerford-Kresser, hkresser@uta.edu
Secondary Math & Science Education Dr. Karen Allmond, kallmond@uta.edu
All-Level
Dr. Jon Leffingwell, leffingwell@uta.edu

Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction

Open Option Dr. Joohi Lee, joohilee@uta.edu
Open Option (undecided Focus Area) Dr. Joohi Lee, joohilee@uta.edu
Literacy (Accelerated Online & Standard Formats)

Dr. Kathryn Pole, kpole@uta.edu

Mathematics and Science Education (Accelerated Online)

Dr. Karen Allmond, kallmond@uta.edu

Add-On Endorsements, Certification-Only

ESL, Reading Specialist Dr. Kathleen Tice, ktice@uta.edu
Bilingual Dr. Luis Rosado, rosado@uta.edu