Skip to content

Graduate Advisors

Graduate Advisors

Staff advisors assist students with registration and enrollment issues, questions regarding graduate school forms and policies, prospective student inquiries, and administrative functions. If you have a question and you're unsure whom to contact, feel free to e-mail your staff advisor and she will assist you or get you in touch with the person who can.

Courtney Jones; courtney.jones@uta.edu; Schedule an appointment with Courtney

MEdT - C&I
Teacher Certification only - C&I
MEd C&I Literacy Studies
MEd ELPS
MEd in ELPS Higher Education Administration Emphasis
Principal Certification only – ELPS
PhD – ELPS
BA-PhD track in ELPS

Berhane Doilicho; berhane.doilicho@uta.edu;  Schedule an appointment with Berhane.

MEd in C&I Mathematics
MEd in C&I Science
MEd Open Option
Superintendent Program - ELPS

NOTE: Starting March 16, all scheduled appointments will be conducted online via Zoom. Your advisor will email you the join link prior to the meeting. If you do not receive a Zoom join link, please email the advisor and request one. Thank you for your flexibility as we make adjustments to maintain social distancing.

Faculty Advisors / Program Coordinator

Faculty advisors are responsible for a student's program of work. Contact your faculty advisor with questions regarding the courses you should take, transfer courses, practicum, Student Teaching, testing, certification, etc.

Curriculum and Instruction

Initial Teacher Certification (M.Ed.T. or Certification-Only)

ESL EC-6 Core Subjects Dr. Joyce Myers, rjem@uta.edu 
EC-6 Bilingual Core Subjects Dr. Carla Amaro-Jimenez, amaro@uta.edu
Mid-Level Dr. Melissa Hulings, hulings@uta.edu
Secondary History & Social Studies Education Dr. Mary Curtis, mary.curtis@uta.edu
Secondary English Language Arts Education Dr. Holly Hungerford-Kresser, hkresser@uta.edu
Secondary Math & Science Education Dr. Karen Allmond, kallmond@uta.edu
Secondary Speech & Journalism Dr. Jon Leffingwell, leffingwell@uta.edu
All-Level
Dr. Jon Leffingwell, leffingwell@uta.edu
Mind, Brain and Education Dr. Daniel Robinson, daniel.robinson@uta.edu 

Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction

Open Option Dr. Daniel Robinson, daniel.robinson@uta.edu
Open Option (undecided Focus Area) Dr. Daniel Robinson, daniel.robinson@uta.edu
Literacy (Accelerated Online & Standard Formats)

Dr. Kathryn Pole, kpole@uta.edu 

Mathematics and Science Education (Accelerated Online)

Dr. Karen Allmond, kallmond@uta.edu
Add-On Endorsements, Certification-Only
ESL, Reading Specialist Dr. Kathleen Tice, ktice@uta.edu
Bilingual Dr. Luis Rosado, rosado@uta.edu

Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Master of Education in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

M.Ed. in ELPS

Dr. Maria Trache, mtrache@uta.edu

Certification-Only Programs

Superintendent certification

Dr. Diane Patrick, dpatrick@uta.edu 

Ph.D. Program

Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Dr. Barbara Tobolowsky, tobolow@uta.edu